English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2010, 23:29   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
AmiNetRadio - which version for 68k

Hiya,

I wanted to play around with streaming internet radio which I heard was ok with my 030 AGA machine so I downloaded AminetRadio last night. I could only find the latest version on their site which although it kind of works it is not aimed at my low-powered machine, in fact it seems more geared towards MorphOS.

Anyone know what version I should be using and where I can get it from?

I heard you can also stream using Amp (OS3.9) but when I entered a URL in the dialog it tried to 'open' http as a volume on the hard drive?

Thanx

Last edited by NovaCoder; 06 March 2010 at 08:52.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 March 2010, 08:21   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I made some progress with Amplifier, you need to miss off the HTTP from the url...Doh!

So does anyone know of any url's the will actually work with an 030 all of the ones that I tried failed to play.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 March 2010, 13:51   #3
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
Why not try shoutcast.com and look for some stations? They should all work as long as they are MP3 streams.

Last edited by DJBase; 07 March 2010 at 10:12. Reason: typo
DJBase is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 00:17   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Yep that worked, thanks

Would still like to know which version of AminNetRadio I use on my setup though?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 01:49   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,349
Amiga AMp is also fine.. Aminet Radio you just have to test, latest version with easy skin (or just wb interface)..
kriz is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 10:11   #6
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
AmiNetRadio is a bit slow on 68k machines. I also use mainly AmigaAMP because I need a Player with MHI-Interface for my Delfina.
DJBase is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 14:05   #7
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJBase View Post
AmiNetRadio is a bit slow on 68k machines. I also use mainly AmigaAMP because I need a Player with MHI-Interface for my Delfina.
With delfinampeg.device you can also use hardware decoding with AMPlifier and Frogger for example. Works fine with streams with AMPlifier...

And btw. AMPlifier includes some AREXX scripts for browsers to stream mp3 from Shoutcast for example.
jPV is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 18:25   #8
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
I know but I don't like Amplifier so I only use it when there is a need.
DJBase is offline  
Old 07 March 2010, 22:26   #9
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 483
Ok... only Amplifier has playlist working as I want, so I've been using it.
jPV is offline  
Old 10 March 2010, 07:51   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
AmigaAMP is no good for me as it only uses AHI and I've got no soundcard

Looks like I'll be sticking with Amplifier then
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 10 March 2010, 13:49   #11
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
AHI works also fine with Paula.
DJBase is offline  
Old 11 March 2010, 05:58   #12
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Not on my 030 it doesn't, it's really slooooow.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 March 2010, 22:43   #13
blitter1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Patra/Greece
Posts: 26
Is there any way to paste a large url to Amplifier's Open URL dialog?

It stops the clipboard paste, at about the half of my url.

I want to paste something big, a url from a .pls which I have from live365 when I am logged in which also contains username and password info.

I tried to load the .pls and it doesn't work. Pls loads but no connection.

But others from other sites as shoutcast.com work, so I thought to miss the HTTP on this one from the url as NovaCoder said, and enter the url directly.
blitter1 is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 01:34   #14
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

Yep I've been having 'fun' with this as well, the only way I've got it to work so far is to use my WinXP box to download a file from shoutcast.com on the desktop and then manually type in the URL in Amplifier. (Even this slow method sometimes fails for some streams)

You should be able to setup IBrowse so that you can click the streams directly, I tried this on shoutcast.com (had to go to the older classic site to see anything) and although I could get Amplifier to startup automatically I couldn't get it to play any streams!

Both AminetRadio and AmigaAMP are no good to me because of AHI which runs like a dead dog on my system (even when running at the worst quality).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 06:51   #15
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 243
AmiNetRadio works OK with an '060, while cool it's still a little sluggish and eats a lot of CPU. (Using the pipe-streaming feature with a DSP it's much better, but still.) Unfortunately I have the same problem with AmigaAMP 68k, it eats roughly 70% CPU streaming mp3... even using the mhi driver with my Melody 1200 or Delfina.

Quote:
...although I could get Amplifier to startup automatically I couldn't get it to play any streams!
There are a few missing files you need to make this happen. Download AMPlifier v2.33 from the katodev.de website. Move the files in the rexx drawer to wherever rexx: is assigned on your computer (probably "s:").

Modify the settings in IBrowse accordingly. For example, for shoutcast streaming you'd change the arguments setting for pls extensions to

Rexx:AmplifierMP3Stream-pls.rexx %f

That should get it working!
Damion is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AminetRadio without FPU Retrofan support.Apps 2 30 March 2013 01:44
Final version of Aros Vision 68k online now OlafSch Amiga scene 9 16 July 2012 14:12
Version 1.3. of Aros Vision 68k online now OlafSch Amiga scene 1 19 June 2012 14:43
Help with trackers and Aminetradio DjDiabolik project.ClassicWB 0 13 October 2011 19:00
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 01:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30522 seconds with 14 queries