English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2008, 18:10   #1
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
Standard output window

When selecting from icon information that a program is to be started from 'Shell' as opposed to 'Workbench', it can open a small output window for itself. This feature may be newer than Workbench 3.0, because I don't remember it from before.

Is there a way to control the position, size and properties of such a window? I could make a small script and run it with IconX and its WINDOW tooltype, but this looks like it could be a more elegant solution.
Rixa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2008, 19:10   #2
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
Something like "WINDOW=CON:LEFT,TOP,WIDE,HIGH,..." and all that sort of stuff?
meega is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 23:21   #3
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by meega View Post
Something like "WINDOW=CON:LEFT,TOP,WIDE,HIGH,..." and all that sort of stuff?
Yes, that's what I'm looking for, but WINDOW is not recognised as a keyword in my scenario. Basically what I want is to start csh in a console window by doubleclicking on an icon. My solution this far works but is not completely satisfactory. Right now I have this trivial script:
(csh:csh-startup)
csh:csh
endcli
And then have a type Project icon with the default tool of Sys:System/CLI and the tooltypes
WINDOW=CON:0/500//200//CLOSE/NOWAIT
FROM=csh:csh-startup
This way clicking on the icon runs me a CLI which opens me up the window that I describe, reads and executes the script above and thus runs csh. Once csh exits, the shell runs endcli and exits as well. (without an explicit endcli it would take longer for the window to close). I'm not happy though; the need to run an extra CLI and the parsing and executing of a script seem completely unnecessary here.

Then I noticed that the Information panel of a type Tool icon in this here Workbench gives me the choice to "Start from: Shell". And if I make such a csh.info for the csh executable, it does pretty much what I want; no unnecessary processes or scripts needed. However, the resulting window is very small, opens up in an inconvenient location, and needs the close button pressed twice to get rid of. Workbench clearly doesn't expect or honor the WINDOW tooltype in this case.

Might it perhaps expect something else?
Rixa is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 00:51   #4
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
Maybe. Care to provide some relevant details about your system?

Try IconJ.
meega is offline  
Old 18 January 2008, 00:17   #5
Rixa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by meega View Post
Maybe. Care to provide some relevant details about your system?

Try IconJ.
The system is pretty much what Cloanto put together for Amiga Forever 2006. The About screen identifies the workbench as 45.3, workbench.library is version 45.127. I was assuming this tempting option of the icon information screen (Start from: Shell) was something that appeared in OS3.5 or 3.9, though I've never seen either for real.

I had a look at IconJ. The documentation suggests I could integrate the startup script as tooltypes, but I didn't have much success with first try. While it would be an improvement over launching a CLI to parse a script from a file, I still have a feeling there must be a way to affect the properties of the window that the Start from: Shell option opens up. That would probably be all I need.
Rixa is offline  
Old 18 January 2008, 00:36   #6
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rixa View Post
The system is pretty much what Cloanto put together for Amiga Forever 2006. The About screen identifies the workbench as 45.3, workbench.library is version 45.127. I was assuming this tempting option of the icon information screen (Start from: Shell) was something that appeared in OS3.5 or 3.9, though I've never seen either for real.

I had a look at IconJ. The documentation suggests I could integrate the startup script as tooltypes, but I didn't have much success with first try. While it would be an improvement over launching a CLI to parse a script from a file, I still have a feeling there must be a way to affect the properties of the window that the Start from: Shell option opens up. That would probably be all I need.
Quoting seems to be the right thing to do.
meega is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone got the game Standard Deviation. fredflint project.aGTW 73 18 June 2017 14:50
Standard Palette Brakus Coders. General 3 04 May 2009 08:08
Photos of standard mouse bLAZER request.Other 101 02 February 2008 23:52
How do I replace the standard WB requesters? Bloodwych support.Apps 13 02 September 2002 22:48
How much ram in standard 1200? etheridge support.Hardware 5 29 May 2002 11:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13423 seconds with 12 queries