English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2016, 16:46   #41
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,223
By the way, back to a "boot cd", is there any commandline that can wait for the CD lid to be closed? Then you can make a boot CD that loads up a shell, executes noreset, waits for the CD to be closed then executes CD0's startup-sequence.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 February 2016, 17:34   #42
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
What about this CRCFaker im trying - its taking a while
http://crppit.epfl.ch/documentation/...RC%20Faker.htm
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:23   #43
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
You can create a file same that seems same Size, CRC but obviously it doesnt have the necessary data - So creating a file the Same size,CRC and all the necessary data could be tricky.

Just have to see if anyone has any ideas - Please someone tell us can CD32 CD have RDB?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:28   #44
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 41
Posts: 34
If it's a crc check that's exactly what you want. Same size, same crc, and no copyrighted data. But there's no certitude it's a crc check.
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:32   #45
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
CRCFaker seemed to create a file the same Size and CRC - but no go - must read Data in from the file.

i.e
CRC check and Loads Data from CD32.TM or was that just obvious and I missed something.

Last edited by Retro1234; 18 February 2016 at 19:00.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:34   #46
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
In the CDTV.TM there´s also called code for disabling AA on CD32 if started there so we should concentrate on CD32.TM file ... but creating a file with same CRC won´t work at all I guess ....
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:35   #47
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 41
Posts: 34
So it's not a crc check 32 bits checksums were common place on the Amiga. Maybe you could try that.
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:37   #48
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
Its probably both a CRC and then once passed loads data in from the file If its not a byte for byte check.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:38   #49
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeå / Sweden
Posts: 167
Perhaps it's not running a checksum on the entire file? Looking at CD32.TM the first part is the ASCII-logo and the second part looks like it might be code.

Best thing would be to try and actually figure out what's happening by looking at the CD32 Extended ROM I guess...
jayminer is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:41   #50
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Isn´t there a way (in WinUAE for example) to do a trace log what´s happening while starting a CD and which code is called ? I´m not that deep into this material but some of the guys here in the forum can do this I think
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 18:48   #51
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 41
Posts: 34
Yes there's a debugger you can call with shift +F12 see : http://www.amigacoding.com/index.php/WinUAE_debugger
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 20:08   #52
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
By the way, back to a "boot cd", is there any commandline that can wait for the CD lid to be closed? Then you can make a boot CD that loads up a shell, executes noreset, waits for the CD to be closed then executes CD0's startup-sequence.
Well I doubt there is but you can first apply noreset then prompt user to replace cd, press fire and execute startup-sequence.

I also like where this all went

I also tried with altered cdtv.tm and failed.
It certainly executes that tm file.
Btw you now when you use IsoCD and do the examine before you select cd32.tm. IsoCD reserves those 20k space for cdtv.tm by default and if you select cd32.tm then it will put it in that already reserved space. When you build and run that cd it will work but usually cd32spinning logo wont run nicely to the left like it should be but just disappear with few garbage pixels here and there.
Cobe is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 20:47   #53
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 41
Posts: 34
cd32.tm is injected raw into the iso @ offset $A800 if you want to know. I tried to trace the CD32 while it booted to check what it does when it loads the CD but my 68k asm is very rusty (last time I did this was around 20 years ago haha )
Meshuggah is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 20:56   #54
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meshuggah View Post
Yes there's a debugger you can call with shift +F12 see : http://www.amigacoding.com/index.php/WinUAE_debugger
Uhm, as I said I maybe not the right person to do this ...

Anyway ... at the time opening the debugger the emulation stops and most info in debugger I´m not really aware of

Any way to let WinUAE write a log file while emulation runs ?
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 10:30   #55
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 544
ok, bootcd32test.iso in the zone. That should work for nonbootable cds with startup-sequence. Probably can be done better. Not tested on real cd32 and barely tested at all to be honest. Don't have time now for it. First of all it eats some chunk of ram so if game requires whole 2mb it's tough chance that it'll work. That's way I was trying to utilize rad in whole story but from my testings in winuae no matter how high rad boot priority you set cd32 always boots from cd?!
Cobe is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 10:51   #56
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
ok, bootcd32test.iso in the zone. That should work for nonbootable cds with startup-sequence. Probably can be done better. Not tested on real cd32 and barely tested at all to be honest. Don't have time now for it. First of all it eats some chunk of ram so if game requires whole 2mb it's tough chance that it'll work. That's way I was trying to utilize rad in whole story but from my testings in winuae no matter how high rad boot priority you set cd32 always boots from cd?!
Wow, that´s a quick and unexpected one

Trying later after work
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 11:16   #57
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 544
Don't get me wrong, don't get too excited this doesn't solve the .tm issue it uses it. Its just temporary solution till someone doesnt figure it out or someone find out if publishers can use it anyway.
Cobe is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 11:38   #58
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,677
If nothing has been said, then i think we are just getting worked up over nothing until said otherwise, people release games for 3do, sega/mega cd, pc engine cd, neogeo cd etc etc all the time, i know its dif companies, but i don't see any lawsuits for those flying around, Commodore made money on hardware, not profits on software, what about the cd32 releases post Commodore bankruptcy, sure they removed the official commodore cd32 banner from their box headers, but they still had the tm files to boot the games...
Amigajay is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 11:41   #59
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
If nothing has been said, then i think we are just getting worked up over nothing until said otherwise, people release games for 3do, sega/mega cd, pc engine cd, neogeo cd etc etc all the time, i know its dif companies, but i don't see any lawsuits for those flying around, Commodore made money on hardware, not profits on software, what about the cd32 releases post Commodore bankruptcy, sure they removed the official commodore cd32 banner from their box headers, but they still had the tm files to boot the games...
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 11:43   #60
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,640
Ok, bad news guys - I think this is case closed.


As you may have heard there were some recent leaks of ROM source, so I uh.. investigated. This is what appears to be the case:

- The ROM compares the first 2048 bytes of the file with a stored (compressed) copy it contains of both the CDTV and CD32 trademark files.
- This means NOT A SINGLE BYTE can be different in the first 2048 bytes. No redundancy checks, just a byte-by-byte comparison.
- It also means the CDTV file can be cut down to 2048 bytes and still work (same length as the CD32 file)
- It also means the CDTV file can be altered AFTER the first 2048 bytes and still pass the test.



Edit: Random thing - the source keeps referring to a "CDGS", could this be an early name for the system ala C64GS?

Last edited by earok; 19 February 2016 at 11:51.
earok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd32 mobo swap watertonian support.Hardware 8 04 July 2014 07:59
SWAP: Have a Boxed C128. Want a CD32 r0jaws Swapshop 0 31 October 2010 20:06
Swap A600 for CD32 Lakes Swapshop 5 20 January 2010 21:51
Tool / Method for burning multiple CD32 ISOs onto one CD highwinder Retrogaming General Discussion 2 20 December 2009 22:01
Amiga CD32 swap Megamix Swapshop 0 16 August 2009 15:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08904 seconds with 13 queries