English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2002, 20:53   #1
Cyberduck
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Joystick Problems in 0.8.21R4?

Okay, so I jumped from release 0.8.8r3 which worked well to the latest version which I have to say works stupendously apart from the fact that now my joypad which worked fine under 0.8.8 is not working under the new version.

I have Input mode in WinUAE set to compatibility and, as before input/controls set to mouse on the one side and Joystick 0 on the other just as I always have... except now it won't work. :-(

Has anyone else experienced this problem or have any info as to how I might resolve this issue, I'm running Windows XP and apart from this one annoying thing, WINUAE RULES!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 May 2002, 04:15   #2
Cyberduck
 
Posts: n/a
Oh, come on.. gimme a hand here?

Surely one of you must have some idea what the problem is, I checked the FAQ's before posting and saw nothing there.

Anyone??
 
Old 30 May 2002, 12:00   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,793
Do you see your pad on input-tab's device box?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 12:02   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
I don't

I have a Sidewinder Game Pad Pro (USB)

any ideas?
BippyM is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 12:04   #5
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Re: Oh, come on.. gimme a hand here?

Quote:
Originally posted by Cyberduck
Surely one of you must have some idea what the problem is, I checked the FAQ's before posting and saw nothing there.

Anyone??
WinUAE 0.8.21 Release 4 added a EXPERIMENTAL feature for configurable input devices (mouse, joystick, keyboard) Maybe this is a the root of your problem?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 12:17   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,793
Quote:
I don't
You mean you only see "Mouse" and "Keyboard"?
Do you see your pad in Windows' joystick-control panel utility?
Does 0821 R2 or R3 work? (They all use same joystick code)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 13:01   #7
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I can, but I am using the type that plugs into the sound card port.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	input.gif
Views:	272
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2650  
Paul is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 13:55   #8
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
I'm having problems with keyboard controls:

Anyone who can help me with this problem?

I posted this message on UAE board:

I've had this many times with any version of WinUAE. Many games (especially WHDload) suddenly quit when pressing the enter key or an other key.

Now I'm trying to run Roger Rabbit Hare Raising Havoc. I'm using keyboard layout B to emulate a joystick. Now, the controls always have been right ctrl (fire button) and the arrow keys. In this game pressing the crtl key doesn't seem to work and when I press enter to bypass the intro screens, the game suddenly quits.

Can anybody explain when and why and under what conditions these things happen? I'm using XP btw..
Riempie is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 14:36   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow

Quote:
Now I'm trying to run Roger Rabbit Hare Raising Havoc. I'm using keyboard layout B to emulate a joystick. Now, the controls always have been right ctrl (fire button) and the arrow keys. In this game pressing the crtl key doesn't seem to work and when I press enter to bypass the intro screens, the game suddenly quits
Hare Raising Havoc has NEVER worked stably on WinUAE,
you may also want to check out this thread!
andreas is offline  
Old 30 May 2002, 17:14   #10
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Aha, so it probably is the version of RRHRH is giving me the problems. I still have an other version on my Amiga which I used with WinUAE some years ago. I completed the game in WinUAE, so I guess I'll have to dig up a really old version of WinUAE and use the version of RRHRH on my Amiga.

Thanks Andreas, I'll figure it out now...
Riempie is offline  
Old 31 May 2002, 03:27   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
yes, and if you have the time, please transfer your version!
I'm gonna check out the CRCs and I'm sure it's gonna be a completely different version!
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick port problems? Reverend Emi support.Hardware 6 26 May 2008 21:52
WinUAE: Joystick problems default4321 support.WinUAE 5 21 January 2008 17:02
Latest winUAE + XP = Joystick Problems AGAIN! manicx support.WinUAE 6 07 December 2002 21:30
Joystick probs in WinUAE 8.21R4 Unregistered support.WinUAE 6 26 September 2002 21:25
joystick problems Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 04 September 2002 22:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20723 seconds with 15 queries