English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.EAB File Server

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 April 2018, 06:31   #1961
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 730
Yes, we must be patient
chip is offline  
Old 04 April 2018, 11:40   #1962
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 488
Since I suspect we are of the few last generations that Real Life (TM) matters more than virtual/on-line life, we'll wait patiently.
NLS is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 00:27   #1963
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,051
I came home an hour ago (wife already in bed. Heh).

Anyway, the problem was as I suspected. We should be back now, but give it a few hours if you still can not connect for the DNS to update to its new IP (Pinging grandis.nu [37.123.138.162])

When I got my 10Gbit line, I noticed I could now connect two concurrent devices to the internet instead of just one. Thought this was peculiar since I do not pay for that. Anyway, I also noticed on my services page that I had both 1Gbit and 10Gbit accounts and was going to pay for both.

So a day or two before my vacation, I called them and said that I should only have the 10Gbit line and not the 1Gbit.

When I was testing the 10Gbit, I had two machines connected but not at the same time. One test machine and the "real" firewall. When they cut off my 1Gbit account, my total number of concurrent devices went down to one and of course, that deactivated my firewall and not the test machine (50/50 chance of that I guess). This could have been solved in 5 minutes if they
1: Did not close for easter
2: Did not cost me a fortune per minute to call them from Egypt and its always a 30 minute queue at least..

So yeah, gonna unpack a bit, take a shower and hit the sack =)
Turran is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 00:47   #1964
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,115
Thanks Turran; really there was no rush though...

Get to bed and cuddle your wife
DamienD is online now  
Old 05 April 2018, 02:16   #1965
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 21
I got a TCPIP Stack (Miami) running for the first time on my Amiga, 2 weeks ago and the first thing was to try out FTP and thus connect to grandis.
Thanks for maintaining this great ftp server!
Nightshft is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 06:55   #1966
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 730
Nice, it works again .... thanks Turran
chip is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 10:21   #1967
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 488
Thanks man.
NLS is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 11:14   #1968
drwhy
Registered User
drwhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria / Kärnten
Posts: 51
thank you
drwhy is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 14:17   #1969
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 346
Well done ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 14:36   #1970
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,051
Doing some maintenance while I'm at it here today. FTP/Web will be right back
Turran is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 14:53   #1971
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 346
;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 15:35   #1972
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 730
Sure, maintenance is a good thing

This ftp server must be used really a lot from all eab members

Thanks again for your work
chip is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 15:40   #1973
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,051
Today's maintenance should be completed! Replaced firewall for one with dual 10Gbit NICs so I can actually use the speed I'm paying for.
That meant a new IP though, so just hang on until your DNS has replicated (or your ISPs DNS rather). Pinging grandis.nu [37.123.138.151]

Still waiting for the 10Gbit NIC card for the FTP server itself, so EAB is still locked to 1Gbit for now.

Edit: Aaand theres an update to the firewall.. running that as well.
Edit: Done

Also looking for a cheaper 10Gbit RJ-45 switch or two if someone has any great tips.

Last edited by Turran; 05 April 2018 at 16:28.
Turran is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 19:56   #1974
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 195
Thanks for supporting us with the server and your great support of it!
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 02:21   #1975
wobbly
Registered User
wobbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 105
great to see it'sback up
wobbly is offline  
Old 07 April 2018, 09:11   #1976
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 845
Is it possible to get my accounts password reset on grandis?
Locutus is online now  
Old 07 April 2018, 11:57   #1977
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,115
Sent me a PM with your desired new password and I'll reset for you
DamienD is online now  
Old 08 April 2018, 10:51   #1978
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,051
10GBit network card received so I'll be putting that in today. Expect a little downtime later on. I do not want to do it right now though as we have two uploaders going.

Edit: Can not wait anymore, sorry Tomse =) FTP down for a bit.

Edit: That was a complete disaster. Could not get the machine to even boot with the new network card. Restored everything as I do not have more time to troubleshoot.

Last edited by Turran; 08 April 2018 at 14:14.
Turran is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 10:22   #1979
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 488
So, what is the verdict?
NLS is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 13:20   #1980
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,051
The server can't handle the memory amount that's in it and another x8 PCI-E card (10GBit NIC). That is why the machine does not even post.

Everything is up as normal but I'm building a new server to host EAB FTP on. Need to wait until the next payday so I can buy some new stuff for it.
Turran is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
While EAB file server is down... Retroplay project.EAB File Server 23 31 December 2013 00:48
Setting up an EAB file server account. fatman2021 project.EAB 1 26 August 2013 08:24
Is EAB file server deleted ? Ribdevil project.EAB File Server 13 03 February 2012 19:28
EAB File Server structure update TCD project.EAB File Server 38 18 November 2010 06:49
EAB File Server team reinforcement TCD project.EAB File Server 9 22 August 2010 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14724 seconds with 16 queries