English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2012, 14:46   #1
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Tandem IDE controller card

I'm having trouble getting a Tandem IDE card and CD-ROM up and running in my Amiga 4000. I have plugged the card in to a Zorro slot, and copied the 'AT' driver file to the System > Expansion folder. But when I run the CD Rom install, the scan doesn't pick up the CD drive. I know that all of the hardware and connections are fine, as when I plug in the old HD that the Amiga came with, the CD drive works. So it seems to be the software at fault.

Worth noting is that for some reason the CD-ROM is plugged in to the IDE connector on the IDE card rather than the CD-ROM connector. But it only works plugged in to the IDE one with the old HD, and doesn't work in either running the installer on the new HD.

Any suggestions? I'm running CWB by the way.
edd_jedi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 December 2012, 16:35   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
have u pluged an ide cd into the cd connector? if so plug it into the ide one
the cd is for old mitsashita drives
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 December 2012, 16:39   #3
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Thanks for the reply. I have tried both connectors, it isn't recognised in either, although as said it works fine when my old HD is plugged in which is already configured correctly. So it seems to me it must be a driver issue.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 23 December 2012, 16:43   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep driver issue then

the device will be octagon.device
or if you are using the octapussy update it be scsi.device
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 December 2012, 18:07   #5
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Sorry I'm not sure what you mean by that. Should I be looking at another app to see if the card/drive are being recognised rather than the Tandem installer?
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 24 December 2012, 02:21   #6
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 722
I think you need to use tandemcd.device for your CDROM, not the AT. AT is for HDs not CDROMs.
I used to have that Tandem IDE controller, the best way to find the driver is to use the FIND CD utility and select the tandemcd.device if my memory serves right, it's been like 18 yeas or so since I had that board.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 24 December 2012, 08:10   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep what amiman99 said

then if you look at the mount file it creats for the cd you will see it uses octagon.device

heres a link to all the stuff you will need
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/tandem
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 December 2012, 10:23   #8
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
OK great thanks guys, will give it another bash and let you know how I get on.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 24 December 2012, 22:20   #9
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,008
Hope you get things sorted Edd, I used to have one of those cards too. What has been said is right, the AT command is just for HDs, and there should be a TandemCD.device in the Devs directory somewhere. If you follow the link above you can find the install disks in DMS format. In my experience my Tandem didn't use Octagon.device (although I did also have an Oktagon 2008 board from the same company which DID use this device). So maybe it depends on the model revision of your board. If you can't get the sofware to install properly, perhaps you can somehow clone the WB which is working?
lifeschool is offline  
Old 28 December 2012, 16:09   #10
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Thought I'd made some progress, but still stuck.

I have determined that although the CD-ROM drive is a Tandem one, it is not one of the three 'supported' models that plug in to the CD-ROM connector on the Tandem card. So that must be why it was connected to IDE when I got it. So I ran the ClassicWB built in CD-ROM installer to install oktagon.device. Now whenever I boot to Workbench, before it loads it says 'Cannot open oktagon.device unit 0 - Abort'. I have tried booting both with and without the IDE AT driver file in the Extensions folder.

Any ideas? If not, how do I remove oktagon.device to stop the boot up warning?
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 28 December 2012, 17:01   #11
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 722
Check if there is a CD0 icon in Devs/DosDrivers folder. Move it to other location and reboot Amiga.

Why not get a cheap IDE CDROM and plug it to IDE port? Then you could use tandemcd.device.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 28 December 2012, 17:58   #12
Orcish75
Registered User
Orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Age: 43
Posts: 30
IDEFix-97 supports the Tandem IDE controller, tandemat.device

http://aminet.net/disk/misc/IDEfix97.lha

You might need to remove all oktagon.device drivers before installing IDEFix-97.

I'm using IDEFix-97 on my Tandem controller with a slim IDE DVD-writer drive in my A2000. Works like a dream.

Cheers
Orcish75 is offline  
Old 29 December 2012, 18:43   #13
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
It's working! IDEFix97 did the job. Running the scan in the Tandem software couldn't find it, but IDEFix did. Thanks a lot for your help guys.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 30 December 2012, 08:36   #14
Orcish75
Registered User
Orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Age: 43
Posts: 30
Excellent! Glad you got it working!
Orcish75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 18:17
IDE controller repair JackTheKnife support.Hardware 5 30 June 2009 21:54
Tandem IDE Xytec support.Hardware 14 28 April 2009 14:12
problem: tandem ide/cd controller in amiga 2000 mrluff support.Apps 3 29 October 2008 13:29
USB to IDE Controller DDNI support.Hardware 3 01 September 2007 01:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07591 seconds with 13 queries