English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2013, 22:43   #1
clownstyle
Registered User
clownstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 139
CF card errors?

Hi all,

My CF card bought from amigakit.com seems to be playing up. In all fairness, this was bought a couple of years ago now. (Think it's a kingston)

I have reformatted the drive a number of times, installing GAAE classic workbench.

I have tried setting max transfers to 0x001FE00 as suggested, but still seem to get some checksum errors.

I did try the PFS3 filesystem, thinking this might get rid of some of the errors but then I got: wrong index block ID error - Although I managed to install PFS3 without errors.

The drive gets to a point where I cannot re-edit any partitions in HDtoolbox, winuae gives the error: winuae block zero write failed - Which I believe is related to the drive partitions, rather than Administrator rights (I'm already running as admin) I'm left with no alternative but to wipe the partitions with EaseUS partition manager - Disk Part refuses to clean the drive for some reason, with the error: Diskpart has encountered an error: the system cannot find the file specified...

I hear there is a way to fool WinUAE into writing to the drive, but I will need to be running XP, and an old version of WinUAE.. Tried this in a virtual machine, but that didn't work, although I think that was due to the environment.. I would dual boot XP if this would work.. I think FitzSteve might be able to help me with this, because I had seen it in one of his posts.. Just unsure what version of WinUAE would use the -disablehardrivesafetycheck option?

So it's either something I'm doing wrong, or I need a new CF card. Any tips?

PS - Just realised this could go in the hardware forum

Last edited by clownstyle; 12 November 2013 at 23:41. Reason: I'm a dumbass
clownstyle is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 00:00   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,736
If every software you use is telling you that this CF card can no longer be written to, then it's time to get a new one.

Usually people ask how data can be recovered from their dying storage. But you've already destroyed everything there was to recover, so you are prepared to trash it and start from scratch with a new one. Just do it.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 00:03   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownstyle View Post
Just realised this could go in the hardware forum
So I've moved it for you.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 00:05   #4
clownstyle
Registered User
clownstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 139
Thanks for that Thomas. I think all I was really looking for was a confirmation that I needed a new one

You have a lot of experience, if I get a new card is it worth using a PFS3 filesystem on an a600?

Can you recommend any brand / type of CF card? People seem to recommend the Sandisk ultra II from what I have read so far.

PS- Thanks Prowler

Last edited by clownstyle; 13 November 2013 at 00:18.
clownstyle is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 00:18   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,736
For speed reasons it's definitely worth to use PFS3 on a slow computer.

On the other hand due to its "atomic commit" mechanism it does a lot of writes to the same sector on the partition. AFAIK CF cards don't do wear leveling like SSDs do, so I could imagine that PFS3 shortens the card's live time more than FFS does.

But anyway I am surprised that the CF card died for you at all. Actually I thought that it was not possible to do this with AmigaOS. Thinking about what CF cards are made for, i.e. storing lots of photos or videos and being wiped before every new vacation, I would mean that this would stress the card much more than a more or less read-only operating system.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 00:21   #6
clownstyle
Registered User
clownstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 139
I'm quite suprised it died as well. That's why I thought it might be me doing something wrong.

The PFS3 error does seem to suggest it's the card though, as well as the constant checksum errors when I try and write something in dopus using FFS
clownstyle is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 04:06   #7
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 972
I had a 4 Gig Kingston Card die on me after only Six Months use
Nobby_UK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Errors in the Zone? Dunny project.EAB 4 25 June 2012 22:33
Winuae and CF some errors glue support.Hardware 7 25 June 2011 22:07
Memory expansion card errors kixs support.Hardware 7 12 February 2009 13:57
CF Card issues with checksum errors DC33 support.Hardware 39 19 January 2009 04:46
Ncomm errors vertigo support.Apps 6 12 November 2003 00:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08125 seconds with 15 queries