English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2016, 13:44   #1
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,116
Emulated CPU instructions/second !?

Currently in approximate and fastest possible mode there is the slider where is possible to adjust the emulated CPU speed relative to the host CPU speed.

I wonder if would be possible to adjust the "emulated CPU" to run the given amount of "emulated CPU instructions/second" ?
For example, instead of the relative CPU slider to have a new one like: 0-10-20-30-40-50-60-70-80-90-MAX = in emulated CPU MIPS !

Or if not, than at least possibility to show the amount of emulated CPU instructions/second in MIPS somewhere on the WinUAE screen !?
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 November 2016, 16:39   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,793
I don't see much use for that...

It is useless number and in Amiga CPU speed is very variable in non-expanded modes anyway and CPU is stopped when there is nothing to do (when AmigaOS is running and is idle). It would be unreadable randomly jumping value.

You also won't gain any compatibility (except accidentally) by adding yet another adjustment mode.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 November 2016, 17:49   #3
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,116
The idea was to have possibility to limit the max emulated (executed) cpu instructions/time !

Currently, in fastest possible mode is needed to adjust the cpu slider to be able to run some AGA demos, and that adjustment depend on the host PC Cpu speed. On some other PC that adjustment (i.e. configuration) would behave totally different! (slower or faster)

If there would be possibility to limit the number of max executed emulated instructions/time, I guess the same configuration would behave same on different pc configurations.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 30 November 2016, 20:41   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,793
Yes but if you are only asking it to make some demos work, it is wrong option because these kinds of speed hacks can't be stable, they will change between versions. I don't want to see something like "this demo works if you set CPU speed to exactly 87.8%". (No, it does not in next version).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 November 2016, 21:41   #5
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't want to see something like "this demo works if you set CPU speed to exactly 87.8%".
No, this was just an example.

I would like to have "absolute speed" that does not depend on a host PC CPU speed as it is situation now, specially regarding quick configurations for A3000 and A4000. (it simply run too fast, faster than any real Amiga 4000)

But you still did not answer is it possible or not to limit the max executed/emulated cpu instructions per time? (also for JIT mode too)

I guess this would include counting of executed instructions and after reaching the given number of executed instructions in given time or if given time is reached but executed instructions is not, it will stop to execute until next counting, right?

EDIT: Thus with already existing "Fastest possible" and "Approximate" modes, there might be added a new "Absolute" mode. (so, nothing is changed, just one more "CPU Emulation Speed" mode would be added)

Last edited by amilo3438; 01 December 2016 at 00:04.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 18 December 2016, 00:41   #6
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Currently in approximate and fastest possible mode there is the slider where is possible to adjust the emulated CPU speed relative to the host CPU speed.
Well, it seems the approximate mode does not depend on host PC speed !
(as mentioned here http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=457 )

So maybe this request is not so important anymore now ! (IMHO)
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird instructions absence Coders. General 4 12 October 2009 17:54
All asm instructions in one .s AGN Coders. General 0 15 September 2006 01:49
Amiga game instructions? HonoredShadow support.Games 6 22 October 2005 05:48
Instructions? Daz support.Hardware 8 12 July 2002 21:29
Game Instructions Ricky55 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 06 July 2002 21:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16102 seconds with 12 queries