English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2008, 14:05   #1
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
Question Returning user - Problem with RGB Out to Scart

Hi everyone. I'm new to this site and have a quick question. I have just dug out my old Amiga A500 (bought in 1989) and the 15 boxes of games that I still have and I was going to have a bit of a nostalgia session again. However, when I connect the Amiga to a TV using the RGB Out to Scart connection, I can't get a picture.

On the first TV I tried, it switched automatically to AV once I'd switched on the computer, but I had a black screen. However, I put a game disk in and it loaded successfully since the theme tune was coming from the TV. I still couldn't see a picture though.

I tried it on a different, slightly newer TV and again it switched automatically to the AV channel and this time the screen was still pretty black, but I could see the outline of the hand and disk that you get presented with on turning on the Amiga (I seem to remember that it was a white screen with a blue disk).

Initially, I thought the cable might be damaged, since I couldn't get any picture. However, on trying the second TV, the fact that there is a picture of sorts does make me wonder where the problem lies.

I'm pretty sure that the last time I used this set up was about 4 years ago and I had no problems. Can anyone think of any ideas to try to get me up and running again?

Thanks
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 February 2008, 14:53   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
iirc not all TV SCART sockets take an RGB signal.

The Amiga outputs an RGB signal.... ergo not all TV SCART sockets work with the Amiga
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 15:30   #3
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
I think this is probably it then... The TVs are extremely old. Thanks for the reply.
 
Old 22 February 2008, 18:20   #4
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,170
Have you tried connecting phono leads to your Amiga and TV?

They may work - if not it could be an indication of something wrong with your Amiga

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 19:22   #5
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
the last time i had this problem, it turned out to be a couple of dry solder joints in the scart socket,
some amiga rgb > scart leads have resistors (might have blown)
worth a look
twizzle is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 19:37   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
Lots of Amiga RGB SCART cables are wired wrong for PIN 16 and PIN 8

Pin 16 needs to be driven to between 1-3 V (1 V nominal)
Pin 8 needs to be driven to 9.512 V (12 V nominal)
alexh is offline  
Old 25 February 2008, 12:34   #7
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
Further information. I tried the same set up on a newer TV and this time, the screen was all white, although it did seem to be pulsing slightly. I have ordered a new RGB to SCART cable just in case, but until it arrives, does this latest problem indicate anything else in particular? Thanks
 
Old 26 February 2008, 00:29   #8
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideo View Post
Have you tried connecting phono leads to your Amiga and TV?

They may work - if not it could be an indication of something wrong with your Amiga

Dave G
Reaper FBB

Have you tried the above yet?

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 14:03   #9
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm not sure what phono leads look like. What are they and how would they connect on the Amiga and the TV? Also, assuming I connect it up in this way, what would indicate the Amiga is working and what could I expect to see / hear if it was indicating a problem?

Last edited by Reaper_FBB; 26 February 2008 at 14:13.
 
Old 26 February 2008, 14:44   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper_FBB View Post
Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm not sure what phono leads look like.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper_FBB View Post
What are they and how would they connect on the Amiga and the TV?
To connect an A500 to a TV using Phono cables you will need an A520 modulator



Yellow (arbitrary colour) would connect to the A520 (video out) and red and white connect to LEFT/RIGHT audio out on the Amiga.

Quote:
Also, assuming I connect it up in this way, what would indicate the Amiga is working and what could I expect to see / hear if it was indicating a problem?
Nothing?
alexh is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 15:20   #11
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post

To connect an A500 to a TV using Phono cables you will need an A520 modulator

Yellow (arbitrary colour) would connect to the A520 (video out) and red and white connect to LEFT/RIGHT audio out on the Amiga.


Nothing?
Alexh

That certainly makes it clear what they look like

As Alexh said if they don't work you won't see anything. It could indicate that there's something seriously wrong with your Amiga.

If they work and you see something more than you're currently seeing on your TV then that'll indicate it could be your RGB/Scart lead that's faulty.
Either way it's one step nearer to a solution

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 16:14   #12
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks everyone... I'll try it and let you know how I get on (although I dont know where my modulator is any more)
 
Old 26 February 2008, 16:24   #13
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper_FBB View Post
Thanks everyone... I'll try it and let you know how I get on (although I dont know where my modulator is any more)
The modulator will give you colour output through the phono connector.

If you connect to the phono out (left most connector on the rear of your 500 as you look at it from the front) (or looking from the back - the furthest on the right) on your 500 you will get a greyscale display. You'd better double check that it is this one before you plug it in - I'm typing this from memory without a 500 in front of me

Still enough to get one step closer to solving the problem

Dave G

Last edited by davideo; 26 February 2008 at 16:26. Reason: typo
davideo is offline  
Old 03 March 2008, 15:40   #14
Reaper_FBB
 
Posts: n/a
Hi everyone. Just to let you know that the new cable arrived on Friday and now the Amigas work perfectly Sorry for wasting your time, but thanks for all the suggestions.

I'm now going into nostalgia overload mode
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Returning user - N00b questions about browser:-) Winterjaeger New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 15 September 2012 17:48
Returning Amiga user needs updated advice! frcc New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 14 September 2012 22:43
RGB to Scart Output Problem fruitlesseffort support.Hardware 5 23 February 2011 22:43
RGB -> Scart - Help Darkkanex support.Hardware 82 28 July 2009 00:17
Defective? (RGB)-Scart SEGA Mega Drive Model 1 cable & 4:3 to 16:9 display problem... ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 2 31 January 2006 09:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23506 seconds with 12 queries