English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2016, 21:00   #861
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,357
Some non-autoboot hard drive controllers (and autobooting ones too, if you disable the autoboot ROM) can have their driver added into the expansion dir. They get loaded and bound to the corresponding expansion cards when binddrivers is run from the startup-sequence.

Also the Bridgeboard comes with a binddrivers driver.

A binddrivers driver must have an accompanying icon with the expansion board's manufacturer/device ids correctly specified in the tool types, and the driver itself is specifically made to be used with binddrivers.

Not very common, as said. They will usually show up in memory as something.device though, even if they are not called that when you put them into the expansion dir.
Jope is offline  
Old 17 May 2016, 23:42   #862
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,544
Prometheus.library (Matay) had to be in Expansion in the beginning, later in development it was moved away afair.
zipper is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 05:24   #863
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 09:59   #864
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
haha what is that from?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 18 May 2016, 10:05   #865
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,884
Old drivers that were installed using "BindDrivers". The classical case is the support files for the non-autobooting A2090 hard disk controller.
idrougge is online now  
Old 18 May 2016, 12:15   #866
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
haha what is that from?
It's from Geek Gamer Trivia Tin [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 May 2016, 21:18   #867
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Is it true that in Paperboy you need to break windows to change non-subscribers to subscribers?
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 03:14   #868
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Do I need a Doctors degree to get retroarch with Amiga Core (PUAE)on my raspberry pi 2? Anyone care to explain how it's done?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 06:35   #869
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Is it true that in Paperboy you need to break windows to change non-subscribers to subscribers?
That sounds very interesting I wonder if it is true. It does make sense though. Wow.. after all these years to find things out like this if its true?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:56   #870
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
What was the name of the VIRUS (bootblock I think) which knocked 88 bytes of RAM from the W/B counter every 10 seconds or so?
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 21:39   #871
Cylon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by volvo_0ne View Post
What was the name of the VIRUS (bootblock I think) which knocked 88 bytes of RAM from the W/B counter every 10 seconds or so?

Good luck finding this bastard!
http://www.vht-dk.dk/amiga/desc/virus.htm
Cylon is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 21:47   #872
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cylon View Post
Good luck finding this bastard!
http://www.vht-dk.dk/amiga/desc/virus.htm
I don't wanna find it, just wondered what it was called.

I just remember (vaguely) that I had to write a script to kill the task on each W/B boot from floppy(I had no HD then ), and there were no virus killers (at least none I trusted) and I had no idea which of my floppies had infected me.

Never did find out, but AFAIK it was the only Virus I ever had on the Miggy
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 20:34   #873
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Is it true that Chaos Engine and True Lies share same engine? [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 23:50   #874
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Was the Intro to "Another World" the best Miggy game Intro (in the day), or was there a better one?
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 23:52   #875
powrslave
A1200
powrslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA-East Coast
Posts: 102
Who is this exactly?

http://www.glasshotel.net/teleblivio...ouselc/ZOE.GIF
powrslave is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 23:57   #876
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by powrslave View Post
Zoe Ball?
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 00:03   #877
powrslave
A1200
powrslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA-East Coast
Posts: 102
not sure, I remember dl it from a bbs a loong time ago.

did a search and found this

http://cd.textfiles.com/version40/GS/112A/
powrslave is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 00:11   #878
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
HDToolbox-> Low Level Format

What EXACTLY did it do?

In the day I did it, and then formatted, WHY?

Because the next time I decided to format my drive (as ya do), it made no difference whatsoever.
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 00:28   #879
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,204
It's mainly for old (very old) hard drives that didn't automatically remap their sectors. It builds up a map of all the known good sectors and makes them available for use by the OS. It hasn't been needed on any hard drive made in probably 20 or 25 years since they all remap their structures transparently, dealing with bad sectors without the OS needing to worry about it. Carrying it out on a "modern" drive is pointless and usually won't do anything other than churn the drive for a while, but it could potentially cause problems if the drive had bad sectors as the low-level format might mark them as ok to use...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 00:34   #880
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Thanks Daedalus

Wasn't there a similar thingy on PC's (prob about 10 years ago) which was supposed to detect when the HD was going t*ts up?

I remember that not working one morning too
volvo_0ne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12733 seconds with 14 queries