English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2018, 22:21   #81
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT2: Change log entry: "Reset horizontal display window if it is still active at the end of scanline (even if it is
larger than last hpos value) if programmed mode or superhires. Perhaps this is wrong, perhaps not,
not bothered to test yet.. (Background "leak" in right edge in some wide programmed mode screens)"

Probably never confirmed..

I guess test code that does not try any tricks is good, even if it is not real hardware tested. Maybe.
As expected, superhires does not make any difference in this situation in real hardware. It probably is related to some BEAMCON0 bit. Unfortunately I didn't note which are those some wide programmed modes..

--

Superhires resolution (BPLCON0) isn't working correctly yet in subpixel mode. (Display panel superhires works as long as "real" resolution is hires or lores)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 22:50   #82
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
As expected, superhires does not make any difference in this situation in real hardware. It probably is related to some BEAMCON0 bit. Unfortunately I didn't note which are those some wide programmed modes..
Good, another AGA feature emulated.
At the end the behavior that seemed so strange to me had a reason
Not that now wants to try other oddities, I repeat, it was involuntary.

Thanks for the update!
ross is offline  
Old 24 July 2018, 13:32   #83
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Good, another AGA feature emulated.
At the end the behavior that seemed so strange to me had a reason
There is no features emulated. It was simple wrong condition where superhires was part of it when it should not have been.

Superhires resolution (BPLCON0 resolution) should now work better in subpixel mode. (Still some odd corruption in Roots 2 AGA rotozoomer but this has nothing to do with superhires)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 July 2018, 18:03   #84
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,142
I do not know if it can be useful, but attached a little binary that takeover the system and you can perfectly observe the problem that I indicated in previous posts.

Setup: AGA, 020+, Subpixel emulation; Host: Superhires, Windows 1504x min., No scaling, 1x Hsize.
Amiga registers: FMODE=3, BPLCON0=2200, DIWSTRT=xx5c, DIWSTOP=xxc7, DDFSTRT=$18, DDFSTOP=$c0.
Full use of BPLCON1 bits, so a quarter pixels scroll of 256 positions.
COLOR01=0fff, COLOR02=0f00, COLOR03=00f0.

Bitplane point to some garbage area ($0), but same value for the two, so there should be all greens points.
But at the far left margin you can view a column of mixed green, white and red pixels
Use right mouse button to shift screen to right, LMB to left. Both to exit.
Useful to see the behavior of the bitplanes (confirmed that is the even numbered that make the "ghost") and it is also possible to understand which points are replicated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip fullgh.zip (664 Bytes, 13 views)
ross is offline  
Old 24 July 2018, 18:25   #85
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
I do not know if it can be useful, but attached a little binary that takeover the system and you can perfectly observe the problem that I indicated in previous posts.
Yes, this was simple enough to find the problem, thanks. Last line buffer flush flushed far too much data in some mode combinations, wrapping around to next line. Fixes also Roots 2.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 00:29   #86
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes, this was simple enough to find the problem, thanks. Last line buffer flush flushed far too much data in some mode combinations, wrapping around to next line. Fixes also Roots 2.
You are welcome.

Just to complete the matter.
I've opened the right border (same exe, DIWSTOP=xxc8) and after some shift there also 'ghosting'. It's right this way?
(I perfectly remember the gap and the 'repeated part' in a real machine with some BPLCON1 values and high DDFSTOP used,
but certainly I can not remember if there was such an effect, sorry..)
Attached Files
File Type: zip fullgh_r.zip (668 Bytes, 16 views)
ross is offline  
Old 26 July 2018, 14:43   #87
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,892
Right side bug is now fixed. Also "horizontal diwstop bplcon1 chipset bug" variables were not recalculated when switching subpixel mode on/off on the fly. Also fixed now.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 26 July 2018 at 16:57. Reason: Fixed "pixel stretching"
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 12:18   #88
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Right side bug is now fixed. Also "horizontal diwstop bplcon1 chipset bug" variables were not recalculated when switching subpixel mode on/off on the fly. Also fixed now.
Yes, no more "pixels stretch" weird effect.
And I don't think there are more things to fix in this field.

Great work, thanks!
ross is offline  
Old 10 October 2018, 21:50   #89
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSizzle View Post
On AGA the BRDRBLNK is applied a half pixel early on the left hand side on real hardware
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=20 this game does not have borderblank delay visible on real A1200.

It looks like this "feature" isn't as simple as was originally assumed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needed: A1200 Delay Line & Bandpass Filter PARALAX support.Hardware 0 04 December 2016 18:44
A1200 reset delay Cobe support.Hardware 18 09 May 2016 18:31
Alien Breed II title pixel by pixel logo removal dex project.Sprites 15 18 August 2015 11:06
Problem running copper master demo on A1200 whitebird support.Demos 26 17 August 2014 17:41
Wanted - A1200 Tin Shield Bottom Half - NEW Peter MarketPlace 0 15 September 2010 17:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06982 seconds with 15 queries