English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2013, 13:26   #1
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Can't boot AROS in WinUae

If I use Aros specific WINUAE config and load the both roms (bin files) AND assign AROS folder as a hard drive in WINUAE, all I get is a DOS boot/shell screen.

However, if I use my own standard A1200 config and instead of AROS roms use the plain old 3.1 rom, I get to the dos boot screen up to the

"Lading 'boot/aros.hunk.gz' into the RAM
Successfully loaded ROM
Booting.."


and then it reboots and repeats the whole procedure again and again and again..

So what am I missing here?

Thanks.
Kenan is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 13:48   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
I just tried the amiga-m68k-boot.iso from today's nightly build with the WinUAE builtin AROS ROM and it boots perfectly.

Just changed screenmode and font prefs:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aros68k.png
Views:	208
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	35676  
thomas is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 14:26   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenan View Post
If I use Aros specific WINUAE config and load the both roms (bin files) AND assign AROS folder as a hard drive in WINUAE, all I get is a DOS boot/shell screen.

However, if I use my own standard A1200 config and instead of AROS roms use the plain old 3.1 rom, I get to the dos boot screen up to the

"Lading 'boot/aros.hunk.gz' into the RAM
Successfully loaded ROM
Booting.."


and then it reboots and repeats the whole procedure again and again and again..

So what am I missing here?

Thanks.
What is your exact config? (include config file). Also run winuae with -log -serlog command line parameters and attach winuaelog.txt. (Exit emulation after second "booting.." comes)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 15:03   #4
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
I used the config from here:
http://www.natami-news.de/html/distr..._download.html

With that config, it would just boot to shell command.
I know I'm doing something wrong but just trying to figure out what. Thomas, the version I'm using is not packed as ISO rather as a ZIP file and I just added it as a directory.

Ok. the log says "Double bus error or corrupted stack, forcing reboot."
and "Your Amiga computer did something terribly stupid."

Ok. the latest nightly build loaded fine with AROS WinUAE config..yet, the one I downloaded from the link above (Amiga Vision version) won't boot..Hmm..

Ah..now it suddenly boots fine and I have no idea what I did to make it happen..

Last edited by DH; 20 June 2013 at 15:42. Reason: Merged back to back posts
Kenan is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 15:40   #5
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 51
Posts: 4,010
Kenan, can you please use the edit function to add extra content to your post, back to back posts are generally classed as spamming, unless there is a reasonable time span between posts

I will group your posts together, Thanks
DH is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 16:28   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,759
AROS softkick was rewritten few weeks ago, previously it was not that stable.

You also need WinUAE 2.6.1 or you may get "did something stupid" message if you have Z2 fast ram enabled.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 17:51   #7
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Ok will check my Winuae version.
Kenan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
support for AROS boot rom Worfje support.WinFellow 16 16 November 2011 21:43
using AROS in WinUAE pucci support.WinUAE 1 06 September 2011 20:33
AROS m68k running on WinUAE turrican3 Amiga scene 1 01 January 2011 04:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06423 seconds with 16 queries