English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 April 2018, 09:37   #1
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
Accessing my disk

(a few years ago I would answer my own post - but nowadays, so many years without touching real Amiga hardware, although I have plenty stored, I am again a newbie)

So I have my A4000/040 (which is actually 060, whithout me every buying 060 - long story) in the closet and some time soon I will need to "salvage" it the best I can.

For hardware, I understand someone will need to recap it probably (yes?). Along with my A500 and my C64 and my VCS.

For software though, my hard disk, things are a bit more complicated.

First of all (possibly the easy part?) I am not even sure what kind of bus is my 300MB disk (was it IDE?). Actually I am not sure it is 300MB or swapped to something larger. Anyway is it plain IDE? (to see if it can be connected to a PC)

You see, I remember I used a multi-user file system INSTEAD of FFS, that was available in Aminet. Not even sure which, but I suspect we can find it. Stupidly enough, as I was the only user of the computer. Still I "logged in" my Amiga every time.
Thing is, I have NO idea of my old password and is quite possible I cannot recall it at all. So... how do you think we can access the contents and possibly copy things to a normal FFS disk or even better a disk image?

This is the initial "investigation", we are far from actually doing this, but if you can help me, give me hope or anything... please do.
NLS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 April 2018, 10:10   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,120
If you used the application AmiStation you have not registered the program, the default password is maintenance.

If instead you have registered the program, you could access the system by disabling the AmiStation command from the Startup-sequence, find the command at the top of the Startup-sequence, this solution will work even if you have another program installed

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 11 May 2018 at 01:33.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 10:23   #3
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
No no. It is not that.
I am not speaking of a simple login trick.
I used a complete multi-user filesystem. In other words the whole disk is formatted this way.
I think it is MUFS, MUSF or something.
NLS is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 10:31   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,120
So you used it PFS2 or PFS3
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:02   #5
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
Possible.
NLS is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:04   #6
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 96
http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/MultiUser18bin

This probably.
talybont is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:10   #7
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 96
Here's a thread with a similar question, but no answer if it worked:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=16587

I would take a backup of the disk before doing anything though.
talybont is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:24   #8
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
I remember both.
I think I stopped using my Amiga, around 2000. So whatever was "latest" then.
I actually remember using my A4000/040 as main computer when Win 2000 was released, because I distinctly remember that I had a Compaq workstation (scrap from work) that I had it boot early Win 2000. It was below specs for 2000, so it took 15 minutes to boot and maybe 5 minutes to reach from login to actual desktop. Still I used it to encode stream from an FM radio ISA card (!) over the network and I could receive the stream on the Amiga with 10 second delay (I suspect on 10Mbit ethernet? Damn I have so many blanks on what I did back then). I distinctly remember both on my desk (Amiga left, Compaq right), so it must be 2001 or something.

Good idea in the thread, but all these mean (a) I have access to these without booting Amiga itself (I don't want to risk before a recap)... possibly rip an image and do things on that on WinUAE, (b) that MUFS doesn't "encode" things using my user/pass and just adds a layer that can be ignored if forcing it to switch to FFS.

I guess the first thing to do is actually remove the disk and see if the bus is indeed IDE and then see how I can clone this to an image than "fight" that image.
Help on this? Tools to use? (NOT on Amiga - explained why, above)
NLS is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:33   #9
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 610
I did use "muFS" back in time. Was working like a charm. Sad that like you, I forgot everything...
malko is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:38   #10
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
damn we need to find a solution
NLS is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:39   #11
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 96
Check the disk interface first. If you don't have an extra controller card in your Amiga it's probably IDE as that is the built-in interface in the A4000.

Then it's a matter of connecting that drive to a PC and use a Linux live CD to clone the drive to a file (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/disk_cloning), or maybe something similar for Windows.
talybont is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:42   #12
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,643
It is probably either IDE or SCSI. If it is IDE, then you can relatively easily connect it to a PC and create an image using Win32 Disk Imager. Then you can make a copy of this image and start messing around with it in WinUAE without the risk of losing data. SCSI can also be imaged on a PC but those interfaces are a bit harder to come by. To read old SCSI HDDs, I have an old desktop PC with a SCSI controller. There's also some SCSI to IDE adapters however they can be a little expensive, particularly seeing as you only need it for this particular drive.

There are different options to connecting an IDE drive. If you have an available on-board IDE connector in your PC, then that should work. Alternatively, you could use something like this, which is what I use:
https://files.sandberg.it/products/i.../133-43_lg.jpg
demolition is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:53   #13
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 475
I am most probably using on-board IDE. Don't remember getting a SCSI controller for Amiga. Then again I don't remember many things.
For example a friend fitted the 060 (and lost -!!!- my 040) card, during a period of a few months I have lent my Amiga to him and I really cannot understand how he actually booted the machine. Did he use his own disk? (it wouldn't be possible otherwise... I surely didn't give him my login details and he surely couldn't boot the machine without a proper startup-sequence to make the appropriate patches for 060). Is my disk still in the case!? Is is that lost too? Brrrr...

I possibly have some old SCSI controller for PC, but doubt it will work with modern hardware, PLUS there were so many SCSI implementations, that I just have to happen to have one that matches.

I think I can find at least one PC with IDE still, plus I have kept at least one IDE-USB external box (although I don't trust it for such job).

First thing I need to do is OPEN the case and see what I actually have I guess.
Also take hi-res photos of all my hardware guts to see if I really need recap and how badly.

Thanks all for your help. I will resurrect this thread when I have progressed to the point I actually need to read the disk (and that the disk still exists and still works).
NLS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing sd partitions yurif74 support.WinUAE 16 05 January 2016 12:16
Accessing my CF HDD? commodoresales New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 24 March 2012 11:47
Floppy accessing kixs support.Hardware 9 12 October 2011 00:35
Crash on accessing hard disk? CMDR support.Hardware 8 21 August 2010 18:29
Problem accessing HD ruffian support.Hardware 6 10 November 2009 14:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07920 seconds with 15 queries