English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 September 2011, 21:31   #1
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 475
Cool Cube 1 & 2 68k

Hi,

on my blog I have put Cube 'port'.

I wonder how fast does it work comparing to quake 2 on real hardware.

Is it the best looking fps for Amiga ?

http://artishq.wordpress.com/

Works with 1920x1080 on WinUAE.

Last edited by arti; 20 April 2014 at 22:45.
arti is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:12   #2
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi mate thanks how do you run this on winuae it aske for
ixemul.library ver 63

i copied that

now what
johnim is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:21   #3
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
An older version of Cube has been available for 68k since 2002:

http://dasixk.free.fr/cube_16_10_2002.lzx

But great to see an updated version! Thanks!!

Chromium and TuxRacer are also worth trying out:

http://dasixk.free.fr/Chromium-0.9.12.lha

http://dasixk.free.fr/tuxracer-0.61.lha
James is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:24   #4
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
@ arti: great, will test asap, though if it wants textures higher than 256x256 then it will run in software on voodoo series alas. you have used wazp under uae, suppose?
wawa is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:41   #5
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi mate thanks how do you run this on winuae it aske for
ixemul.library ver 63
i copied that
now what
You need to have QuarkTex or Wazp3D installed. Wazp3D is on Aminet:

http://aminet.net/driver/video/Wazp3D.lha

Not sure that QuarkTex is available on the net anymore except as part of AmiKit.
James is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:46   #6
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
go for wazp3d, have not tried it lately, but is has a wrapper version that takes advantage of pc3d hardware underneath like quartex, and is still developed and supported.
wawa is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 22:57   #7
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
thanks got them working but so slow on a i5 750 and 260gtx
johnim is offline  
Old 12 September 2011, 23:16   #8
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
it most likely runs in software then. in wazp3d archive there are several libraries also .dll to be put into winuae root directory. i dont remember details so refer to the readme. i can check it back at later time.
wawa is offline  
Old 13 September 2011, 11:26   #9
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 155
Hello

Cube (or Tuxracer) works very well in WinUAE/Wazp3D
(expect around 10-20fps = it remain a 68k game)
But it need some special settings because it use StormMesa
StormMesa can render some parts in software so may be very slow
(It is also true for reals Amiga + real Warp3D) the only way to avoid that is the flag VERYFAST (that force to use hardware in any case)
So StormMesa need the flags VERYFAST & LOCKMODE2
If you use my new StormMesa2010 then just set those flags in StormMesa-Prefs

Also in Wazp3D-Prefs set "Renderer:hard overlay" + "filtering" + "anti alias"
Can also set "PolyHack: up to 7" "Smooth Textures"

http://aminet.net/driver/video/Wazp3D.lha
http://aminet.net/util/libs/StormMesa_Libs68K.lha
http://aminet.net/util/libs/StormMesa2010.lha
http://dasixk.free.fr/tuxracer-0.61.lha
http://dasixk.free.fr/cube_16_10_2002.lzx

Alain Thellier
thellier is offline  
Old 13 September 2011, 11:38   #10
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
I'll have 'QuarkTex v0.53 (01.05.2006)'
but i'm not sure if that's the newest
Zoned

Last edited by tero; 13 September 2011 at 11:41. Reason: file zoned
tero is offline  
Old 13 September 2011, 21:10   #11
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
@ arti: great, will test asap, though if it wants textures higher than 256x256 then it will run in software on voodoo series alas. you have used wazp under uae, suppose?
no, it works under warp 3d at full speed and no slowdown occurs

Last edited by arti; 13 September 2011 at 21:20.
arti is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 00:02   #12
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
huh, you have tested it on real hardware already? i have not had a chance yet. what results? i dont think it might be playable?
wawa is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 02:11   #13
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
I have "real hardware" with Bernd's latest ixemul.library and I get a window/requester with the title "ixemul.library message" that says "free: start of block corrupt!" and an "Abort" button below that. If I click "Abort", I get an exception 20: trap instruction #0 with the PC in the ixemul.library hunk 0 offset $2be0.

