English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2009, 21:34   #1
Kowalski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 26
(CD32)Some questions...

...for those more in the knowledge than me.

I am in the process of finding a good CD32.

I heard here and there of some dodgy units bought on ebay (mainly audio issues)

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...65850e3e81725e this page here on Amiga kit says "bare unit".

Is it a new mainboard for the CD32? I found no other description of the product.

Also: can someone give me advice on the NTSC units sold from China?
What problems would a NTSC unit give?

Thanks, best regards,

Andre
Kowalski is offline  
Old 27 September 2009, 22:45   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,823
A bare unit is a unit without accessories, but fully cased and working.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 01:41   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kowalski View Post
Also: can someone give me advice on the NTSC units sold from China?
The units are originally from the Philippines, however in 1993 Commodore Inc. were prevented from importing goods into the US due to patent infringement. After declaring bankruptcy the units went "missing" for over 15 years before appearing slowly on eBay in 2007

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kowalski View Post
What problems would a NTSC unit give?
Apart from the 110v PSU's there is a possibility of incompatibility with PAL games. Practically no-one knows for sure as they never went on sale in the US and so are very rare.

Last edited by alexh; 28 September 2009 at 01:46.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 05:02   #4
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
I just ordered and received a PAL CD32 from Amigakit last week but cannot use it as I do not have a PSU or controllers yet. I have an NTSC unit coming in off of ebay soon, with controllers and the power supply and will be doing some testing to see what works and what doesn't and in what modes. I have a Multisystem TV (PAL/NTSC) so it should be interesting to see how well everything works.

I will post what I find somewhere here on EAB, probably in the hardware section when I get some results.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 12:35   #5
Kowalski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
A bare unit is a unit without accessories, but fully cased and working.
Thanks everybody for the replies,

Amigakit CD32s are reconditioned units? new ones? Original CD32 casing?

I think I can part with my hard-earned...

thanks and sorry for the involuntary advertising,

Andre
Kowalski is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 13:27   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kowalski View Post
Amigakit CD32s are reconditioned units? new ones?
It says in the product description that they are NOT new, they are refurbished.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kowalski View Post
Original CD32 casing?
Not sure what you mean. They are not just the motherboard, they are the entire CD32 unit. They do NOT come with the original CD32 cardboard box if that is what you mean?
alexh is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 14:12   #7
Kowalski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
NOT new, they are refurbished.


Not sure what you mean. They are not just the motherboard, they are the entire CD32 unit. They do NOT come with the original CD32 cardboard box if that is what you mean?
Thanks for the reply,

I was meaning the plastic casing.For some reason I thought it wasn't the same as the original.

I guess I'm sold then...

Andre
Kowalski is offline  
Old 08 October 2009, 20:29   #8
Kowalski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 26
I searched for info about the Indivision AGA CD32 board.

Can anyone recommend this item to connect the CD32 to a l-a-r-g-e LCD Tv?

Will Svideo output be too "fuzzy"?

thanks,

Andre
Kowalski is offline  
Old 09 October 2009, 00:06   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,729
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kowalski View Post
I searched for info about the Indivision AGA CD32 board.

Can anyone recommend this item to connect the CD32 to a l-a-r-g-e LCD Tv?

Will Svideo output be too "fuzzy"?

thanks,

Andre
No, the screen will be crystal clear and will display fine on larger tv's.

There should be some pics of it running on amigakit.com, I spent an afternoon testing how good the quality was and how easy it was to install.
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=864
Pics show it installed, thought there were pics of it running.

Im tempted to get 1 for my CD32.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 October 2009, 12:10   #10
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
No, the screen will be crystal clear and will display fine on larger tv's.

There should be some pics of it running on amigakit.com, I spent an afternoon testing how good the quality was and how easy it was to install.
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=864
Pics show it installed, thought there were pics of it running.

Im tempted to get 1 for my CD32.
I was hoping that'd be the case with the indivison on the 32. Will be treating meself to one too!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 11 November 2009, 19:33   #11
Lakes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cumbria, England
Posts: 33
Is there a circuit diagram for the Cd32 joypad?, I have a CD32JOY.pic here that none of my PC software will read....

I`m hoping its just a set a switches without any chips involved.

EDIT: never mind, its an IFF file and the circuit uses a 74LS165, which means I`m going to either buy a compatible joypad or make the circuit myself...

Last edited by Lakes; 11 November 2009 at 19:50.
Lakes is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 and Sx-1 questions amiman99 support.Hardware 13 23 January 2011 13:15
speedball 2 CD32 and other CD32 questions d8thstar support.WinUAE 15 08 June 2010 02:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 17:27
Amiga CD32 questions BobbyBobBob New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 11 September 2009 08:18
CD32 questions Shatterhand Retrogaming General Discussion 21 27 February 2003 22:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09279 seconds with 13 queries