English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2015, 16:19   #21
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 43
Rom.key

I am making progress. Can you tell me what I have done wrong here? It usually works but then I am familiar with WB 2.0+ so this may need something different?

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amiga 500 (Commodore-Amiga & Cloanto, 1987, Amiga)_1_raw.png
Views:	349
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	44186  
Stuart is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 16:43   #22
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,867
Entering a directory name to implicitely change the current directory only works on WB 2.0+. On 1.3 you have to explicitely enter cd df1:
thomas is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 19:14   #23
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 43
Thank you Thomas
Stuart is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 19:45   #24
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 43
Ok, I have been successful in copying the KS 1.3 rom from Grabkick and getting it over to my real A600. I noticed that this is only 256KB in size where the encrypted one was 512KB. I proceeded by trying to run WHDload by using an older game from the KS1.3 era. I now have a problem. It says invalid rom image. I will try and get a screenshot and post that.

Any ideas?
Stuart is offline  
Old 17 May 2015, 11:13   #25
midimax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
I noticed that this is only 256KB in size where the encrypted one was 512KB.
Strange, encrypted amiga-os-130.rom from Amiga Forever (Plus Edition) is 257KB (262.155 Bytes) in size the unencrypted 256 KB (262.144 Bytes)

PS Looks like the Value Edition rom is really different:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=805959&postcount=3
But the KS 1.3 rom from Grabkick should work, 256KB is correct.

Last edited by midimax; 17 May 2015 at 20:42. Reason: Additional info
midimax is offline  
Old 17 May 2015, 21:01   #26
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 43
Danke midimax. I am finding that some games work fiine on my A600 with WHDLoad. The ones which are not are the ones that require os1.3 rom. I am also getting some games that say Cant allocate Expmem. I am not sure what that means.
Stuart is offline  
Old 18 May 2015, 22:21   #27
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 40
Posts: 646
OMG I can't take it any longer.
Did you ever hack "kick 1.3 rom download" into google? For me it's just the first hit.
I mean if you own the rom anyway, why bothering with grabkick at all.
I know. I did the same thing with my 1200 rom back in the day. Just for fun.
But isn't it so much more convenient to simply download it?
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 21 May 2015, 21:58   #28
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 43
I have an Amiga A600 so I don't own a real Amiga with 1.3 image. By buying Amiga forever I was under the impression that I would be buying a 1.3 rom. With this I could then use to play some of the older games that would not work under KS 2.05+ (As in my real A600)
Stuart is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 18:37   #29
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 143
I've written a Python script that will decrypt the ROMs (assuming you have an encrypted ROM and the key) if anyone's interested - it's not terribly complex (the 'encryption' is merely an XOR of the ROM with the text in rom.key with an 11-byte header added).

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 28 July 2015, 01:00   #30
koltz
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhester72 View Post
I've written a Python script that will decrypt the ROMs (assuming you have an encrypted ROM and the key) if anyone's interested - it's not terribly complex (the 'encryption' is merely an XOR of the ROM with the text in rom.key with an 11-byte header added).

Rodney
Yes! I purchased the 2012 version of Amiga Forever and I have been trying to burn a ROM of Kickstart 3.1 for my Amiga 2000 and of course, I haven't been able to.
 
Old 08 December 2015, 20:37   #31
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: McChord AFB, KS
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by koltz View Post
Yes! I purchased the 2012 version of Amiga Forever and I have been trying to burn a ROM of Kickstart 3.1 for my Amiga 2000 and of course, I haven't been able to.
OK - if you have the purchased version of Amiga Forever you can get the 1.3 rom at anytime WITHOUT grabkick or whatever that silly program is called.

Select the 1.3 version of the System in Amiga Forever and right click - press edit. Go to the Media tab and add a Directory Hard Drive. Configure this hard drive to C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\Shared\amiga_utilities. Un-Tick "use defaults" and name the volume TEMP

Press OK. Press OK

Run the emulation.

Run the CLI

CD to TEMP:

From the CLI run the program utility transrom:

.. Transrom > kick13.rom

you now have the kick13.rom that is not encrypted and you can use on other systems like FS-UAE etc.. And it's in a directory that you can access whenever you need to from other programs.

Regards,

Saghalie
Saghalie is offline  
Old 14 May 2016, 16:45   #32
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 48
Posts: 1,079
If you have Amiga Forever you should be able to download and install AmigaSYS,in that you will find the kickstarts with the rom.key.
spannernick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad: rom.key required? Really??? B14ck W01f support.WinUAE 8 01 September 2014 01:33
WinUAE rom.key problem manic23 support.WinUAE 3 09 July 2012 10:59
rom.key? DamienD support.WinUAE 4 09 August 2005 14:25
kick.rom & rom.key Mazik New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 27 March 2004 14:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07858 seconds with 16 queries