English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2018, 00:43   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
XMP Memory Profile

This one has me baffled but it could be due to the new BETA BIOS I have installed onto my current X99 chipset motherboard.

Using the ASUS X99 Sabretooth with quad channel DDR4 modules installed.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_X99/

These were a matched set of 32GB, 2400 speed memory but for some reason the motherboard is only clocking them at 2166.

I then rebooted and went into the BIOS settings and selected XMP-2400 but they are still showing at 2166.

I could of sworn before the BIOS update they were all running at 2400.

Any tips or ideas on this one ?

Could be I have to hunt for multiple settings for this to occur or go into some kind of OC mode ?
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2018, 18:28   #2
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,089
xmp is just an extension of spd which reads a chip on the memory and sets speeds accordingly.

what does CPU-Z say about the memory on the SPD tab?

I am guessing it will tell you it is 2400 speed somewhere, and it's just the beta bios you are using.

I would see what the memory speeds actually are, then put the old bios back on and check again, I guess it would be the same if it's a simple reporting error on the bios.
Ian is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 23:54   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
xmp is just an extension of spd which reads a chip on the memory and sets speeds accordingly.

what does CPU-Z say about the memory on the SPD tab?

I am guessing it will tell you it is 2400 speed somewhere, and it's just the beta bios you are using.

I would see what the memory speeds actually are, then put the old bios back on and check again, I guess it would be the same if it's a simple reporting error on the bios.
CPUz does show it being XMP-2400 and so are the specs of the memory.

It is a Corsair Vengence kit, Quad-Channel so they are matched.

The issue is that the BETA bios has some of the stupid ass Meltdown and Spectre fixes so I don't want to go back.

I'm thinking that there is an option other than AUTO in order to enable the XMP profiles.

I just have to dig around and see if I can find it.

EDIT: I found another setting that showed XMP disabled in the BIOS, changed it to enabled and saved, but CPUz still shows the memory running at 2133 for some reason.

I don't appear to be seeing any slowdowns but things that take advantage of faster memory will be affected, just not many game I take it.

Last edited by jmmijo; 18 May 2018 at 00:51.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 July 2018, 19:59   #4
gururise
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 60
So is XMP better than SPD?

Should one always use XMP in the bios over SPD?
gururise is offline  
Old 06 July 2018, 20:11   #5
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,089
Most memory these days only runs at the advertised speed when you use xmp.

As it's an Intel tech though I'm not sure it's fully support for AMD. I've not had an AMD CPU since the athlon X2 swansong.
Ian is offline  
Old 06 July 2018, 22:24   #6
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,718
It's BETA for a reason Flash the old BIOS back just to check!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 18:41   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
It's BETA for a reason Flash the old BIOS back just to check!!
I could but then I would not have the added fixes for both Meltdown and Spectre.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 14:41   #8
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
I could but then I would not have the added fixes for both Meltdown and Spectre.
Seriously, when you start reading of these flaws actually being exploited then patch, until then ignore! My Haswell system has no BIOS to 'fix' these flaws, so that tells me just how 'serious' they are taking these flaws if they are not even providing fixes for all affected CPU's! But, if there was a BIOS to patch the flaws, I wouldn't use it anyway until there was a known and documented attack vector discovered that actively used them and posed a serious enough threat to warrant it's use!

Even the current 'fixes' don't fix everything as you may have to upgrade your hardware with new silicon that's fixed the issues, so you will still be vulnerable regardless!
BarryB is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 14:53   #9
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,089
I thought ms released patches for this anyway a couple of weeks after. There was an uproar as CPU died was affected
Ian is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 15:35   #10
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,718
There are some vulnerabilities that need new silicon to fix (Spectre) and some of the fixes may cause slight performance hits.
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 01:17   #11
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
Thanks for the replies peeps, I guess it makes sense to try reverting back to the release BIOS and test again.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 23:37   #12
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,718
Yes, just to check, then flash BETA back if you need those fixes!
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 01:37   #13
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Yes, just to check, then flash BETA back if you need those fixes!
Got it and thanks
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: 128mb 72 pin low profile Simm Zeph MarketPlace 0 08 December 2016 15:29
XMP eXtended Module Player squidbass support.Apps 1 20 June 2014 17:10
Can't update my profile Pfloyd project.EAB 6 06 June 2005 17:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07611 seconds with 15 queries