English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2010, 00:05   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
PRotracker with MIDI clock capabilities?

Which version of Protracker can sync to an external MIDI clock???
I been pulling my hair trying to find one.
Is there such thing?
Startrekker doesn't allow this.
Noisetracker locks up in my A600.
PT2.3d accepts external note input and start/stop messages, but not sync (= useless)

Please help!

(The first one recommending to use OctaMED gets a kick in the balls)
Akira is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 00:49   #2
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,300
I Think OctaMED will offer you better MIDI support than Protracker
Frog is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 00:51   #3
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 395
For some reason OctaMED is disliked by a few.
twiggy is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 00:51   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog View Post
I Think OctaMED will offer you better MIDI support than Protracker

/me FURIOUSLY KICKS FROG IN THE BALLS.


Did you read my original post?



Why do I *always* have to explain why OctaMED sucks for me?
It's simple: the interface is HORRIBLE and useless.
Can we move on?
Akira is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 01:05   #5
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,300
@Akira : It looks like my brain chose to omit the concerning octamed sentence.
I would not say much furthermore except that all this is a question of taste especially if MIDI support is correct.
Frog is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 02:26   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It goes beyond 'taste', a software's user interface impacts highly on its usability and resulting productivity!!
Akira is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 23:16   #7
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
except for the fact OctaMED and Protracker are incredibly similar


maybe it's time you gave it another try? Since it will give you the MIDI functions you crave.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 23:27   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Which version of Protracker can sync to an external MIDI clock???
Are you sure there is one? Haven't checked them all, but I don't think that there was one with sync support.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 23:31   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,276
I used to do a lot of techno tracks with OctaMED. I evolved from ProTracker. You get used to it after a while.
Well, that's much better than Bar n Pipes!!!!

On the PC there's ModPlugTracker which read mod files and has midi support.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 04:28   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
except for the fact OctaMED and Protracker are incredibly similar
maybe it's time you gave it another try? Since it will give you the MIDI functions you crave.
They are totally different, I AM trying it

TCD:no, I am NOT sure there is one.
Can any of the coding whizzes hack into 2.3d and add this for me? The sources are available. I'll pay you to do this! It can't be that hard to receive the pulses from the external MIDI source instead of VBL or CIA... it's just ticks.
Akira is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 11:46   #11
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,379
Yes, I also tried OCSS but never got into it. Similar are PT and DBP.
daxb is online now  
Old 14 June 2010, 19:06   #12
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
This timing info would also need to be stored in the module and made use of by the replay routine, or the whole feature would be for the user's own amusement only. It takes a lot more work and effort to get into the sources and extend the program than one would think.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 23:17   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
This timing info would also need to be stored in the module and made use of by the replay routine
No, that's totally unnecessary.
MODs don't have this info and Octamed plays them just fine IN SYNC WITH EXTERNAL CLOCK.

If you have an external MIDI clock, it follows those ticks, if you don't, it follows VBL or CIA, whatever you are using.

IT DOES NOT NEED TO BE ADDED TO THE .MOD FORMAT AT ALL.
Any MOD will work. Even the SPEED command makes shuffles in time signature while using external sync.

Just try OctaMED with ANY MOD.


Seriously, I'd like this modified, I'll pay.
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=13359 <includes sourcecode in archive.

Could be done on 1.3 if that helps.
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=13414
Akira is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 23:31   #14
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
good luck getting people to do the work for you when you keep typing in caps at people who could actually do it for you
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 23:34   #15
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
I don't know much about MIDI but I always thought that the song speed could be changed as it played along, and if this was the case then you would need to record these changes in speed unless you want to have the MIDI signal source present every time you want to listen to the song. Anyway, if you know the exact BPM why can't you set it directly in the tracker?

I checked the PT 2.0 sources and they are 344 kB in size and barely commented. I hope you find someone who wants to dig into that, but I wouldn't hold my breath
Leffmann is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 00:02   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Hungry Horace, what you say is pointless and trolling. I am just remarking text. Because this is obvious to me as a musician but not to a coder. Why would any coder know any of this crazy music shit?

Leffman!:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
if this was the case then you would need to record these changes in speed unless you want to have the MIDI signal source present every time you want to listen to the song.
Kind of: EXACTLY!
When you sync to an external source you must have it present. When you don't, the software syncs to itself, whatever you have set in its preferences, in this case, the BPM setting in the Protracker setup screen. When you choose external sync, the tracker will sit there waiting for the clock data to come through the serial port instead of generating it itself out of VBL or CIA ticks.

Quote:
Anyway, if you know the exact BPM why can't you set it directly in the tracker?
Because this is not precise. The BPM timing derived from VBL or CIA is not the same as the clock generated by another source. They will runout of sync. On every cycle I assume some ticks are lost, and while if you hear one source alone it will compensate for itself, when you play more than one, you will notice they drift away from each other slightly and at varying speeds. I wouldn't need MIDI sync if two machines would keep the same clock all the time. This happens among instruments too.

Quote:
I checked the PT 2.0 sources and they are 344 kB in size and barely commented. I hope you find someone who wants to dig into that, but I wouldn't hold my breath
That fucking sucks. I really wish I could code ASM. It's a shame it's not commented too.
Maybe Mr. BUZZ would want to do this?
Paging Buzz... XD
Akira is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 00:17   #17
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Buzz has no free time, and has hardly used any of his Amigas in months Sorry. My current hobby project involves a microsoft platform too!
BuZz is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 01:06   #18
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Hungry Horace, what you say is pointless and trolling. I am just remarking text. Because this is obvious to me as a musician but not to a coder. Why would any coder know any of this crazy music shit?
it's not trolling, just some friendly advice - your response to Leffman (someone who has previously helped with coding on music additions to BlitzBasic) did not warrant the need for UNNECCESARY AND PATRONISING CAPS.

It is to be a musician *and* a coder you know- I have a BA in Music Tech and it's not unknown for me to dabble in some Asm myself.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 15 June 2010, 02:45   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Caps are not patronizing, I was explaining something that certainly Leffman did not know about. After all, why would he, he is NOT into MIDI music making, as he clearly said.

Now please go troll someone else
People on the internet man, making such a fuzz about caps lock letters.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple IIGS Sound Capabilities Castelian Retrogaming General Discussion 11 12 October 2011 17:08
wanted: midi interface for A500 (midi out) lost_lemming MarketPlace 1 19 February 2010 15:24
Online multiplayer capabilities within UAE Freddo request.UAE Wishlist 3 28 January 2007 16:39
ICD adIDE 2 Capabilities Runey support.Hardware 2 22 April 2005 06:27
Improved screenshot capabilities Jim request.UAE Wishlist 9 21 December 2004 05:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09542 seconds with 13 queries