English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2013, 22:54   #1
Alexco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: outer space
Posts: 44
Warp3D with G-Rex and Voodoo 4??

Anyone here with a G-Rex setup and a Voodoo 4? Is there a trick to get Warp3D working? I only find infos for Mediator setups, but not for G-Rex based ones. But everyone is claiming that Voodoo4 is backwards compatible with Voodoo 3.
2D everything is working fine, I have tested 8, 15, 16 and 24 Bit resolutions with latest GGX4 patches.

But if I start warptest, it first lists all supported HW (Permedia, Voodoo 3) and then quits with "missing mode error".
Other Warp3D demos create only grey screens.

Any hints?
Alexco is offline  
Old 09 August 2013, 23:02   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Do you have a 16bit screen mode in the resolution you want to use? normally 640x480 is the default for Warp3D Games. You must have a 16bit screen mode, it might even help if you launch from a 16bit Workbench.

I use a Voodoo 3 with my GREX but I have used a Voodoo 5 with my Mediator setup and that worked with Warp3D so I'm sure the Voodoo 4 should.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 August 2013, 09:25   #3
Alexco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: outer space
Posts: 44
Ah. Okay. Using 16Bit 640x480 warpdemo starts but no cube is visible. I only have a blue screen with text. Also all the gears demos start but no gear is visible. But looking at the info from warptest it seems that something is missing because there is support for primititves and filters??

Code:
Hardware driver available
Available drivers:
Permedia2
	Supports format 0x79FF
	Hardware Driver
	Primitives supported:
	[POINT] [LINE] [TRIANGLE] 
	Filtering:
	[BI-FILTER] 
Voodoo 3 Avenger
	Supports format 0x20
	Hardware Driver
	Primitives supported:
	
	Filtering:
	
Voodoo 3 Avenger
	Supports format 0x80
	Hardware Driver
	Primitives supported:
	
	Filtering:
	


Size: 128◊128
Texture created
Setting states
Going into main loop
Closing down...

Last edited by Alexco; 10 August 2013 at 09:26. Reason: Typos
Alexco is offline  
Old 10 August 2013, 20:03   #4
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexco View Post
Ah. Okay. Using 16Bit 640x480 warpdemo starts but no cube is visible. I only have a blue screen with text. Also all the gears demos start but no gear is visible. But looking at the info from warptest it seems that something is missing because there is support for primititves and filters??
The WarpTest should renders a wall but I guess you wouldn't know if it didn't :/.

Here is the output from my Mediator with Voodoo 4 (also VSA-100/Napalm GPU):

Code:
Hardware driver available
Available drivers:
Voodoo 3 Avenger
        Supports format 0x20
        Hardware Driver
        Primitives supported:
        [POINT] [LINE] [TRIANGLE] 
        Filtering:
        [BI-FILTER] [MM-FILTER] 
Voodoo 3 Avenger
        Supports format 0x80
        Hardware Driver
        Primitives supported:

        Filtering:



Size: 128×128
Texture created
Setting states
Going into main loop
Closing down...
The 2 entries are for little endian and big endian 16 bit modes. You should try both. On the Mediator, the LE modes have a "PC" in the name. Both modes work on the Mediator although the colors in 2D and 3D are messed up with BE modes. Are your colors correct with BE modes on the G-Rex? Do you have the 4000 or 1200 version of the G-Rex? Are you using P96 or CGFX and the latest 2D drivers?

You could download Alain Thellier's 3D Cow test program and see if anything displays (wire frames or shading?).

http://uk.aminet.net/dev/src/Cow3D.lha

You could also try these alternate (optimized and a few bug fixes) Warp3D drivers after making backups:

http://www.heywheel.com/matthey/Amiga/Warp3D.lha

Let us know if you get it working.

Edit: This G-Rex support web site shows the VSA-100 not working in 3D:

http://grex.amigaworld.de/index.php?lang=en&page=37

The VSA-100 is backward compatible with the Avenger but the PCI mapping is different in some ways. It may be possible to tweak the 2D or 3D driver to get it working or it may be that the G-Rex hardware/firmware does not map the necessary addresses correctly or at all.

