English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2019, 01:23   #21
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_zzap View Post
@Madk71
What kind do power supply do you use? Do your cf and sd adapters have power connectors or do they get their power from the ide cable and therefore from the 68k socket?
In other situations I had unreliable cfcards when powering them over the ide cable.
Hi captain_zzap, I got a fully refurbished PSU able of more than 180W with -5V and tick signal.

The power of the ide2CF and cdrom on the buddha comes from the PSU like the scsi2CF on the GVP. only the sd2ide use the power from the TF. all the system drain max 110W on 180W available.

Last edited by Madk71; 27 August 2019 at 01:39.
Madk71 is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 01:28   #22
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
There are buffered IDE-Splitters that could help. Matze on a1k once made one.

Also you might try CF2SD-adapters. SDs are buffered afair.
Hi McTrinsic, I already use an sd2ide that is more or less the same.
If you mean to use the splitter on the TF, I don think that the TF can manage a splitter being not able to handle just 1 ide device properly.

Last edited by Madk71; 27 August 2019 at 01:39.
Madk71 is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 01:38   #23
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Verilog can be powerful, yes, but also IDE is relatively simple, so there's really not a whole lot to implementing it like this. Most of the actual work is done by the main CPU and scsi.device - "all" the Verilog is doing is connecting the CPU to the IDE port at the right times and dealing with a couple of extra signals needed.

(I say "all", but as others have said, the really impressive bit is getting it all to play nicely with the Amiga's architecture.)
Hi Daedalus,
Interesting. So even a retouch on scsi.device can be a solution?
Or do you think that both needs a tune Fix?
A very complicated protocol like scsi works very well on this architecture, why a more simplified like ide can't? The buddha works just great without the TF, so it seems possible make it works in some way. This is what I don't understand.
I know too, that sometime Icomp create HW a little bit too sensible to the timing differences that can lead to problem like this. But I don't know what to think.
Madk71 is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 07:26   #24
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 469
No I mean something like this:

https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?threads/60543/
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 10:01   #25
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Hi McTrinsic, I never used this one but it seems to work like the Elbox one, (I am sure that Matze's buffered ide is better), but this one https://eu-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/4x...-interface/632 work good on my A1200 but doesn't work on the TF.
You also can read this https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=68&t=1839 . But I still don't understand why I need an eide splitter when the TF ide is the biggest problem. I opened this thread because I am not able to use the Buddha Ide card with the TF. I need to use the Buddha Ide because the ide on the TF is not reliable. Splitting an unreliable ide, it will give me 2 unreliable channel .

Last edited by Madk71; 27 August 2019 at 16:15.
Madk71 is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 18:40   #26
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 469
TF534 and Buddha ide

I don’t know if a splitter always gives you a buffered interface. The Elbox one seems to indeed act as a buffer .

The point is the opportunity that with such a device the onboard solution of the Tf could work.

Making the issue with the Buddha irrelevant.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 00:06   #27
GadgetUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Manchester
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madk71 View Post
Hi McTrinsic, I never used this one but it seems to work like the Elbox one, (I am sure that Matze's buffered ide is better), but this one https://eu-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/4x...-interface/632 work good on my A1200 but doesn't work on the TF.
You also can read this https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=68&t=1839 . But I still don't understand why I need an eide splitter when the TF ide is the biggest problem. I opened this thread because I am not able to use the Buddha Ide card with the TF. I need to use the Buddha Ide because the ide on the TF is not reliable. Splitting an unreliable ide, it will give me 2 unreliable channel .

Sorry to ask the obvious - but you have checked the MAXTRANSFER setting? Only reason I ask is because I've used loads of different CF cards with my 534 and every one is totally reliable.

