English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2018, 20:16   #2901
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Ciao Peter thank you for new 46.4.507_LD020, always better on AfA-OS, now everything is almost perfect, only the problem of executables without an icon remains, see video. This does not happen with "icon_lib.exe"
Attached Files
File Type: zip IconExe.zip (417.5 KB, 6 views)
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 21:19   #2902
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
Hi Carlo, what is better with LD020 now?

I still don't understand why your AfA_OS has two different Tool DefIcons. On my system I only have ENVARC:sys/def_tool.info. I don't know, where your other DefIcon comes from. Search for it. And then set both icons to the type "Tool" and add the tooltypes:

CLI
DONOTPROMPT

Last edited by PeterK; Yesterday at 01:15.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 21:31   #2903
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
The problem is right there, that icon is not def_tool.info but def_system,

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 November 2018 at 00:23.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 21:36   #2904
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
There is no def_system.info on my system. Check your Prefs/DefIcons configuration and correct the settings for def_system.info.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 22:17   #2905
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Peter AfA-OS seems not to use DefIcons, even if I delete DefIcons completely from the system the problem remains, but as I said only if I use the icon.library.
If I use DefIcons, here's what appears in DefIcons prefs

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 November 2018 at 00:22.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 22:26   #2906
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
Either remove or rename ENVARC:sys/def_system.info or add to both icons
CLI
DONOTPROMPT

I would also remove the DefIcons filetype "bible" from my system, since I'm living in hell.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 22:30   #2907
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,533
What is def_system supposed to catch anyways? In the prefs it looks more like a category than a filetype.
kolla is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 23:18   #2908
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Peter, if I delete or rename "def_system.info" the system replaces it by creating a default one (White)

About CLI and DONOTPROMPT, these commands are automatically deleted from the system after restart.


The strange thing is that with the same OS and the same configuration with "icon_lib.exe" everything works perfectly and this makes me think that there will be some strange with icon.library conflict in my system.


Quote:

I would also remove the DefIcons filetype "bible" from my system, since I'm living in hell.
Do not get mad at my friend who is bad for your health (we are elderly)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 09 November 2018 at 23:32.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 23:38   #2909
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Peter, if I delete or rename "def_system.info" the system replaces it by creating a default one (White)

Riguardo CLI and DONOTPROMPT, these commands are automatically deleted from the system after restart.
That's mega-strange and unusual! If it's not WBStartup/DefIcons which is responsible for this then try to find out what else on your system causes this behavior. Disable WBStartup or userstartup or scan the system for strings like "def_" or "def_system.info".
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 November 2018, 23:56   #2910
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Peter i did everything, on meo AfA_WB 1.4 this does not happen, even if the OS4 and PNG icons are not seen well Icon in Dopus4

For test from AfA_WB 1.4 replaced:

- Replaced Startup-sequence
- Replaced Directory libs

- Renamed WBStartup-sequence
- Renamed user-startup

The work continues because then in the end it must come out, hopefully

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 November 2018 at 01:56.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 00:24   #2911
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
That's mega-strange and unusual! .
It's not strange, in systems AfA-OS the def_Icon have flag protection are disabled (I'm in gray).
The problem however is only on executables for the other file types no problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Def-Icon.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	128.6 KB
ID:	60753  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 00:32   #2912
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
No, that just means that there exists no real file "def_system" or "def_tool" in ENVARC:sys. If you create these files you would see the flags too. But it's not required to create these files. As soon as the "def_tool.info" gets used for your program (Hippoplayer) these flags get visible, too (as in you video or on my screengrab).
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 00:54   #2913
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No, that just means that there exists no real file "def_system" or "def_tool" in ENVARC:sys..
No peter, think I know these things, the def icons are clearly visible and have everything active ,they also include the command in the tooltypes "CLI DONOTPROMPT" but all this is not visible from "SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys/" on Workbench.

If you look at my scrennshot you will notice that the same "empty" icon on the Workbench is instead visible and complete on Dopus4, but also if I copy it on another path.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Def_Icon.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	214.7 KB
ID:	60754  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 01:08   #2914
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
However I think this has nothing to do with the problem because OS 3.9 also hides Tooltypes and turns off attributes.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 01:11   #2915
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
Sorry Carlo, can't help you at the moment. Tomorrow is another day ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 01:22   #2916
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Do not worry, my friend, I am hard-headed I have been doing for 40 years head department of the Fire Fighters, "one day without risk is a day not lived"
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 01:54   #2917
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
Solved and found the culprit We'll talk about it tomorrow

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 November 2018 at 03:02.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 12:13   #2918
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
The guilty of the wrong icon association was "exe.datatypes"

In practice, "exe.datatypes" recognized the "file type" but did not find the "def_exe.info" in "SYS: Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys/" or "SYS:Prefs/Presets/deficons" by associating a 'wrong icon to the executable (def_system.info)

Resolution:
- Created def_exe.info
- Copied def_exe.info to (SYS: Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys/ "or" SYS: Prefs/Presets/deficons/ ")
- def_icon must be of type tool

See video attached

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 November 2018 at 09:51.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 15:50   #2919
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,385
Still strange. I have exe.datatype 40.2 (Stullich) from Aminet installed, and that needs no def_exe.info and also has no reference to def_system.info.

I only found a def_exe.info icon belonging to the SAS/C compiler and a reference to def_exe in slink. So, such a reference could be compiled or added by the linker to other programs? I don't know, I never use SAS/C.

Do you use any other exe.datatype? Maybe something from the BoingBags 3+4?

Last edited by PeterK; 10 November 2018 at 15:58.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 November 2018, 17:00   #2920
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,768
No I also use "exe.datatype 40.2", I have also tested other OS like AfAWB 1.4 and the same thing happens, see screenhot.
Are you sure you have installed all the "exe.datatype" package with MultWiew you can monitor an executable?
On an OS3.9 BB4 the problem does not happen

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 November 2018 at 09:51.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 14:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18464 seconds with 16 queries