English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2011, 07:28   #1
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Improving emulated performance from original speed (or lack of)

Is there a way or a setting that can be utilised to improve the run speed of a game - eg faster disk access speed and processing time?

I havent been able to isolate anything that made any noticeable difference in Amiga Forever or WinUAE.

Thanks
Morbane is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 08:21   #2
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morbane View Post
... faster disk access speed and processing time?
...
In WinUAE you can change the speed of drive emulation under the floppy drives tab, 800% is considered a safe speed, where turbo may produce incompatibilities.
mihcael is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 18:21   #3
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Additionally, for cpu speed, do you have the option "fastest possible, but maintain chipset timing" selected? (something like that anyway, Im going by memory). JIT can make a massive difference too. CPU type choice makes next to no difference though ( its a not uncommon misconception that it does).
fishyfish is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 20:13   #4
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,183
If you can enter the WinUAE input panel through the Amiga Forever malware then you can also map Warp Mode to any input event you want. Warp Mode will maintain cycle exact emulation while speeding the entire emulation up as fast as your PC can handle. You can think of it as fast-forwarding everything.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 22:37   #5
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
If you can enter the WinUAE input panel through the Amiga Forever malware then you can also map Warp Mode to any input event you want. Warp Mode will maintain cycle exact emulation while speeding the entire emulation up as fast as your PC can handle. You can think of it as fast-forwarding everything.
Where do I look to enable 'warp mode' in WinUAE - what tab is it under?
Morbane is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 22:59   #6
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 511
Or you can just press the End and Pause keys to toggle warp mode any time - only discovered this last week and I'm using it all the time now!
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 23:53   #7
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Will that work in both AF and WinUAE?
Morbane is offline  
Old 12 December 2011, 10:06   #8
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 511
Yes, it works both ways.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 12 December 2011, 12:09   #9
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
How do I know if it working - sorry to be dim but I am not really sure what warp mode actually does... speed up everything? presumably a lot faster?

and I am not on my game system right now to experiment - end starts it and pause stops it? it could go either way . . . end to end it or pause to pause it - so to speak...?
Morbane is offline  
Old 12 December 2011, 12:41   #10
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 511
Warp mode speeds up everything, including floppy drive access. If I'm loading a floppy game I start it straight away after starting emulation, then stop it once the game has loaded.

Apparently it's more reliable than floppy drive turbo mode, which can be incompatible with certain games.

End + Pause (together) starts turbo mode, End + Pause switches it off again.

If I want a particular game to run more quickly in-game (e.g. a 3D polygon game which might be a bit jerky), I sometimes edit the RP9, change the overall compatibility to 'standard' and change the CPU speed setting to 'fastest possible'. (NB I'm at work right now so the exact terminology may vary slightly).
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 12 December 2011, 18:23   #11
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morbane View Post
How do I know if it working - sorry to be dim but I am not really sure what warp mode actually does... speed up everything? presumably a lot faster?
If WinUAE uses f.ex 50% of your PC's CPU power to emulate your Amiga, then with Warp Mode it can use the remaining 50% CPU power to emulate the Amiga in twice the speed. Like I said the easiest way to think of it is as fast-forwarding, and for each second you watch the screen, the emulated Amiga will have run for two seconds. How fast it will go depends entirely on how fast your PC is.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 00:06   #12
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Thanks anton & leffmann!

I will give it a try when I get on my game pc later today.

(later that day...)

WOW what a difference - Star Command Loaded super quick! Cant wait to see what other games go faster on load!

(Later that night...)

Really really fast = double and triple key strokes/mouse clicks = no good for actual playing of games

Last edited by Morbane; 13 December 2011 at 22:17.
Morbane is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 21:39   #13
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
So is there a functional way to speed up performance during game play?
Morbane is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 22:03   #14
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 511
Did you try my second suggestion (last paragraph) in post #10?
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 18 December 2011, 03:57   #15
Morbane
Sub-Dimensional Array
Morbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Yes, I have used that advice - I was hoping for the possibility of another tweak. The game I am trying to speed up is Pool of Radiance - originally it was quite slow - and the emulated version equals that. I have the PC version on DosBox and it is pretty fast but the graphics are no better than the Commodore64 version.

Dont get me wrong that tweak made a difference - just not that extra umph I was hoping for.

Thanks again Anton
Morbane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lack of appreciation for hand drawn 2D graphics Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 35 22 October 2015 16:38
Lack of blitter waits on A500 Codetapper Coders. Asm / Hardware 3 09 September 2012 14:45
How set WinUAE configuration for real Amiga speed performance ? cybersite_ni.q support.WinUAE 6 08 June 2009 12:09
OS4 Speed Performance ? blade002 Amiga scene 42 13 November 2007 23:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09068 seconds with 13 queries