English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2007, 21:44   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,540
Given the recent Scanlines discussions...

Hey Toni,

Concerning scanlines, noticed that you've implemented the brightness/intesity slider for the D3D output, but not for Direct Draw...

Is it easy enough / possible to do this for Direct Draw as well?
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:50   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,785
Possible: of course. Worth the trouble? I don't know...

D3D/OGL does the transparency automatically. DD needs totally different and more complex method.

(and I hate scan lines )
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:51   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,619
quick Toni go vote
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:54   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Possible: of course. Worth the trouble? I don't know...

D3D/OGL does the transparency automatically. DD needs totally different and more complex method.
Fair enough

It works very well in Gens32, just thought I'd ask...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
(and I hate scan lines )
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:01   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,738
But how about a gamma/brightness slider for the whole image output under DD?

Edit:

Next thing to do: Using my Crane technics on this lousy Duck hunter.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 29 March 2007 at 16:21.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 March 2007, 13:27   #6
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
It is much easier just to remove scanline option.
Anubis is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 00:37   #7
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
What about RGB triads?
Ultron is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 00:46   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultron
What about RGB triads?
Agreed Ultron, the more graphic filter options for the user the better

Personally 25% scanlines like in PC Engine or the TV effect in SNESx9 would be nice, but I also think RGB triads would be cool

...but I'm say this from a user's perspective. Not really sure how easy / hard it would actually be to implement???

Toni's the boss at the end of the day his discussion is *final*... I respect his comments
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 00:51   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,540
You know, maybe we should ask a MOD to change the title of this thread to something like "Graphics filter options / effects that you think would be appreciated in future versions of WinUAE" or something like that
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:12   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,785
I don't care how other programs do it or about screenshots. I care about:

1) URL to C source that is clear enough and compatible with WinUAE's way of doing things.
2) It must be GPL compatible (MAME/MESS is not)
3) I do not care about Your opinion about scanlines. The more I read about it the more annoyed I get about them

Global color adjustments: (brighness, gamma, whatever) Only possible without slowdown in non-AGA modes. OCS/ECS colors use 4096 entry color palette that can be adjusted easily, AGA is direct RGB. 16M color palette would be pointless

Perhaps via some indirect way it is possible. DirectDraw/D3D/whatever may have way to do it "globally".
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:14   #11
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
The funny thing is if i'm not wrong since the GFX on MAME got an overhaul some time ago as far as RGB triads go, they just overlay a RGB triad pattern over the image. That's it. A PNG with an alphamap.

Edit: Yep, i checked it, in MAME artwork directory they store the PNG with an alphamap, it's a pattern, and they tile it on the screen overlaying it. That's pretty much it - That's even how they do regular scanlines.

Last edited by Ultron; 31 March 2007 at 01:20.
Ultron is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:26   #12
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
3) I do not care about Your opinion about scanlines. The more I read about it the more annoyed I get about them
That's a bit harsh my friend. I would definitely be willing to compensate more donation money your way for your efforts if you are willing to investigate further (even though it may be useless in the end given the reasons you've explained and I know money is what the reason why you do the great things that you do)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Perhaps via some indirect way it is possible. DirectDraw/D3D/whatever may have way to do it "globally".
That would be awesome if you wouldn't mind. I know you are an extremely busy man and other "more important" things related to Amiga compatibility take priority...

At the end of the day, I'm just happy that we have somebody like you who is charge of this great emulator and who's also always on hand to answer all questions in a rational / easy-to-understand manner for different levels of all reading

Last edited by DamienD; 31 March 2007 at 01:31.
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:50   #13
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
I read in the Bible that the use for scanlines are for transvestites..... I'm not kidding!!

Ironclaw is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:53   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
I read in the Bible that the use for scanlines are for transvestites..... I'm not kidding!!

And that's from a guy whose avatar looks through a scanline.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 09:56   #15
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,377
Well, DamienD now I´m here to tell everyone:

Yes, I´m a scanliner and I´d really appreciate a brightness slider for WinUAE.
Toni, take heart and glory will be yours
viddi is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 13:42   #16
F1ReB4LL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Russia
Posts: 43
What's about the blargg's NTSC filter? http://www.slack.net/~ant/
F1ReB4LL is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 20:29   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,785
Vice C64 "PAL" filter? GPL, seems to be easy to merge, looks "good", not sure if it is fast enough for hires.. (always problem with filters that are designed for 320x200 max resolutions)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2007, 00:32   #18
F1ReB4LL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Russia
Posts: 43
NTSC filter is better, it simulates the color and the distortions caused by the cable.
F1ReB4LL is offline  
Old 14 April 2007, 01:36   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1ReB4LL
NTSC filter is better, it simulates the color and the distortions caused by the cable.
2 problems, 1: I don't want NTSC, it must be PAL. 2: it has color bit depth limitations (and most likely size limits).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2007, 06:43   #20
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 729
This is just my opinion so please feel free to skip this, since no real info is in this post... ok:

I never saw and still don't see the point of scanlines.
I _always_ turn them off.

I can see the benefit of pal emulation for c64 and green monitor emulation for cpc, to give people the original experience to match their memories. I can see this since by far the majority of people had those machines hooked up to tv/green monitor back in the day.

But didn't we all have the amiga hooked up to a monitor anyways?
And don't the amiga gfx look even better on modern screens? Pixel art only benefits from clear distinction between pixels IMO.

So why scanlines, or why other filters that just add extra blurryness or distortion to the gfx?

I guess if you had your amiga hooked up to tv in the past, you might want pal/ntsc emulation (rather complex algorithm I would think). But honestly, if you had an amiga hooked up to a tv, you were just missing out by having insanely crappy picture in the first place...
rsn8887 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
general movie discussions gimbal OT - Entertainment 2091 Today 01:30
Skweek discussions with Laurent Arditi (was: IPad/Iphone owners, HOL needs you) lilalurl Amiga scene 25 01 October 2012 21:08
Scanlines or NO scanlines? Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 457 07 October 2010 01:30
Japanese Console/Computer RPG discussions Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 2 02 April 2009 02:32
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21040 seconds with 12 queries