English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 December 2003, 15:35   #1
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
quicky about Protext 6.5

Just wondered what the difference is between Protext v6.11 and v6.5. I'm using 6.11 on my newly built 1200 tower with CGX card and it works great but if I saw 6.5 would it be worth upgrading???

A merry chrimbo to you all
yadster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 December 2003, 15:41   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I have no idea, but...

....Wow Yadster, an A1200 tower now! You've really gone for the Amiga in a big way since you decided to buy that initial A1200...........
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 December 2003, 15:52   #3
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
I think I have a problem I saw a Mediator for sale cheapish and had to have it, got a cheapy graphics card and voila I now have the Miggy I always dreamt of. It was a pig to set up at times but that was probably more down to my own stupidity but by using the search facility on EAB and with the help of Aminet it's all working tickety-boo now and I now know more about the workings of my Amiga than I ever did 10 years ago when all I had to rely on was Amiga Format and CU Amiga for help.
yadster is offline  
Old 21 December 2003, 16:14   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
You've just found a hobby that's all.

If you have a digital/web cam, why not start a thread and post a few pics showing your hard work. Some screen caps of the workbench too.

As for chrimbo, you can tell - it's so quiet around here! Looking forward to a sesh on xmas eve, and then that HUGE meal the next day.......followed by fools n horses.

Hope you have a good one too.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 December 2003, 22:04   #5
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Here's the readme file from either 6.5 or 6.53, can't remember which, it was a long time ago

But seeing as the Amiga version has been dropped and is no longer available or supported, I'll zone 6.53 if I can find the disks...
Attached Files
File Type: zip readme.zip (9.2 KB, 117 views)
Severin is offline  
Old 22 December 2003, 20:13   #6
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Thanks for that Severin, a copy would be appreciated. I've looked high and low and the only site I can find only sells copies for the PC and Atari ST
yadster is offline  
Old 23 December 2003, 18:51   #7
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by Severin
But seeing as the Amiga version has been dropped and is no longer available or supported, I'll zone 6.53 if I can find the disks...
Many thanks Severin for uploading the file. Will give it a go after Chrimbo.
yadster is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 19:56   #8
mess
Registered User
mess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Copenhagen/ Denmark
Posts: 30
Hi Yaster

I have protext 6.53 so if you need that.
I can upload it to the Zone for you.
mess is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 20:45   #9
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by mess
Hi Yaster

I have protext 6.53 so if you need that.
I can upload it to the Zone for you.
That would be cool. I've yet to try Severin's but the more the merrier.
yadster is offline  
Old 30 December 2003, 20:50   #10
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodwych
You've just found a hobby that's all.

If you have a digital/web cam, why not start a thread and post a few pics showing your hard work. Some screen caps of the workbench too.
I might do that as it's a bit quiet around here - everybody's Chrimbo'd out I guess It's nothing special, no fancy start menu or anything. Just a combination of a clean uncluttered workbench, some Newicons and a shortcut to Protext which I use a lot. My drive is split into three parts, workbench, games and a backup partition that includes a copy of my current setup should anything go wrong as well as backups of all my writing.
yadster is offline  
Old 05 January 2004, 17:59   #11
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Just to thank Severin and Mess for all your help. I installed Protext 6.5 today and all works well. It did actually ask for a reg code which I've never encountered before in previous versions and there was no mention in my manual for 6.11 so I just entered a random 4 digit number and it seems to work.

Cheers again guys and a Happy New Year to you all.
yadster is offline  
Old 05 January 2004, 23:19   #12
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
The serial info for protext is stored in a file called 'protext.reg' the format is:

Line 1: user name
Line 2: serial number (mine is 30000)
Severin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing protext iggypop37 support.Amiga Forever 3 27 November 2012 13:10
Protext wanted Thorham request.Apps 21 27 November 2008 11:04
Quicky Question... Solid Snake support.Hardware 2 04 November 2008 01:32
Arnor Protext 6.5+ again... rob72 request.Apps 5 29 January 2004 18:53
Best WP like Protext? yadster support.Apps 12 22 June 2003 21:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07625 seconds with 16 queries