English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2019, 10:13   #721
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
The master should go on the end, but with PIO0 IDE it often doesn't matter.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 10:47   #722
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 214
what does PIO0 mean?
ItsTheSmell is online now  
Old 16 August 2019, 13:32   #723
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
Polled IO, level 0. The slowest IDE protocol.

https://www.phildev.net/ata-modes.html
Jope is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 20:39   #724
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 214
So to cap, the middle connector goes to the main board, the master goes to the end, the cf card s at the opposing end and set to slave?
ItsTheSmell is online now  
Old 16 August 2019, 20:51   #725
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
Mmm no, if you want to be proper, the end with the longest length to the middle connector goes to the motherboard, middle = slave, end with shortest length to middle = master.

But as said, you can probably get away with it in an Amiga even if you do not adhere to the standard.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 20:59   #726
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 214
It seems like the cf reader has the cable fitted permanently, I tried removing it but thought I'd break it. I'm not even sure it's possible with pin 1 needing to be where it is.
ItsTheSmell is online now  
Old 10 September 2019, 13:24   #727
arkpandora
Registered User

arkpandora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Namur / Belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Hello!

I would like to buy an IDE to CF adapter in order to replace a hard drive in an A600, but as I have no experience of the A600's inside, this question occurs to me: should I buy an adapter card that plugs directly onto the IDE port without a ribbon cable, like this one

https://sordan.ie/product/340/angle-...t-flash-amiga/

or should I buy an adapter that connects to the IDE port through a ribbon cable like this one

https://sordan.ie/product/571/ide-cf...-600-1200-hdd/ ?

In particular, is there enough space in the A600 for the first one, and should the underside of the second one be isolated so that it won't interefere with the other components it rests on?

Thank you for any help!
arkpandora is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 14:57   #728
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,404
If you plan on installing anything on the CPU socket of the A600 (accelerator, mem expansion), it's best to get an adapter that plugs to a ribbon cable.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 17:38   #729
arkpandora
Registered User

arkpandora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Namur / Belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Thank you! I hadn't thought about it.
arkpandora is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 PCMCIA tomcat666 support.Hardware 355 14 September 2019 00:56
Compact Flash+CDROM on A4000 IDE? stefcep2 support.Hardware 13 21 March 2010 22:16
Bootable IDE to CF Compact Flash Card 40 Pin Adapter Kitty support.Hardware 14 23 October 2009 00:52
compact flash to ide - is this right? AliasXZ support.Hardware 33 12 March 2008 11:34
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 07:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09777 seconds with 16 queries