English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad > project.Killergorilla's WHD packs

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2007, 19:29   #1
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,778
FIXED: Venus The Fly Trap (TRAP #0) & NOVBRMOVE INFO

Venus: The Flytrap, SPS #1985

You got the Exception "TRAP #0" at the start? No problems here, it runs flawless into level 1.

Last edited by killergorilla; 08 August 2007 at 17:21.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 May 2007, 21:19   #2
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Venus: The Flytrap, SPS #1985

You got the Exception "TRAP #0" at the start? No problems here, it runs flawless into level 1.
Check your tooltypes, you have NOVBRMOVE set

Last edited by killergorilla; 08 August 2007 at 17:26.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 May 2007, 21:23   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Check your tooltypes, you have NOVBRMOVE set
Upps, yes. So no bug, but only F10 works as quit.

I would change the report for games with a default NOVBRMOVE setting. The Slave programmer designed it this way, it is no error. Maybe you find a better description.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 10 May 2007 at 21:29.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 May 2007, 21:37   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Well unfortunately NOVBRMOVE removes the option to set your own quit key, so I'll leave them in the list for reference.

If the slave authors don't choose to update it then I'm happy, if they do, I'm happier
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 May 2007, 22:03   #5
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,160
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Well unfortunately NOVBRMOVE removes the option to set your own quit key, so I'll leave them in the list for reference.
Can we just clear this up! NoVBRMove has nothing at all to do with quit keys, you can specify a different quitkey in the slave and still use NoVBRMove!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 10 May 2007, 22:08   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper
Can we just clear this up! NoVBRMove has nothing at all to do with quit keys, you can specify a different quitkey in the slave and still use NoVBRMove!
For all games? I've tried:

Quote:
Quitkey=$5d
for Venus The Flytrap. But only the default key F10 works, with NoVBRMove activated.

Wepl wrote this in the WHDLoad docs:
Quote:
QuitKey/K/N

Sets the rawkey code to quit the program, this works only if the VBR is moved by WHDLoad

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 10 May 2007 at 22:23.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 02:11   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper
Can we just clear this up! NoVBRMove has nothing at all to do with quit keys, you can specify a different quitkey in the slave and still use NoVBRMove!
Yes it does. (or at least the authors haven't been as thorough as you)

Take a look at Desert Strike.

Run it without NOVBRMOVE, I can quit with my usual quitkey.

Run it with NOVBRMOVE, I can only quit with F5
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 12:27   #8
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Yes it does. (or at least the authors haven't been as thorough as you)

Take a look at Desert Strike.

Run it without NOVBRMOVE, I can quit with my usual quitkey.

Run it with NOVBRMOVE, I can only quit with F5
Bingo! Sloppy installs! If you manually check for the quit key in the slave (like 99% of mine do) then it will always quit, even if the key is changed or the VBR hasn't been moved.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 11 May 2007, 13:04   #9
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Yeah I remember you mentioning it in another thread, so figured that might be the case

Is this related to the fact that some games won't quit on 68000?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 14 May 2007, 12:53   #10
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper
Can we just clear this up! NoVBRMove has nothing at all to do with quit keys, you can specify a different quitkey in the slave and still use NoVBRMove!
There are two ways to quit. First the Slave itself checks and tells WHDLoad to quit and second WHDLoad itself will independently from the Slave quit.

For the first the Slave will check the keyboard or other stuff in the game and quit as requested. The key to quit maybe hardcoded or it may use the QuitKey provided by WHDLoad. This works also on 68000 and also if NOVBRMOVE is set.

The second works only if there is at least a 68010 and NOVBRMOVE is not set. WHDLoad will hangin all interrupts. It will see the ints before the installed program and check on each interrupt if the QuitKey (DebugKey,FreezeKey,...) is pressed.
So usual WHDLoad will quit because it is the first.

You can check if the games uses hardcoded quitkey by setting a different quitkey and checking if it still quits by key written in the docs.

There should be nearly no installs left with hardcoded quitkey.
But there are several (maybe many) installs without built in quit, these installs can only quit via WHDLoad.
Wepl is offline  
Old 02 November 2007, 00:42   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,956
Changed status to FIXED as JOTD has updated the install.

Will be included in the next pack.
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash Garrett & Death Trap alkis21 Games images which need to be WHDified 7 24 February 2013 20:01
Venus The Fly Trap Problem Taff64 project.WHDLoad 5 16 December 2011 00:59
Treasure Trap, Ghosts & Goblins tomcat666 project.WHDLoad 0 13 August 2010 09:56
Death Trap & Idea Games fc.studio Games images which need to be WHDified 63 14 February 2009 01:58
ANy news on Treasure Trap / Death Trap tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 2 26 March 2002 08:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07433 seconds with 13 queries