English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 October 2013, 23:43   #61
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
He Jim. Would you mind getting one dollar baby wipes and cleaning your computers.
Your keyboard is filth.
lukassid is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 17:40   #62
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hello Roy,
Yeah, I went to the Amigakit website and had a look at what was available.
And I see they have a kickstart 3.1 ROM chip for the Amiga A500 for $17.
While I was reading about that , I noticed a heading that said Don't forget ,
and that led to a AmigaOS 3.1 (6 disk set) for $33
So I can see that maybe this is the way to go...
And as for the memory increase , I was hoping to get something from Kipper.
Of course, these modifucations call for digging into the guts of my machine and pulling out chips and stuff like that.
That is something that fills me with dread. I mean, I don't think I should be monkeying around with the internal workings of my system, since I have no experience with that sort of thing.
In the old days, I would drop off my machine at the Commodore Service department to make the necessary upgrades.
And a couple of days later, they would phone me to let me know that it was ready, and I could come in and pick it up.
But those days are gone now
This makes me wonder if there's any Computer Repair guys in the Toronto area who knows what an Amiga is ???
Maybe an old-timer who remembers working with them ... that's something for me to think about
Jim is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 17:52   #63
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
you know,if you want to have one of kipper2k's 4 or 8mb boards we can help you if you want if you get stuck.and talk you through it slowly.

its really simple(yes i do understand if its nerve racking for you)
just remember or take a picture of the cpu oriantation before you pull it and put it in to kippers card and simply plug it all into the cpu socket.
youll probably only need two screwdrivers for the whole job.

i mean,if you wasent a gazilion miles away i would do it for you in about 5 minutes.


heres one of mine,if you want to see one with a cd rom just ask and i'll do a video.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by roy bates; 11 October 2013 at 02:47.
roy bates is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 00:15   #64
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Well, here's a bit of good news.
I got on to an auction last night , and successfully managed to win a
Amiga A1200.
I wasn't the only one bidding, and some other guy kept on bidding against me.
So unfortunately the bidding war went ding dong all the way up and up. When I reached $1000 , he gave up and I won.
Since this purchace was made in Canada, the shipping cost was just about $18.
This turned out to be quite expensive, but I don't care - I've got what I wanted.
And now, all I have to do for the next week or so is to watch out for the postman.
Jim is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 02:04   #65
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
I wasn't the only one bidding, and some other guy kept on bidding against me.
So unfortunately the bidding war went ding dong all the way up and up. When I reached $1000 , he gave up and I won.
Link to the auction ?

now, while you wait for Mr. Postman, clean your PC Keyboard
whiteb is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 10:46   #66
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
Well, here's a bit of good news.
I got on to an auction last night , and successfully managed to win a
Amiga A1200.
I wasn't the only one bidding, and some other guy kept on bidding against me.
So unfortunately the bidding war went ding dong all the way up and up. When I reached $1000 , he gave up and I won.
Since this purchace was made in Canada, the shipping cost was just about $18.
This turned out to be quite expensive, but I don't care - I've got what I wanted.
And now, all I have to do for the next week or so is to watch out for the postman.

should of waited till the last two minutes or so,all you did was bid it up.
it also seems very high to me,i wouldnt pay anywhere near that much.it also sounds iffy.
roy bates is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 17:30   #67
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
I wasn't the only one bidding, and some other guy kept on bidding against me. So unfortunately the bidding war went ding dong all the way up and up. When I reached $1000 , he gave up and I won.
What specification is it?

If it is just the basic unit then you've paid way way too much. Even with an 030 turbo card fitted it's way too much.

I mean that is roughly 5x the price of a new old stock, unused, boxed A1200 direct from the old Amiga Inc. manager Petro. (He found a warehouse with 100+ unsold units) and they are selling for lots more than second hand units.

Everyone knows how to snipe bid on eBay don't they? You can even use automated tools and websites to help bid in the last second giving no time for the other guy to respond.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 23:07   #68
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Everyone knows how to snipe bid on eBay don't they? You can even use automated tools and websites to help bid in the last second giving no time for the other guy to respond.
Why do you say "Everyone knows how...... don't they ?"

I don't. - I never heard of these techniques.
That sounds kinda underhanded to me , it even sounds illegal.
Anyway , now that I think about it... I now believe you are right.
I can remember about 2 or 3 months ago I was bidding on a NTSC Amiga 1200,
and got all the way up to $400. I thought I had it , for sure.
And I was just sitting there looking at the screen , and watching the last few seconds ticking away...
And suddenly a red message bar appeared , and I read what it said,
You've been Outbid
And that was it - no time even for me to click the button again.
And then about 10 days ago , I found another NTSC Amiga 500, that had much better specifications than mine. I was cofidently bidding away, and I thought it was mine. But then somebody else nipped in in-front of me and snatched it away from me in the last few seconds.
You can imagine my fury when I realised that this had happened to me before... and I was caught again !
But that's not the end of the story - last week I found a Commodore 2002 monitor with no bids on it and it started at $29,
There was one guy bidding against me, and we went up and up, $10 at a time. then I thought I was ahead.
Once again , my prize was snatched away from me at the last second.
If your window was open that night , you might have heard my screams of rage.
And then on the most important night of my life... I was going to bid on this Amiga 1200.
I didn't want the same thing to happen again , so I had to figure out a different strategy.
After some thought, I figured that NOBODY would be stupid enough to bid $1000 for an Amiga ..... nobodt would be that crazy.
So I deliberately took the highest bid up to $1000 , and waited to see what happened.
This time, nobody snatched it away from me... so I won

