English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2003, 13:46   #1
AllIEverHad
 
Posts: n/a
What am I doing wrong?

Hi,
I have just registered on this fine forum because i've ran into some trouble ;P

I thought I was fairly knowledgeable when it comes 2 stuff like this!

Anyway I have an A500+ and want to get some games transfered across to PC or vice versa
Ive been following the tuts, but when I try and mount the disk in the amiga it says device not recognised (or some such!)

I've read this pc0 thingy is part of cross dos but wtf?

I have workbench 2.0

What do i need to do to get it working?



Amigaboy Says:
Please don't type 'Matt' at the bottom of your posts. Instead, configure it in your preferences. This is one of the rules of the board
From your friendly EAB moderator. Take care now, bye bye then.

 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 February 2003, 14:05   #2
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally posted by AllIEverHad
I've read this pc0 thingy is part of cross dos but wtf?
Essentially, when running CrossDOS, your DF0: drive becomes a (low density) PC drive when a low density PC disk is inserted in it. To view the disk, you have to open PC0: rather than DF0: When not in use, it will be PC0:??? or something like that.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 14:50   #3
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Quote:
(low density)
Actually, it's double density disks Anyway, I guess this is the important part: regular high density PC disks will not work on your Amiga unless you have an extra (external) drive made for this.
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 15:16   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
You're right, I don't know why I typed low density.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 15:50   #5
AllIEverHad
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah, I have formatted a double density disk (720kb) on my pc.

But I can't get workbench to recognise the 'mount pc0' command

Is cross dos included in workbench 2.0?
this is what i need 2 know

Thanks!



<akira>
Aye, read above. Configure your sig in your userCP.
</akira>

 
Old 01 February 2003, 16:32   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
I think CrossDOS came with workbench 2.04 or higher. What version does your WB disk say?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 16:34   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
No, CrossDOS came with Workbench 3.0 and workbench 2.1 ...
Akira is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 16:44   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
No, CrossDOS came with Workbench 3.0 and workbench 2.1 ...
That's it, WB2.1 and higher

Thanks Akira
jmmijo is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 17:00   #9
AllIEverHad
 
Posts: n/a
workbench v2.0!!


<akira>
CAN YOU NOT READ?? This is the last warning about signatures.
</akira>
 
Old 01 February 2003, 17:24   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
That's it, WB2.1 and higher
Not exactly
Those are the only two versions that have it! IF you say WB2.1 and higher you include WB3.1, 3.5 and 3.9 (which don't have the CrossDOS commodity)
Akira is offline  
Old 01 February 2003, 22:43   #11
scaf
Registered User
scaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: france
Age: 42
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to scaf
AllIEverHad :

Well, WB2.0 can't read PC disks. But you can try this ADF :

http://amigadump.emu-france.com/fichier.php?id=115

It's a WB1.3, that can read PC 720K disks, and it has transwarp for you can create ADFs from floppies (and floppies from ADFs).

If there is someone near you who can send it (on an amiga floppy) to you, you'll be able to fulfill your desires

You can transfer it yourself on a amiga floppy via a null-modem serial cable and a WB 1.3 system disk.
scaf is offline  
Old 02 February 2003, 01:15   #12
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
You should be able to run the sales version of CrossDOS with 2.0.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 04 February 2003, 04:21   #13
zaqwsx
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

Another option for you:

Go to aminet and download "Fat95" which (IMHO) is far superior to CrossDOS because it allows you to keep all your long Amiga Filenames (none of those PC 8.3 restrictions!)

Also it works on any amiga Workbench from 1.3 right through to 3.9!

Just follow the link below to download it from Aminet:



http://ftp.wustl.edu/~aminet/disk/misc/fat95.lha

Hope this helps
 
Old 04 February 2003, 06:31   #14
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
Actually, the version of CrossDOS I use on my Amiga (can't remember which) allows me to use long filenames and mixed case. But if this util works as promised, I agree that it's a worthy option.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 04 February 2003, 17:29   #15
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
I think it's better to buy a null modem cable.

The link i suggest in this case is
http://homepage.uibk.ac.at/homepage/...l/methods.html


With your 500+ 1mb it will be a pain to zip ( dunno also if there is enought memory ) an adf to a 720k disk, with serial cable it should took moreless 2 min from pc to amiga and a bit more in the opposite way, if you install the baudbandit.device.

Hope this help.
mtb is offline  
Old 05 February 2003, 00:07   #16
scaf
Registered User
scaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: france
Age: 42
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to scaf
This method is good.
You can use it to transfer transwarp, as the first file from PC to amiga.
Then, with transwarp and your null-modem cable, you can create the floppy from the ADF i wrote the link before.

This floppy reads PC disks, and comes with transwarp, dms, lha...
scaf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Name killergorilla AMR data problems 4 01 October 2008 14:47
What am I doing wrong? NLS project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 6 07 January 2008 09:48
Wrong HD Info Cannibalpinhead HOL suggestions and feedback 1 06 November 2005 21:44
What am I doing Wrong? RMadrid New to Emulation or Amiga scene 45 31 March 2005 15:59
CAPS - I was wrong Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 9 21 January 2005 22:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08066 seconds with 13 queries