English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2010, 15:14   #1
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
D3D9: Initialization Fail

Hiya,

New to this emulation lark but still own several real Amigas

Running WinUAE 2.3.0 Beta 16 on a netbook (1.6 atom, Intel 945 GFX)

Using a default quickstart but ensuring Direct3D is set, I get the D3D9: Initialization Failed message, which then puts me in DirectDraw mode. However once I click OK and the emu has started, I can F12 and switch to Direct3D no problems.

This happens in fullscreen or windowed. Why won't it start successfully in Direct3D, but allow me to run dDrect3D happily once the emu has started?

thanks

EDIT: I'm running latest DirectX, and have installed latest Filters (1.5.1) from the WinUAE site
MrGimper is offline  
Old 11 September 2010, 16:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,144
All important information is missing. Log files. (tick logging in misc panel before starting, attach winuaebootlog.txt and winuaelog.txt)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2010, 17:54   #3
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
Apologies ... files attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (4.2 KB, 192 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (8.8 KB, 161 views)
MrGimper is offline  
Old 11 September 2010, 18:09   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,144
Thanks, attach also winuaelog.txt after selecting direct3d "on the fly".

(Unfortunately this seems to be some weird display driver issue, it returns some error code when allocating textures)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2010, 18:26   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,144
Does it work better if you start winuae with -nod3d9ex command line parameter?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2010, 18:32   #6
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
Attached

Once the emu had started, I switched to Direct3D with "none" as filter. I also did F12 and switched again to "Null Filter".

I was curious and looked at the log files. When it fails it appears it's trying to create a texture 1504*572 texture allocated, bits per pixel 16. however when switching on-the-fly, it's (successfully) creates a texture 752*286 texture allocated, bits per pixel 32
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (6.4 KB, 178 views)
MrGimper is offline  
Old 11 September 2010, 19:12   #7
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it work better if you start winuae with -nod3d9ex command line parameter?

Sorry Toni, missed this.

Yes, if I start with that parameter, I don't get the error.

Out of interest, what does that parameter do?

Thanks v much for your help, and a totally awesome piece of software!
MrGimper is offline  
Old 11 September 2010, 19:34   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGimper View Post
Attached

Once the emu had started, I switched to Direct3D with "none" as filter. I also did F12 and switched again to "Null Filter".

I was curious and looked at the log files. When it fails it appears it's trying to create a texture 1504*572 texture allocated, bits per pixel 16. however when switching on-the-fly, it's (successfully) creates a texture 752*286 texture allocated, bits per pixel 32
Try setting null filter before starting.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2010, 20:02   #9
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Try setting null filter before starting.
With or without the -nod3d9ex switch?

Will you want the resultant log?
MrGimper is offline  
Old 11 September 2010, 20:33   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGimper View Post
With or without the -nod3d9ex switch?

Will you want the resultant log?
Without, because "none" filter option selects same size texture as window and I am quite sure texture size has nothing to do with this issue (at least as long as is stays under 2kx2k)

EDIT: try also http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 11 September 2010 at 21:09.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2010, 21:41   #11
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Without, because "none" filter option selects same size texture as window and I am quite sure texture size has nothing to do with this issue (at least as long as is stays under 2kx2k)

EDIT: try also http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip
Nice one Toni.... using the version you supplied I no longer get the error message (not using the -nod3d9ex param).

Thanks very much for sorting this
MrGimper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why did the CD32 fail? wanderer Retrogaming General Discussion 163 13 August 2019 11:30
WIFI initialization causes system stall ppascal support.Hardware 8 04 November 2011 17:23
Cracks that FAIL! TCD Amiga scene 59 29 September 2009 20:00
C:Version fail? DDNI project.ClassicWB 5 13 July 2006 11:30
Why did the Amiga fail establish itself in the U.S? 7-Zark-7 Nostalgia & memories 16 22 January 2002 05:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12467 seconds with 14 queries