Last edited by prowler; 18 October 2013 at 00:05. Reason: Fixed quote.
Jim is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 01:19   #69
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
i find it strange that someone kept on outbidding you every time you bid all the way up to $1000,it almost looks like shill bidding.
even an idiot knows when to stop.

never ever start bidding on something early on,you will always get some nutter noob ebay user that always outbids every damn time a bid is put in.
because i bet there sitting there watching it go up and they always have to be in front in bids 100% of the time.even if iots over nine days
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 03:11   #70
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 369
lol @ paying $1000 for a stock A1200. Considering it's worth maybe a 1/3rd that at most going by NorthAmerica Ebay pricing.

thgill is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 10:30   #71
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
i find it strange that someone kept on outbidding you every time you bid all the way up to $1000,it almost looks like shill bidding.
Surely that is just how the maximum bid system on eBay works? The current bid is say $100. Someone bids $999 maximum. The current bid goes to $110 and every bid from anyone else from that point onwards is instantly counter bid by the minimum amount all the way up to $999.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
never ever start bidding on something early on
I always throw in a small bid. Minimum amount. That dissuades sellers who have no reserve to revoke auctions because they have had no bids.

But classically yes. The eBay auction system is completely and utterly broken. If they added 1 minute to the end of the auction every time a bid was placed it would be instantly fixed.

Snipe bidding is completely legal. Everyone who has ever used eBay for any length of time knows this is how you pay less. Bid in the dying seconds of the auction. Automated tools will place your bid with fractions of a second to go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
This time, nobody snatched it away from me... so I won
I personally think you lost. But I'm a very tight person when it comes to money.

So you're now going to have to buy a RAM card or accelerator for your A1200 to make it usable. Plus a hard drive / IDE->CF adapter.

This is the cheapest

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1100
alexh is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 14:04   #72
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
it almost looks like shill bidding.
even an idiot knows when to stop.

It had to have been shill bidding.

Looking at recently sold A1200's, they had typically ended in the $200 to $300 range...some even with ram expansions or accelerators.


I find it damn hard to believe that two individuals are going to legitimately bid up an A1200 to $1000 when recently sold ones indicate that it is worth a hell of a lot less than that. Obviously one of them had to be a shill.


Sorry Jim, you got bent over the coals on this one.
thgill is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 14:10   #73
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
i find it strange that someone kept on outbidding you every time you bid all the way up to $1000,it almost looks like shill bidding.
even an idiot knows when to stop.
The way I read it, Jim did get the A1200 and he didn't pay $1000 for it. That was just his maximum bid. When someone immediately outbids you, it is most likely that someone else just used a higher maximum bid, so it'll automatically raise the bid. When it happens during the last seconds of an auction, it could be a sniper bid.
demolition is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 14:12   #74
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
The way I read it, Jim did get the A1200 and he didn't pay $1000 for it. That was just his maximum bid. When someone immediately outbids you, it is most likely that someone else just used a higher maximum bid, so it'll automatically raise the bid. When it happens during the last seconds of an auction, it could be a sniper bid.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Commodore-Am...p2047675.l2557


His winning bid was $1000
thgill is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 14:26   #75
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,706
Should have asked me then, I'd have sold you a 1200 for just $900, and I might even have thrown in the shipping as well.
demolition is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 15:39   #76
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
I'd have sold him one for $200 and still made a profit shipping it from the UK.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 18:03   #77
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by thgill View Post

look at the way the bids went and there ebay rating.

looks odd to me.even very suspect,that youve got two new users to ebay bidding ridiculous amounts of cash for something worth about a fith of what was paid by anyone else on ebay.
i wouldnt of been supprised if it was me, and i dropped out near the end and got a second offer from the seller *see what i did there*


anyway,its a nice 1200,but i wouldnt of paid anywhere near that much.
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 October 2013, 19:07   #78
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I'd have sold him one for $200
Weli thank you Alex, for that kind gesture.
And I am happy to accept your generous offer.

Please PM me with the way you want to handle this transaction
Jim is offline  
Old 19 October 2013, 13:26   #79
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
PM sent.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 November 2013, 22:09   #80
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Well I haven't been in here for a couple of weeks , and I have been taking the time to explore my new A1200.
I just wanted to get familiar with it, and see what was in it.
The first thing I looked at was the CF HardDrive, and in System/Programs I found DOpus. It's version 4 , and I am fine pleased with that.
Looking a bit further down the list of drawers, I saw Deluxe Paint IV.
That was a welcome surprise, because that is the single most important program that I wanted all along.
I am absolutely delighted.
Eager to try it out, I loaded up a few pictures and tried a couple of anims.
I was disapointed to find that it had dificulty loading up some HAM8 images , and
the animation "Cry" wouldn't play, puting up messages that there wasn't enough memory to play theses examples (?)
So I ran SysInfo and discovered that this A1200 only has 2 megs of Chip RAM...
and it tells me that there's no scsi, no boards, no FPU, and no clock.
That info took me down a peg or two - and now I recall that Alex said "So you're now going to have to buy a RAM card or accelerator for your A1200 to make it usable"
So I am going to take your advice and get me an accelerator right away.
I have purchased an ACA 1220 from Vesalia, as you suggested and that will give me 128MB of 32-bit Fast RAM.
And now I just have to wait for the mailman to deliver it...
Jim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: an A570 Jim MarketPlace 5 21 September 2013 10:02
A570 Help tronko request.Other 13 21 July 2010 02:13
A Few A570 Questions HogWild support.Hardware 4 17 June 2009 09:02
How to mount A570? JackTheKnife support.Hardware 37 21 December 2008 17:13
A570 - No caddie CRAZG support.Hardware 15 29 October 2007 20:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10871 seconds with 14 queries