English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2015, 10:34   #21
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
between 2000 - 2002 , time in Amiga hardware prices were down, you could get a blizzard 1260 for 120 or 150 u$
in 1999 I purchased a blizzard 1240/40 mhz for 80$,
Tired of the 040 incompatibilities with old games I sold it 5 years later for 300$

in 2010 I purchased a Tra1200 turboboard 020/28mhz +8mb ram for 50$
fantastic turboboard, 5 mips on sysinfo, very compatible, I will not sell this because is great

now the prices are insane, are for crazy enthusiastic fans, ie for 100$ you can purchase a full tower with a core 2 duo 3ghz,then run winuae,the Amiga will run 15x faster than a 060 real hardware

today for the price of a blizzard 1260, you can purchase a core i7 broadwell + geforce 970 and you will be very happy
Sandro is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 10:41   #22
Amon_RA
Registered User
Amon_RA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 131
Maybe we should all just stop buying Amiga stuff at these prices... If everyone does that the prices will go down by itself.
Amon_RA is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 11:40   #23
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA View Post
Maybe we should all just stop buying Amiga stuff at these prices... If everyone does that the prices will go down by itself.
Which is why buying new stuff (be it ACA, Vampire or Kipper's memory expansions...) instead of old, overpriced stuff will do the market good You support some of the few people still creating new stuff for our beloved machines and you also push the used market prices down.

The maximum I've ever spent on a board was around 90-100 eur for a broken BlizzardPPC... Which woe on me, I didn't notice that had its oscillator pins completely ripped out. I still have to repair it... One day.

About the fact that there's no contemporary 060 accelerator board... Nobody really needs a 060 in their Amigas nowadays, since almost everyone has also got a PeeCee next to it. Yeah, I know that it's not a good reasoning, but the 060-only software is such a small percentage that it's not really worth it. Okay, I suppose it's cool trying to run PC games on your Amiga, but why do that on your A1200/A4000 if you've already got a PC?

Hopefully the Vampire will one day bridge that 060 gap for a decent price and everyone will be happy
jbenam is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 19:23   #24
Devlin
Bane of Magic

Devlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 309
I got my Blizzard 1230MkIV with the addon board for 80 quid in 2010.

I've been watching the price slowly jump up and up, but even then I still can't bear the thought of selling my precious Amiga 1200 even when lately I've really needed the cash.
Devlin is offline  
Old 07 July 2015, 23:08   #25
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
About the fact that there's no contemporary 060 accelerator board... Nobody really needs a 060 in their Amigas nowadays, since almost everyone has also got a PeeCee next to it. Yeah, I know that it's not a good reasoning, but the 060-only software is such a small percentage that it's not really worth it. Okay, I suppose it's cool trying to run PC games on your Amiga, but why do that on your A1200/A4000 if you've already got a PC?
You're forgetting the demo-scene.
Amiga AGA demos have been targeting the 060 almost exclusively for at least 15 years now.
If you want to watch AGA scene demos these days, its 060 or nothing.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 10:26   #26
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
You're forgetting the demo-scene.
Amiga AGA demos have been targeting the 060 almost exclusively for at least 15 years now.
If you want to watch AGA scene demos these days, its 060 or nothing.
I actually thought of it, but then forgot to include it in the post.

A small percentage of users actually watch recent demos, most just want to watch classic ones, tinker and/or use WHDLoad, that's where my "most users don't really need a 060" comes from
jbenam is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 10:55   #27
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I actually thought of it, but then forgot to include it in the post.

A small percentage of users actually watch recent demos, most just want to watch classic ones, tinker and/or use WHDLoad, that's where my "most users don't really need a 060" comes from
Depends of your definition of "classic" I count some 060 demos from 90s as real classics too. Like Relic by Nerve Axis, Concrete by Ephidrena, When We Ride On Our Enemies by Skarla, etc... the list would go on. I used to watch those every day for a looong time when they were released

Anyway, how new the late 90s and early 2000 demos would feel to us, but lets face it, they really aren't that recent anymore There have been many years and huuge amount of truly wonderful demos for 060 from about 1997, and that just shouldn't be underestimated. Looking how much demos come every year and comparing it to what other software or games are made... I'd say that "most users" come from the demoscene, they just happen to be more active on the other forums and circles than average EAB/Aorg/AW/etc forum users.

Actually, when thought more, 060/AGA is a pretty amazing platform for the demoscene. Which other platform has been fixed, comparable, and that active for THAT long time? A500/OCS prime time was way shorter, then it went almost completely down, until only recently have gained some activity again. 030/50 wasn't the main platform for many years until it got replaced by 060. PC/Mac scene has been in a constant upgrade loop, maybe had some kind of fixed specs in the early days, but not for years either. Consoles come and go. PPC Amigas never were popular enough to gain attention. C64 is probably the only one having such a steady success ever. 060 is quite legendary classic itself

Last edited by jPV; 08 July 2015 at 11:24.
jPV is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 13:50   #28
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 387
I have an Apollo 060 running at 80mhz.
I'm not sure it's the fastest as NovaCoder's Quake 2 port runs better on his machine than it does on mine.
Regarding stability/reliability, I've had no issues
Amicol is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 15:03   #29
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
I use WinUAE, fastest 060 ever and it didn't cost me anything
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 18:58   #30
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
whilst looking through some old paperwork the other day i found my receipt from gordon harwood computers in alfreton (UK) for my blizzards 1260 card, for the price of £463.