Last edited by matthey; 12 August 2013 at 07:21.
matthey is offline  
Old 14 August 2013, 22:27   #5
Alexco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: outer space
Posts: 44
Hmm. Very strange. Now I do not even get a 2D screen anymore. But I don't know what I changed?! Can someone post an OpenPCIInfo log from Voodoo3 and 4 with Mediator?
Alexco is offline  
Old 15 August 2013, 00:51   #6
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexco View Post
Hmm. Very strange. Now I do not even get a 2D screen anymore. But I don't know what I changed?! Can someone post an OpenPCIInfo log from Voodoo3 and 4 with Mediator?
Cosmos has a GRex+Voodoo 4 which is not working for him either. It's strange that Warp3D almost worked for you. The Voodoo 4 must have been recongised properly because the Avenger libraries were enabled in the WarpTest output.

You might push your Voodoo 4 down in the PCI slot or reseat it. My Voodoo 4 in the Mediator is particular about being pushed in all the way and securely screwed down where the Voodoo 3 is not.

Here is my Mediator OpenPciInfo:

Code:
OpenPciInfo v1.5 12.03.2005 by Titan

openpci.library v2.1 opened
Bus Mediator Z4 detected

----------------------------------
Internal Configuration Space infos
VendorID : $121a 
DeviceID : $9
ClassRevision : $03000001 
PCI_REVISION_ID $01
Header Type : $00 (0=Normal/1=Bridge/2=Cardbus)
PCI_SUBSYSTEM_ID $0005
Command : $0003 
I/O space PCI_COMMAND_IO
Memory space PCI_COMMAND_MEMORY
PCI_LATENCY_TIMER : $00
----------------------------------
Pci Device Slot Num : 1, Func Num : 0 
Vendor   : 3dfx Interactive Inc 
Device   : Voodoo5 
VendorID : $121a 
DeviceID : $9
ClassCode: 0x030000
IRQNumber: 2
MemAddr0 : $60000000 - $67ffffff 131072 kbytes
MemAddr1 : $68000000 - $6fffffff 131072 kbytes
IOAddr2  : $40c06000 - $40c060ff 256 bytes
RomAddr  : $70000000 - $7000ffff
RomSize	 : 65536 bytes 64 kbytes
No Bus Master Capable
Card PCI_STATUS
Support 66 Mhz PCI 2.1 bus
Accept fast-back to back
What's Enabled in the Card ?
I/O space PCI_COMMAND_IO
Memory space PCI_COMMAND_MEMORY
What does yours look like?
matthey is offline  
Old 15 August 2013, 11:41   #7
Alexco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: outer space
Posts: 44
Here the output of the G-Rex NewPciScan:
Code:
cybpci.library 2.2
------------------------------------------------------
BoardObject 0x80146C4
Bus 0 <CyberstormPPC GRex PCI> Slot 1 Function 0
 Vendor 0x121A <3dfx Interactive Inc> Device 0x7 <>
  Class 0x3 <Display Controller>
  SubClass 0x0 <PC Compatible>
  ProgInterface 0x0 <VGA>
  Command 0x3
   -> I/O Access
   -> Memory Access
  Base 0: Address 0x90000000 Size 0xA000000
  Base 1: Address 0x80000000 Size 0x10000000
  Base 2: Address 0x7FA1000 Size 0x8000800
------------------------------------------------------
BoardObject 0x801482C
Bus 0 <CyberstormPPC GRex PCI> Slot 3 Function 0
 Vendor 0x10EC <Realtek Semiconductor> Device 0x8029 <RTL8029>
  -> NE2000 compatible Ethernet
  Class 0x2 <Network Controller>
  SubClass 0x0 <Ethernet>
  ProgInterface 0x0 <>
  Command 0x0
  Base 0: Address 0xFFA1800 Size 0x20
and here OpenPCIInfo:
Code:
OpenPciInfo v1.5 12.03.2005 by Titan

