English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2018, 20:36   #1
WildW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cranbrook, UK
Posts: 36
Choosing an Amiga - advice please

Hi folks - looking for some info to help me choose which Amiga to buy. I've been without a real one for a while now, and although I have a reasonable emulation setup it's not the same as the real deal.


I started off on an A500 back in the day but eventually replaced it with an A1200 and did the WHDLoad thing. I think I would like one of these two options, but I'm torn. When I had the 1200 I did often come across compatibility issues with games, and I do like to explore obscure games and PD disks. It seems like the 1200 is great for anything converted to WHDLoad, but other things can be a pain. Can using Relokick type disks solve most of these issues if you know what you're doing? I spent an age unsuccessfully trying to play Microprose Soccer from a floppy before I eventually found a WHDLoad version.



The 500 appeals more for nostalgia and compatibility with older titles, but I know it's far less easy to upgrade one or get software onto the thing. Seems like a Gotek drive is probably the easiest path now, but I don't really want to hack an A500 case apart, or have one hanging out the edges. Compact Flash on the 1200 was so convenient in comparison. Stupid as it sounds I could consider using a Gotek as an external drive to copy onto real floppies. I know serial cables are a (slow) route too. Any other options?


The ECS machines seem like a half-way house that solve neither problem - not as fully compatible as an A500, not as capable as a 1200. Though maybe an A600 with a rom switcher? Just confused and overthinking things at the moment. Any helpful advice appreciated.
WildW is offline  
Old 27 October 2018, 20:45   #2
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 485
From a games perspective I would have to say a1200 with an accelerator myself...

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
crazyc is offline  
Old 27 October 2018, 23:03   #3
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,495
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
A1200
Predseda is online now  
Old 28 October 2018, 00:51   #4
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 513
A1200... there's no incompatibility issues now (from my knowledge) with WHDLoad games.

Amiga 500 with Aca 500 + (my machine) or vampire, or terrible fire is also a great option. You got extra ram, extra processor speed, and can use CF cards to store many games and apps.

But... if you have money... best bet is A1200 with some accelerator and CF card.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 01:13   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,810
Raspberry Pi with RetroPie and/or Amiberry.

This is kind of my thinking...

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

I still have sn Amiga 1200 just for nostalgic reasons, but RPi is only one hooked to tv. (and still using computer emulation as well)

No issues with compatibility.
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 08:20   #6
WildW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cranbrook, UK
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Raspberry Pi with RetroPie and/or Amiberry.

This is kind of my thinking...

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

I still have sn Amiga 1200 just for nostalgic reasons, but RPi is only one hooked to tv. (and still using computer emulation as well)

No issues with compatibility.

I know where you're coming from - it's what I keep telling myself, that emulation is in many ways better than the real thing. However, I do find there is more to it than that and emulation doesn't scratch the itch for "using old computers" for me.
WildW is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 09:26   #7
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
What I would like to know about real hardware here is: if I was to get hold of a super-accelerated A1200 with lots of memory, would I be able to run ANY demo, or would a lot of them be too fast or just plain glitchy?

I get this issue a lot in emulation, just wondering if the same is true of real hardware?
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 09:34   #8
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What I would like to know about real hardware here is: if I was to get hold of a super-accelerated A1200 with lots of memory, would I be able to run ANY demo, or would a lot of them be too fast or just plain glitchy?

I get this issue a lot in emulation, just wondering if the same is true of real hardware?
You get glitches running the ADF's or using WHDLoad ?

I find 99% if WHDLoad stuff works perfectly on my A1200.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 10:47   #9
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
You get glitches running the ADF's or using WHDLoad ?

I find 99% if WHDLoad stuff works perfectly on my A1200.
ADFs. The glitches in demo emulation are manifested by odd palette shimmering or parts where the visuals slow to a crawl and the sound is heavily stuttered - the latter is most common, I think it's because it's locked into cycle-exact. I find that by decreasing or increasing the hardware spec defined in each configuration, I can solve most issues.
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 12:05   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,376
If running demos from ADF that implies they're fairly old demos and may not run well, if at all, on something like an 060 accelerated Amiga (unless WHDLoad is used).

Demos for high end machines are generally distributed in lha/lzx format.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 28 October 2018, 12:11   #11
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
ADFs. The glitches in demo emulation are manifested by odd palette shimmering or parts where the visuals slow to a crawl and the sound is heavily stuttered - the latter is most common, I think it's because it's locked into cycle-exact. I find that by decreasing or increasing the hardware spec defined in each configuration, I can solve most issues.
You won’t have much luck running older demos on a real AGA machine without using WHDload patched versions.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 14:10   #12
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
You won’t have much luck running older demos on a real AGA machine without using WHDload patched versions.
Thank Toni for WinUAE, then!
Foebane is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 14:31   #13
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,376
No, thank Wepl and everyone else involved with WHDLoad. Even on an emulator, it's the most sensible solution.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 28 October 2018, 15:40   #14
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
No, thank Wepl and everyone else involved with WHDLoad. Even on an emulator, it's the most sensible solution.
I use WHDLoad for games, but not for demos. I don't want to discuss it here any further.

EDIT: Apologies if I went off-topic or killed this thread, that wasn't my intention.

Last edited by Foebane; 28 October 2018 at 19:10.
Foebane is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 10:14   #15
WildW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cranbrook, UK
Posts: 36
Yeah, so I bought an A1200 in the end. Seemed the right thing. If I have compatibility issues I'll have to learn how to make WHDLoad installs as that seems to be the cure-all.
WildW is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 10:17   #16
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildW View Post
Yeah, so I bought an A1200 in the end. Seemed the right thing. If I have compatibility issues I'll have to learn how to make WHDLoad installs as that seems to be the cure-all.
I always figured out that was the best single all-round Amiga to get, as it has everything, especially expandability.
Foebane is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 10:35   #17
Mrz
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: I
Posts: 338
if you want to explore obscure games and PD disks the A1200 is not ideal

lot of games will not work on a 020+, others games don't like the AGA chipset etc
The A500 is the best for this because relokick will not solve incompatibilities in tons of games
Mrz is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 11:01   #18
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Obviously the solution is to get both! That way you can drain your money twice as fast
bitter is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 11:34   #19
WildW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Cranbrook, UK
Posts: 36
I almost bid on a 500 as well yesterday, but managed to contain myself. They are cheaper at least, and easier to deal with once I have the 1200 to make moving software over easier. Main trouble with the A500 is they're so darned big I'm not sure it would fit on my desk.
WildW is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 13:49   #20
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildW View Post
I almost bid on a 500 as well yesterday, but managed to contain myself. They are cheaper at least, and easier to deal with once I have the 1200 to make moving software over easier. Main trouble with the A500 is they're so darned big I'm not sure it would fit on my desk.
I had a wooden computer desk for a birthday of mine in the 1980s, and my Atari 800XL fitted fine on it. But then I got an ST, and later on, an A500, and those last two were hanging off of the edge of the desk, they were so big!
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing the right Accelerator DonAmiga support.Hardware 36 02 May 2010 15:50
A1200 config choosing incompatible KS rom Rabbit80 support.WinUAE 4 08 August 2008 18:01
Help choosing a monitor / ff / sd combination NovaCoder support.Hardware 4 27 September 2007 03:29
Choosing filesystem HardStep support.Hardware 16 31 January 2006 19:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09221 seconds with 13 queries