To think that this hardware can still fetch such high prices these days is incredible. I would never sell mine though (sorry) as its a big part of my life and is still working perfectly today with 16mb expansion. Never had any issues with games etc.
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 08 July 2015, 23:21   #31
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbob2 View Post
whilst looking through some old paperwork the other day i found my receipt from gordon harwood computers in alfreton (UK) for my blizzards 1260 card, for the price of £463.

To think that this hardware can still fetch such high prices these days is incredible. I would never sell mine though (sorry) as its a big part of my life and is still working perfectly today with 16mb expansion. Never had any issues with games etc.
Factor in inflation and you can pretty much double that...
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 00:17   #32
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
Actually, when thought more, 060/AGA is a pretty amazing platform for the demoscene. Which other platform has been fixed, comparable, and that active for THAT long time?
I wouldn't call it "fixed", but close enough.
The fastest commercial 060 accelerator sold was 50Mhz (I've read there was a 60Mhz version somewhere but never seen one for sale, ever).

For the past 6-7 years, Amiga demo competitions run demo on either WinUAE or an Amiga with overclocked 060, typically 66Mhz.
This makes most demo coders optimize their demos for that speed.

Having a "lowly" 50Mhz 060, there are many demos I cant enjoy due to very low frame-rate (Elude demos are a good example of that).

I refuse to risk damaging my card by overclocking, not to mention my CPU revision is not the latest, so it might not even reach 60Mhz & remain stable.

To me this is very annoying. I end up watching these demos on YouTube instead of real HW, which I invested a lot into, just to be able to watch new demos!

</rant>
UberFreak is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 00:35   #33
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
I wouldn't call it "fixed", but close enough.
The fastest commercial 060 accelerator sold was 50Mhz (I've read there was a 60Mhz version somewhere but never seen one for sale, ever).
nope

the fast commercial version was the apollo 1260/75mhz
were for sale until 2004 or 2005
Sandro is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 02:08   #34
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 319
Any proof? pictures?

The only 75Mhz 060 CPUs I ever read about were EC versions, without FPU or possibly MMU.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 02:30   #35
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
I've got a BPPC (scsi)/BVision/Acard for scsi HD/IDefix HD/CD/Subway USB/4wayClock/Delfina Desktop Amiga 1200 that I will be selling as soon as Jens releases his DC-DC Psu converter (my best PSU only delivers 4.6 volts inside). I still have to think on the price to ask, but I need the money to pay some taxes here.

A BPPC is of course the best and fastest accelerator card for a desktop A1200 ever made as everybody knows, and there are very, very few desktop miggys if any with these specs, in fact I don't know of any other.

Last edited by Retrofan; 09 July 2015 at 12:37.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 03:11   #36
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Any proof? pictures?

The only 75Mhz 060 CPUs I ever read about were EC versions, without FPU or possibly MMU.
that's correct , were 060 EC versions,but were fast anyways

ie here is one sold in ebay
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251969551161

check in the pics,the box says apollo 75mhz no fpu etc
Sandro is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 12:34   #37
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 884
Apollo cards has a non standard way to Access chip ram, that why they are faster than Blizzard cards.

I have both Apollo on my desktop and blizzard in my towerized A1200. I used to use Apollo with my tower system, but it has little more isues with other Zorro cards etc. However it worked. With my Desktop only Apollo works very well.

Speed difference is very noticeable with workbenc usage. Installing FBlit fixes that.
utri007 is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 14:13   #38
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 367
Another problem with Apollo is the the Fast RAM blocks. Either you have one SIMM slot with max 32 MB or two slots (unable to fit in A1200 Classic case) with 2x 32 MB. In the system Apollo does not merge both SIMMs to one 64 MB block, but it is still two 32 MB blocks. And this is not good for Shapeshifter for example, you cannot use more then 32 MB and this also does not allow you to run the best TBL demos (Startstruck or Rift). There is a "64 MB per SIMM slot" hack, but it needs some HW skills.

From my experience the best A1200 Classic accelerator is Blizzard 1260 and the best A1200 accelerator for tower is Cyberstorm PPC ;o) (yes I mean Cyberstorm in Micronik Z3i v6.8)
jack-3d is offline  
Old 09 July 2015, 18:11   #39
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 373
I would say:

Desktop:
Blizzard 1230 MkIV or Blizzard 1260.

Tower:
As above + Blizzard 1240.


I've never had a faster Classic Amiga than a A1200 with Blizzard MkIII 1230/40 MHz though.
duga is offline  
Old 10 July 2015, 04:54   #40
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I've got a BPPC (scsi)/BVision/Acard for scsi HD/IDefix HD/CD/Subway USB/4wayClock/Delfina Desktop Amiga 1200 that I will be selling as soon as Jens releases his DC-DC Psu converter (my best PSU only delivers 4.6 volts inside).
I'm with a similar setup (BPPC/BVision in desktop case) and I struggled for a while to get voltage up to 5V on both cards.
The only solution was to feed the BPPC directly from the PSU (not going through the A1200 motherboard in any way).
Since I've done that, the system has been rock solid.

I'm also planning to sell soon, due to lack of use.
I havent used the PPC side for over a year now & have my A4000/060 that I use instead.
UberFreak is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 accelerator card question JonB support.Hardware 3 03 July 2013 23:00
Accelerator card A1200 lolafg support.Hardware 2 20 March 2011 13:57
Looking for an A1200 accelerator card ami_junkie MarketPlace 7 28 April 2009 12:51
How about a new A1200 accelerator card? webmany support.Hardware 14 24 April 2007 08:35
Accelerator Card for A1200/2000 Frog MarketPlace 0 31 December 2005 08:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10090 seconds with 16 queries