English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2019, 21:40   #121
octavius
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 7
So, I decided for BL912. I have it three days now. Can anyone summarize best settings for BL912 and WB3.1. THX
octavius is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 18:37   #122
pedranic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Hello, it is possible to get today a unit of BL912? I am searching on the web but it is impossible to get one ....

Thanks!
pedranic is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 10:16   #123
octavius
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 7
Guys, probably I bought last piece of BL912 in Slovak Republic... there are any
octavius is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 21:46   #124
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,494
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Congratz.
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 September 2019, 23:15   #125
Clark Kent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 92
I‘m using the BL912 on a Commodore Amiga 1200 since today but have a lot of vertical stripes in every 31 kHz mode, can‘t get rid of them with adjusting pixelclock and phase. On every 15 kHz mode pixelclock 94 and phase 30 produces a perfect picture without stripes.

I tried a second Amiga 1200 (the later Escom model) - and this one has also a perfect picture in 31 kHz modes. Could it be possible that the two Amigas have such different video signals output?

Or could it be related to the caps replacements on the Commodore Amiga 1200 done by a professional?
Clark Kent is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 00:19   #126
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 550
As far as I remember some A1200 suffer from this issue. Connecting clock signal to ground thru certain resistor could help. You can easily modify your vga adapter to provide this.
amigoun is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 14:28   #127
Clark Kent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 92
Can you be more specific? I'm no technician...
Clark Kent is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 15:12   #128
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 550
Like I said, on some A1200's clock signal interferes with the RGB lines causing the stripes. It should help if you connect it to ground by a resistor. At least good to try.
amigoun is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 16:48   #129
Clark Kent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 92
Which pin must be connected with which other pin? Which resistor?

But why does this happen to 31 kHz modes only? No such vertical lines in all 15 kHz modes (at least none that couldn't be corrected with adjusting pixel clock and phase)
Clark Kent is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 20:46   #130
Clark Kent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 92
I found a nice adapter development here and will get one. Maybe this solves the problem, I'll report here again as soon as I have it.

https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?...3#post-1259644
Clark Kent is offline  
Old 03 October 2019, 00:28   #131
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 181
LEFT: Indivision mk2cr. 31Khz 60Hz VGA
RIGHT: VGA Adapter. 15Khz 50Hz PAL

[ Show youtube player ]
Estrayk is offline  
Old 03 October 2019, 16:29   #132
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
LEFT: Indivision mk2cr. 31Khz 60Hz VGA
RIGHT: VGA Adapter. 15Khz 50Hz PAL

[ Show youtube player ]
Can you please explain what you are trying to show in this video? That one is better than the other? That they are the same?

All I can really see is that the bigger monitor on the left (presumably the BL912) has a cropped picture because it does not all fit and the 702 on the right has a black border around.
MartinW is offline  
Old 04 October 2019, 00:49   #133
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinW View Post
Can you please explain what you are trying to show in this video? That one is better than the other? That they are the same?

All I can really see is that the bigger monitor on the left (presumably the BL912) has a cropped picture because it does not all fit and the 702 on the right has a black border around.
just show someone interested in buying a benq BL912 that when you connect it directly to the RGB output, the image quality is very good, as well as the color tones are practically the same as if we connect it through a DVI / HDMI output.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 10 October 2019, 10:15   #134
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
I just got a BL702A


its ok, but im not blown away by it.
if my 14inch trinitron wasnt having some display issues i would have stuck with that.


cant get 640x256 to fill the screen.
640x512 has horrible flicker.
dblpal again doesnt fill the screen. infact theres a 2inch gap around all edges.


quite a bit of smearing on anything that scrolls (games, demos etc)
5ms panel is the culprit i guess.



one good thing about 640x256 is that games dont need to switch modes to play, so settings remain the same and no 1280x1024 message popup.


also, like other benq monitors ive had in the past. resolution switching takes longer than other brands.
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 10 October 2019, 11:03   #135
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Why would 640x256 fill the screen? Use overscan if that's what you want.
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 October 2019, 13:35   #136
dodke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: London / UK
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
...
one good thing about 640x256 is that games dont need to switch modes to play, so settings remain the same and no 1280x1024 message popup.
You can turn off the resolution notification in the service menu:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUELiGHT View Post
Keep the menu button pressed while powering the monitor on, then press menu again and you should be into the service menu
If you use PAL hires in WB I'd suggest maybe just increasing overscan to make it bigger.

If you don't mind resolution switching the one higher frequency mode that seems to work fine on mine is euro72. It's 640x400 and absolutely no vertical line artifacts.
dodke is offline  
Old 10 October 2019, 20:10   #137
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodke View Post
You can turn off the resolution notification in the service menu:


If you use PAL hires in WB I'd suggest maybe just increasing overscan to make it bigger.



i will try that service menu thing.


tbh i dont really understand how overscan works.
i did use the overscan program in workbench to move the boxes to the edges etc, but it didnt seem to do anything to the picture.


what am i missing?
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 00:27   #138
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Do it again, both for text and graphics.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 00:58   #139
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsmoke View Post
I just got a BL702A
...quite a bit of smearing on anything that scrolls (games, demos etc)
5ms panel is the culprit i guess.

You need to tweak pixel clock and phase for good picture. If you do not do it scrolling is not nice.
amigoun is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 13:56   #140
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigoun View Post
You need to tweak pixel clock and phase for good picture. If you do not do it scrolling is not nice.

ive already done that and the picture is perfect with no artefacts etc
until it moves smoothly and theres slight smearing so text isnt as readable as my old crt. 3d vector demos are ok though.



what are your settings to get smooth scrolling? (i know each panel is different, but ball park figures are ok as a starting point)

Last edited by liquidsmoke; 11 October 2019 at 14:58.
liquidsmoke is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 X Aver v193W LCD monitors VGA Monitors kurtisebear MarketPlace 0 08 November 2013 13:48
Benq 2420hd works with Amiga without a scandoubler! Faerytale support.Hardware 21 05 November 2009 03:43
2 X Amiga monitors ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 3 03 May 2007 01:49
FS: 2 Amiga monitors lopos2000 MarketPlace 0 06 March 2007 14:03
Amiga Monitors NytroX86 Retrogaming General Discussion 6 01 December 2002 04:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09561 seconds with 16 queries