English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2001, 17:12   #1
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Amiga screen mode on PAL TV

I have a rather annoying problem with my A1200.

Some games will when I try to run them off the harddisk go into some strange screenmode (I guess) which makes the display come out completely unreadable (dragged variously out to the right side of the screen, looked a little like my old 14" PC monitor when it tries for 800x600 which it can't).

Some games it does this in is Wings, Fury of the furries and Flashback. At times it works to simply reboot and restart the game. Other times rebooting and starting it from the CLI (Boot with no startup-sequence) will help. If none of those possibilities work changing the number of colors to 4 instead of 8 will usually work (Resolution is kept intact). The strange thing is that sometimes it will work directly through Workbench without any problems and other times it won't.

Can anyone give me an explanation on why it does this? And if possible how to fix the problem?

Thanks in advance
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 01 August 2001, 23:56   #2
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 45
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Try uninstall unused monitors from devs:Monitors directory
Chain is offline  
Old 02 August 2001, 00:34   #3
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Sorry. I'm really not well known in the use of Workbench. Would that just be deleting the files in there which belong to other monitors or should I do something special?
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 02 August 2001, 01:15   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
SDon't delete them (might be needed sometime), just move them to the MonitorStore (or similar name) directory. That way you wont load'em up.

anyway it really is a strange problem, I have no clue what's going on in there.
Akira is offline  
Old 02 August 2001, 02:07   #5
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I don't have a clue either. Well thanks for the warning Akira. I guess they're safe on my WB disks though but it doesn't hurt to be cautious.

I wanted to try out to see if the Amiga did it this time and if moving them would help. Of course like so many other computer related problems I couldn't get the problem to arise this time even though I've done exactly the same thing every time to try and start Flashback. I'd just like to know if it helped or not but can't tell when the problem won't happen.

Oh well I'm moving the files now and then I'll see if the problem pops up again at some point.
Drake1009 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga CD32 qustion: autoboot NTSC console in pal mode hutton80 Amiga scene 2 10 November 2010 20:55
PAL-Mode without scaling Ratte request.UAE Wishlist 8 24 October 2008 11:06
If I have WinUAE running on a 50 or 100Hz screen in PAL mode (50 fps), [more] fmcpma support.WinUAE 3 27 August 2006 12:17
PAL Mode softkick JimC support.Hardware 4 12 July 2006 03:30
Visage in PAL mode... Ranthalion75 project.ClassicWB 2 03 June 2005 03:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08668 seconds with 13 queries