I double checked that my version of ixemul.library is 63.1. I tried TuxRacer which also gave me the same ixemul.library error requester as Cube . Most programs that use ixemul.library work on my machine.

Last edited by matthey; 14 September 2011 at 02:33.
matthey is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 13:10   #14
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
I double checked that my version of ixemul.library is 63.1. I tried TuxRacer which also gave me the same ixemul.library error requester as Cube . Most programs that use ixemul.library work on my machine.
They all work with 63.1 on WinUAE but maybe you could try an older version of ixemul for TuxRacer and the old version of Cube.
I have 2 versions installed on my system (Abuse refuses to work with 63.1).
This is the other version I have installed:

http://aminet.net/dev/lib/ixemul-48.3-bin-m68k.lha

I use these scripts (slightly modified to my own needs) to swap between the 2:

http://aminet.net/util/batch/ix_probs.lha

Have you managed to get Chromium running?
James is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 14:26   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thanks James for this info, because Abuse has been giving me tough time for this ixemul-mess. Testing Netsurf also requires different ixemul.library. I will try to adapt these scripts to my own needs.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 20:11   #16
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
just set up my a4k/voodoo3 again. the agl library, the new one from alain, i dont know if its up to date, causes a hit n init. you will not notice it with muforce off. the game loads, takes of course a long time but it does. but then every frame takes ages, its barely visible, since no chance to control what happens with a keyboard. the veryfast option has no noticeable effect, and lockmode2 locks up the system. perhaps a mute version could be a little more suitable here. sound may take up the whole cpu even on 060.
wawa is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 21:06   #17
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 475
With wazp it happens the same as on UAE but if I use agl from 2005 and warp.library from 2006 game plays smooth.
arti is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 22:18   #18
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
With wazp it happens the same as on UAE but if I use agl from 2005 and warp.library from 2006 game plays smooth.
That will be the QuarkTex libraries then, as kindly posted in the Zone by Tero... should be totally useless on a real Amiga.

@Bamiga2002

This may save you some time if you haven't sorted it yet - my Abuse launch icon:

AbuseLaunchIcon.lha

You will probably want to edit the script a little - I have it set to run in 640x480 RTG. I default to using ixemul 63.1 with the 48.3 libraries installed as ixemul.library.48 and ixnet.library.48. I also run the lines of the script that come after the Abuse command in my user-startup to ensure I always have 63.1 as default on startup. The script can easily be edited to run any other program.

Last edited by James; 14 September 2011 at 23:44.
James is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 22:42   #19
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
yeah, the latest stormmesa (agl set of libs) is from about 1999, latest official w3d 68k lib from 2001. using these libs leads to mem trashing, and if i turn off all debug, muforce, segtracker, the game crashes anyway already while loading.

the best results i have with our agl.library (fixed by alain) and warp3d.library (fixed by matthey). with those libs the game loads and seems to run, although veee.......errryy slooowly. there is a hit somewhere, but not critical. might try to debug it. alain, matt, what do you say? cube would be a good testcase? as im al little trained now in catching serial logs, we could repair the libs yet a little. maybe it would ran with 1fps?
wawa is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 23:30   #20
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
alain, i think serial debugging would ,ake it easier to see the problems, what settings do i have to use on my term, when i switch off sashimi?
wawa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
REQ: "Dr Cube's Magic Lands" cheats/trainer s2325 request.Other 12 19 September 2015 12:58
Wanted - Sam440ep-flex Complete Cube System WeiXing3D MarketPlace 0 08 July 2012 07:00
AmigaOS3.9 version for DraCo Cube Slayer request.Other 6 18 November 2010 07:14
Dingoo + Game cube lot lolafg MarketPlace 3 19 July 2010 16:49
Speccy on a cube daznic Retrogaming General Discussion 1 03 June 2009 20:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26579 seconds with 13 queries