Last edited by GadgetUK; 29 August 2019 at 17:08.
GadgetUK is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 09:06   #28
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
Sorry to ask the obvious - but you have checked the MAXTRANSFER setting? Only reason I ask is because I've used loads of different CF cards with my 534 and everyone one is totally reliable.
Hi GadgetUK, I am using the standard one from HDtoolbox of OS3.1.4.
Have you better results with a different setting? Can you suggest me which I can use?
With the standard settings I got a very good speed in reading, but when writings comes......slow like a tape.
Madk71 is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 10:17   #29
Madk71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Essex
Posts: 44
Hi, if someone is interested, I have done some more tests about TF534 and buddhaide.
My config is an A2000 6.2 recapped with all the fix done, KS3.1.4 and AmigaOS3.1.4,GVP impact II 8MB with ide2scsi adapter and CF 16GB, gotek, Indivision ecs v2, tf534 with sd2ide and SD 32GB.
Because the ide on the TF, in my case, seems not 100% reliable, I tried to put a buddha ide into that configuration, but doesn't matter the zorro slot used or if I attach a real IDE hdd or CD or a very well working (on my A1200 or aca500plus) CF, the Buddha behave in a strange way making itself useless. Of course I tested the Buddha without the TF534 and it works great, and all the ide cables, when used, are not more than 25 cm. Because some other people seems to have the buddha working and the only difference with my configuration is just that they have the KS3.1, I decided to buy one and test it. Unfortunately, whit the KS3.1, the buddha ide works but not completely. The best that I aceived is that I can use only one port with only one device attached. The CF card worked fine, the dom was able to boot, but I can't have a master slave config on even a single ide port or 2 devices (one on the primary and one on the secondary). If I put an HDD or CF on one ide port and the dom on the other ide port, They works. If I put on one port an HDD or cf or anything else and on the other (because swapping the position of the ide device nothing chage) port another device or eve just the ide cable (this is the weirdest part), the amiga doesn't boot or if it boot it can find any device. SO, with the 3.1, for some reasons beyond my understanding, the buddha works at 30%.
I like to know the experience of the other people about that.

Thanks
Madk71 is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 17:00   #30
GadgetUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Manchester
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madk71 View Post
Hi, if someone is interested, I have done some more tests about TF534 and buddhaide.
My config is an A2000 6.2 recapped with all the fix done, KS3.1.4 and AmigaOS3.1.4,GVP impact II 8MB with ide2scsi adapter and CF 16GB, gotek, Indivision ecs v2, tf534 with sd2ide and SD 32GB.
Because the ide on the TF, in my case, seems not 100% reliable, I tried to put a buddha ide into that configuration, but doesn't matter the zorro slot used or if I attach a real IDE hdd or CD or a very well working (on my A1200 or aca500plus) CF, the Buddha behave in a strange way making itself useless. Of course I tested the Buddha without the TF534 and it works great, and all the ide cables, when used, are not more than 25 cm. Because some other people seems to have the buddha working and the only difference with my configuration is just that they have the KS3.1, I decided to buy one and test it. Unfortunately, whit the KS3.1, the buddha ide works but not completely. The best that I aceived is that I can use only one port with only one device attached. The CF card worked fine, the dom was able to boot, but I can't have a master slave config on even a single ide port or 2 devices (one on the primary and one on the secondary). If I put an HDD or CF on one ide port and the dom on the other ide port, They works. If I put on one port an HDD or cf or anything else and on the other (because swapping the position of the ide device nothing chage) port another device or eve just the ide cable (this is the weirdest part), the amiga doesn't boot or if it boot it can find any device. SO, with the 3.1, for some reasons beyond my understanding, the buddha works at 30%.
I like to know the experience of the other people about that.

Thanks

You mentioned you've applied "all of the fixes" to your 6.2 board? NOTE: I've recently found that some of the boards for the A2000 don't like some of those mods that later boards had. For example, the instructions to remove one of the resistor arrays (near Gary) meant that the A2630 AND the A2091 would not work in my board, until I re-fitted that resistor array.


Next month I will get a BuddahIDE board and see how I get on with that. I can report that the A2091 causes my system to freeze on boot. If I remove the 534 it then starts scanning the SCSI chain properly.
GadgetUK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using the New Buddha IDE in their 2000? rcman support.Hardware 3 07 July 2019 10:24
Please help newbie with Buddha IDE rthorntn support.Hardware 4 30 October 2018 20:59
The Buddha IDE is back for 2018 rave News 29 20 July 2018 23:44
Buddha IDE Flash Marmes support.Hardware 2 27 June 2017 02:28
FS: Buddha IDE Conroller scrappysphinx MarketPlace 8 28 October 2009 13:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07128 seconds with 13 queries