English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2008, 00:51   #1
arnljot
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation A1200 sound issues

I've tested it with a few games I know well. But I'm going to test it with a tracker too, but I'm sure it'll confirm the symptoms I've found.

Two channels are missing. Both left and right output on the amiga works, only in games I can only hear two channels, one in each (left+right). So I only get half of the music, or no sound effects. It's really anoying and a little scary...

What should I look for in the patient? What might be wrong here?
This machine works all fine except this thing. It's accellerator works (sound is still a problem with it removed), and floppy + joystick + mouse all else is fine. But still only "half" the sounds it should have... :-/
 
Old 06 February 2008, 05:02   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,618
As strange as it sounds, I recommend trying another PSU. On the PSU that came with my 1200 I had all sorts of strange problems with the sound. All was fine when I plugged the 500 one in.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 06 February 2008, 06:15   #3
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I might say leaky caps ? btw, if you need a 1200 mobo, you can have mine (which was yours) for the postage. I don't really need it.
coze is offline  
Old 06 February 2008, 13:20   #4
arnljot
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
I might say leaky caps ? btw, if you need a 1200 mobo, you can have mine (which was yours) for the postage. I don't really need it.
CountZero?

Well, if I "buy" it back. Can I buy it with sets of 3.1, 3.5 and 3.9 roms?

And a genuine japanese sticker which proves that it has travelled the world?? hehe

How much would it be? And would paypal do?

But lets not rush it. I'm going to test a few more things before I keel over and give up
 
Old 06 February 2008, 13:27   #5
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnljot View Post
CountZero?
Yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnljot View Post
Well, if I "buy" it back. Can I buy it with sets of 3.1, 3.5 and 3.9 roms?
you don't have to 'buy' it back. just pay for return shipping, and the roms I originally traded to you or you can send me the broken 1200mobo. I like broken mobos

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnljot View Post
And a genuine japanese sticker which proves that it has travelled the world?? hehe
ok I'll think of something

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnljot View Post
How much would it be? And would paypal do?
I dunno ... probably around 20$. 35-40$ish if you want EMS (tracked, secure)

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnljot View Post
But lets not rush it. I'm going to test a few more things before I keel over and give up
That's ok, take your time and give your board a good try
coze is offline  
Old 06 February 2008, 14:16   #6
arnljot
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
you don't have to 'buy' it back. just pay for return shipping, and the roms I originally traded to you or you can send me the broken 1200mobo. I like broken mobos
If I pay for shipping for it back to Oslo, I also want to pay for: The roms I received, and a new set if you have more roms :-)

And if we do this deal, you can have my A1200 board with dodgy sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
ok I'll think of something
Cool! Maybe I'll have to do some "nippon" stying on the case then...

Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
I dunno ... probably around 20$. 35-40$ish if you want EMS (tracked, secure)
Just want it fast Secure, insured and tracked is nice... But most important is fast I'm not as patient as you! You probably study "the way of the Samurai"... ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
That's ok, take your time and give your board a good try
Cool. Lets see what falls out of this. Want a AmiTech sound sampler btw?

It's collecting dust at this end, together with two sets of 3.0 ROMS for A1200. And a Blizzard 4030 with no CPU or FPU, A4000D daughter card... Several A4000 RAM chips, etc. I have bits and pieces, but no clear overview atm

Last edited by arnljot; 06 February 2008 at 16:00.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound issues? thermalthong support.Hardware 18 02 November 2012 19:14
A1200 sound and hdd issues slk486 support.Hardware 7 24 November 2011 11:41
Sound speed issues. Hemppo support.Other 2 28 March 2010 16:04
Even more sound timing issues... andreas support.WinUAE 11 30 November 2005 12:23
Sound & Floppy issues on A1200 r6stu support.Hardware 8 09 November 2005 10:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06428 seconds with 13 queries