English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2019, 10:38   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 485
Hiding DOS prompt

Hi all,

I've finally gotten my PCMCIA Wifi card working, but in all my muscking around with startup sequences and what not, I now have WB booting with a DOS window over the top.

I can shrink the DOS window and it's business as usual, but can someone tell me how to make WB hide all the DOS prompts, etc. on boot so I just boot to the desktop as usual?

Thanks to anyone who can help!
Marchie is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 10:41   #2
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Put "Run >NIL:" in front of the command...
kolla is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 10:48   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,271
make sure that there isn't any "system-configuration" file in "devs:". This usually pops up the DOS console. Well in 1.3 it does.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 10:50   #4
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
make sure that there isn't any "system-configuration" file in "devs:". This usually pops up the DOS console. Well in 1.3 it does.

That doesn't matter in 3.x.
I have DEVS:system-configuration in place just to set palette etc for those booting without startup-sequence moments...
kolla is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 11:07   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
make sure that there isn't any "system-configuration" file in "devs:". This usually pops up the DOS console. Well in 1.3 it does.
System-configuration has nothing to do with the initial CLI. (apart from the font size, 60 or 80 columns :-)

In 1.3 the initial CLI is always there after booting.

In 2.0 and onwards, the disks can be installed with a boot block that inhibits the initial CLI until something in startup-sequence writes some text to it.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 17:11   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
System-configuration has nothing to do with the initial CLI.
Yes, System-configuration can hide initial CLI if you use a Black background

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 April 2019 at 17:21.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 17:23   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Yes, System-configuration can hide initial CLI if you use a Black background
Heh, but in all seriousness, the 2.x silent boot mechanism never even opens the window if there is no output.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 17:57   #8
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Also make sure there is an "EndCLI >NIL:" at end of startup-sequence.
kolla is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 18:00   #9
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Probably something in the startup-sequence or user-startup still has a lock on the cli window. Without seeing those files it'll be hard to tell why the window's up.
ppill is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 19:16   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Also make sure there is an "EndCLI >NIL:" at end of startup-sequence.
I don't know if I understand you correctly, i understand you're talking about shell system boot, where it is shown Copyright etc..., this only happens with 1.x and 2.x. this only happens with 1.x and 2.x.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Heh, but in all seriousness, the 2.x silent boot mechanism never even opens the window if there is no output.
I'm sorry my answer was based what I've figured out.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 19:19   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I don't know if I understand you correctly, I understand you're talking about shell system boot, where it is shown Copyright etc..., this only happens with 1.x and 2.x. this only happens with 1.x and 2.x.

@Jope
I'm sorry. My answer was based on what I realized.
3.x will show an initial cli just as well, if something outputs to it.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 20:19   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
3.x will show an initial cli just as well, if something outputs to it.
Yes, With AmigaOS everything is possible, in the compilations of my children I enjoyed very much with that Shell

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 April 2019, 02:13   #13
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Put "Run >NIL:" in front of the command...
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Also make sure there is an "EndCLI >NIL:" at end of startup-sequence.
Ok, gonna try one of these commands and see how it goes...
Marchie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast Disk 2 prompt Carnivore support.Games 7 06 August 2018 05:18
Disabling / hiding partitions Turran support.Hardware 30 15 July 2015 21:58
Disable "Format this disk?" prompt in Win 7 Photon support.WinUAE 3 07 September 2013 04:10
PCMCIA fault: DOS error code 225 - Not a valid DOS disk 4am support.Hardware 2 07 April 2012 11:20
[Found: Spy Vs Spy] two player game, hiding traps in various objects in rooms tustuma Looking for a game name ? 2 14 December 2009 10:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07926 seconds with 13 queries