English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2007, 13:08   #1
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,797
Elite 2: Frontier

Does anyone know which version on Planetemu is 100% cracked?

Mate of mine is moaning that when he leaves the first starbase and lands at Barnards star, the protection pops up and isn't cracked.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 14:33   #2
k2uphill
 
Posts: n/a
FRONTIER: ELITE II - Copy protection codes
download http://www.eliteclub.co.uk/download/protect.txt
 
Old 25 November 2007, 14:43   #3
RickD
Registered User
RickD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 69
Different versions of Frontier: Elite 2
http://www.sharoma.com/frontierverse/game.htm

Game codes:
http://www.sharoma.com/frontierverse/game_codes.htm

CD32 version has no protection and includes Navigation Aid.
RickD is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 15:13   #4
k2uphill
 
Posts: n/a
Alternative Amiga Version are also available Here -
http://dhost.info/westpdmkids/frontier/e_games.htm
 
Old 25 November 2007, 16:24   #5
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 39
Posts: 2,520
the cd32 version fits on a disk and has no code protection
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 18:25   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,134
Why don't you properly crack it for him or ask him to use WHDLoad
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 November 2007, 16:29   #7
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
the cd32 version fits on a disk and has no code protection

But it has an issue when using the mouse in that it sometimes fires the lasers when you are trading - which doesn't go down well with the local law enforcement.

It would be nice if this could be fixed because the CD32 version is the latest version of Frontier on any platform, I believe.

Its got some improvemnets over the standard Miggy version.
Angus is offline  
Old 26 November 2007, 17:07   #8
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxjø Sweden
Posts: 218
Send a message via MSN to adonay
I dont know what version i use but i dont have any problems with this ...
adonay is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 14:15   #9
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by adonay View Post
I dont know what version i use but i dont have any problems with this ...

It may not be all Amigas, like the joypad thing with AB3D, but it happens in stations when using the mouse.
Angus is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 16:19   #10
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxjø Sweden
Posts: 218
Send a message via MSN to adonay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
It may not be all Amigas, like the joypad thing with AB3D, but it happens in stations when using the mouse.
Sounds horrible, Regardless Frontier is a great game for sure i cant really be sure how many countless hours and days have been lost too that game in the past. I remember having a panther clipper with more shield generators than you could count and a heavy plasma accelerator. My favorite ship was the imperial Trader ... Ahhh memory's ......
adonay is offline  
Old 02 November 2010, 01:37   #11
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 52
Posts: 2,692
Thought I would use this old thread to ask a Frontier Elite question...

I am on Lucifer in Sirius - I buy live animals to take to Wolf 359 but as soon as I take off from Sirius I look in my Cargo Inventory and the live animals 1t has disappeared.

Am I overlooking something or is this a bug do you think?

I am using the WHDload version 1.2 and sometimes when I look at the bulletin board it has no messages but it has items usually found in the stockmarket screen only with large icons...

any clues?
Peter is offline  
Old 02 November 2010, 02:15   #12
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 34
Posts: 579
It has been a while since I have played it, but I am pretty sure the bulletin board not showing any messages is a bug. I remember having to un-dock and dock again to fix it.

About the animals, does it happen everytime or have you only tried it once?
skateblind is offline  
Old 02 November 2010, 09:32   #13
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 2,305
Do you have cargo bay life support? You need it to transport livestock.
Steve is offline  
Old 02 November 2010, 12:35   #14
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 52
Posts: 2,692
Thanks for the tips guys - the life support in the Cargo Bay makes sense, I will try this out - I felt guilty doing this anyway as I am a vegetarian now I feel worse because I killed them all! (Must keep reminding myself - it's only a game)

Skateblind - your right, it is a bug - best thing to do I read is to move forward a bit on the Stardreamer acceleration and then go back into the screen - it's a bug in the Amiga version of the game.
Peter is offline  
Old 02 November 2010, 14:25   #15
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 34
Posts: 579
Ah yes, I read that too, but forgot about it. Just accelerate time until a new day starts and you get charged for being docked.

If you are carrying live stock without life support, then it should turn into animal meat. If it doesn't, then something else is wrong. I think...

I am a veggie myself, but what I find most concerning is the fact that you can trade slaves. I wonder if there have been many games since that allow you to do that.

Last edited by skateblind; 02 November 2010 at 14:32.
skateblind is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 07:33   #16
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 38
Posts: 858
I tried getting into this game several times, but I had a problem with this game that always caused me to give up in frustration.

The target of an assassination is NEVER where they are supposed to be. I turn up early, hang around in orbit near the port the target is supposed to be at and watch carefully. No show! And then the next time I dock I have an angry client waiting for me.

Surely I have been doing something wrong, but have no idea what. Can anyone shed some light?
Anakirob is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 21:19   #17
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateblind View Post
Ah yes, I read that too, but forgot about it. Just accelerate time until a new day starts and you get charged for being docked.

If you are carrying live stock without life support, then it should turn into animal meat. If it doesn't, then something else is wrong. I think...

I am a veggie myself, but what I find most concerning is the fact that you can trade slaves. I wonder if there have been many games since that allow you to do that.
Heh.

Maybe they counted on that those who found it offensive would like, not play it!!

ps. you know it's not reality, right? There's no spaceship with cattle carcasses rotting away while you pull up the timelapse lever, no slaves getting sold and being separated from their loved ones. (Hope I didn't spoil it for you now. Hehe )
Photon is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 21:29   #18
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 34
Posts: 579
So you're saying just because it is a game, anything should be allowed?
skateblind is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 21:53   #19
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
No, I'm saying in this case it's made up, and in the way it is presented, it's mostly harmless! I think Frontier should be allowed, realistic maiming of monsters too, BUT: blowing up people in realistic action war games, or mafia guy blabbering derogatory racist remarks not. For people under 18.

Apparently blowing up spaceships with people/thinking beings in it is okay in Frontier and Elite? You know their bodies are completely destroyed beyond any medical repair imaginable and are floating in interstellar space at -273 Celsius, right? Not to mention that enemy ships may contain living cattle and slaves.

Edit: hm, forgot you didn't play Frontier/Elite. But anyway. it's about how realistic it is and how old the player is, it's about separating the game from reality.

Last edited by Photon; 04 November 2010 at 21:59.
Photon is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 22:30   #20
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 34
Posts: 579
Spaceships like in Frontier are fantasy. Slavery existed and was one of the worst moments in human civilization. I do enjoy a good FPS, but I would never play one where you are a Nazi who kills Jews. Do you see my point?

Frontier doesn't really depict anything graphically and so I am not really bothered, but I was only wondering whether or not any other games included slavery in the way Frontier did.

I have played Frontier, quite a lot in fact and may return to it one day.

Why the response in that manner? Can you not have a discussion without being insulting?
skateblind is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elite II - Frontier mancity support.Games 78 29 August 2013 18:13
Elite II : Frontier Rock_Lobster support.Games 6 05 August 2005 23:00
Frontier Elite Dr. Dude support.Games 10 25 October 2004 14:47
Frontier Elite II Enverex Games images which need to be WHDified 6 04 April 2004 15:02
Frontier Elite Gryphon support.Games 2 25 July 2001 08:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13910 seconds with 13 queries