English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2020, 18:59   #1
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,194
WinUAE 4.3.0 crash when running Writepixels prg from CD32 developer

In the 2.1 developer CD there is the a CD32 part, in there 2 prog WritePixels and WritePixelsChunky both when run crash WinUAE after 30s or so (4.3.0)
kamelito is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 19:02   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,179
Not enough information. WB setup, used screen mode etc surely is important..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 April 2020, 16:43   #3
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Not enough information. WB setup, used screen mode etc surely is important..

Workbench 40.42
Kickstart 40.70
Tested with wpixel settings by default then used Dbpal lowres
60040/Fastest Possible/None MMU/FPU Cpu internal/ Unimplemented FPU Emu/AGA (chip extra scsi 4000 ide)/Wait for blitter/Jit

Dump in the zone including the exe from cd32 (wpixel crash.zip)

It doesn't crash winuae if Jit is disabled but freeze Amiga emulation.
kamelito is offline  
Old 25 April 2020, 18:05   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,179
I can't duplicate. Too small stack? Some bad system patch? Program looks "harmless", it does not do anything special.

Does normal PAL lores also do same?

Does UAE OSD FPS counter changed to H<num>?

JIT makes useless dump files.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 00:20   #5
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,194
If I remove UAEGFX from devs monitor there is no more crash dump. It seems that even if I don’t use any UAEGFX screen the fact that it is loaded lead to the crash.
kamelito is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 09:29   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,179
Picasso96 hooks gets installed if any driver is loaded, even if no RTG mode is in use.

It is almost certainly Picasso96 bug/incompatibility (I remember some paint program behaving slightly differently if Picasso96 is loaded but not in use)

Perhaps it is fixed in recently released updates?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 12:19   #7
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,194
Still crashing using 4.4.0
kamelito is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 12:34   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,179
As I already said, it is Picasso96, it has nothing to do with uaegfx. uaegfx is totally unused in this situation (same would happen with any other driver too), it is Picasso96 itself that messes with the system.

EDIT: I meant Picasso96 updates, not UAE updates.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 26 April 2020 at 14:18.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash when running Amix - under 3.6.0 Noth support.WinUAE 2 20 January 2018 21:15
Save Commodore64 .PRG images from Personal Paint KONEY support.Apps 4 18 February 2016 07:09
Help running Super Stardust CD32 in Winuae manicx support.WinUAE 5 06 July 2011 15:47
Commodore CD32 Developer Zetr0 Nostalgia & memories 3 06 June 2008 13:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08979 seconds with 15 queries