openpci.library v2.1 opened
Bus Grex A4000 detected

----------------------------------
Internal Configuration Space infos
VendorID : $121a 
DeviceID : $7
ClassRevision : $03000001 
PCI_REVISION_ID $01
Header Type : $00 (0=Normal/1=Bridge/2=Cardbus)
PCI_SUBSYSTEM_ID $0005
Command : $0003 
I/O space PCI_COMMAND_IO
Memory space PCI_COMMAND_MEMORY
PCI_LATENCY_TIMER : $00
----------------------------------
Pci Device Slot Num : 1, Func Num : 0 
Vendor   : 3dfx Interactive Inc 
Device   : Voodoo4 
VendorID : $121a 
DeviceID : $7
ClassCode: 0x030000
IRQNumber: 5
MemAddr0 : $90000000 - $99ffffff 163840 kbytes
MemAddr1 : $80000000 - $8fffffff 262144 kbytes
IOAddr2  : $07fa1000 - $0ffa17ff 131074 kbytes
No Bus Master Capable
Card PCI_STATUS
Support 66 Mhz PCI 2.1 bus
Accept fast-back to back
What's Enabled in the Card ?
I/O space PCI_COMMAND_IO
Memory space PCI_COMMAND_MEMORY

----------------------------------
Internal Configuration Space infos
VendorID : $10ec 
DeviceID : $8029
ClassRevision : $02000000 
PCI_REVISION_ID $00
Header Type : $00 (0=Normal/1=Bridge/2=Cardbus)
PCI_SUBSYSTEM_ID $0000
Command : $0000 
PCI_LATENCY_TIMER : $00
----------------------------------
Pci Device Slot Num : 3, Func Num : 0 
Vendor   : Realtek Semiconductor 
Device   : RTL8029 NE2000 compatible Ethernet
VendorID : $10ec 
DeviceID : $8029
ClassCode: 0x020000
IRQNumber: 15
IOAddr0  : $0ffa1800 - $0ffa181f 32 bytes
No Bus Master Capable
Card PCI_STATUS
Doesn't support 66 Mhz PCI 2.1 bus
Doesn't accept fast-back to back
What's Enabled in the Card ?
2048bytes MEM_PCI DMA Mem Allocated : 91c4008
16384bytes MEM_PCI DMA Mem Allocated : 91c5008
Free Mem 2048
2040bytes MEM_NONCACHEABLE DMA Mem Allocated : 91ca008
Free Mem 2040
4096bytes MEM_NONCACHEABLE DMA Mem Allocated : 91ca008
Free Mem 4096
Free Mem 16384
300000 bytes MEM_NONCACHEABLE DMA Mem Allocated : 9216008
Free Mem 300000
Alexco is offline  
Old 16 August 2013, 03:20   #8
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
@Alexco
Do you have a PowerPC by chance? If you do then you may need to set the board gfxaddress:

Prefs/Env-Archive/powerpc

gfxaddress=$80000000

I think the $80000000 is the address of your memory mapped registers (gfxaddress). It should be found automatically on the 68k. There is no ENVARC variable on the 68k. Your PCI address mapping doesn't have the RomAddr but that shouldn't be necessary (x86 code). All the startup initialization has to be done in the Amiga driver.

I did find an old post where someone said they had a Voodoo 4 working in 3D on a G-Rex with some problems. You may need to play with some of the settings. The 68060.library can make a difference also. I haven't heard back from Cosmos who is investigating the problem but he is aware of this thread.
matthey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warp3d woes Wasagi support.Hardware 13 02 December 2010 19:55
Does Warp3D work on a Voodoo 5 5500 Mediator PCI Setup? fitzsteve support.Apps 5 15 October 2010 01:10
T-REX and A3000 Jakodemus support.Hardware 2 02 July 2009 23:36
Voodoo 5 Warp3D Support Hewitson support.Hardware 12 09 February 2008 15:48
Warp3D and Amithlon Ivan Castle New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 29 December 2002 18:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06652 seconds with 13 queries