English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2003, 23:59   #41
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Well Minuous, it all goes back to how the classicwb began - a creation made on winuae for my real A1200 with 3.0 ROMS after having a mammoth Aminet sesh.

I never really intended to make it into install packs from the beginning, but since I had the zips lying around after transferring them to my real Amiga I decided to put them up for others thanks to Rck.

Apart from my A1200 only having 3.0 ROMS, the reasons WB 3.0 continues to be used are:

1) It's a "ClassicWB" setup ie - the one that came with 99% of A1200's with 3.0 ROMS - in other words good old standard WB3.0 which many A1200 owners should have lying around and can therefore use legally.

2) I'm sure Rck wouldn't be happy hosting 3.9 setups on his server, plus not many people would have the install CDROM if I added copy protection (including me!)

3) WB 3.0, for the average Amiga user, is capable of just about doing everything - WHDload games, Archiving, transferring files. Those who require more from their Amiga usually spend time doing their own setups anyway - these ones are for peeps with little time to mess around learning and want their amiga up and running quickly.

4) I'm too lazy to do any more versions as this WB 3.0 setup is the best for me!!

5) WB 3.1 seemed to guru on me more than 3.0??? Possible due to not having 3.1 ROMS??? Or just my imagination........

6) The thing runs Scalos anyway, so speed differences are mute between versions.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 27 October 2003 at 17:55.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 October 2003, 18:35   #42
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 49
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
WOW Bloodwych :eek

Another Great looking Workbench Screen.

Keep them comming I am enjoying using them
CPC464 is offline  
Old 17 October 2003, 20:26   #43
msbranin
 
Posts: n/a
Personally I was impressed with the 3.9 look. anyway you could upload that?

Im running an amiga 120 with a 030 50 mhz processor and 32 megs of fastRam
 
Old 18 October 2003, 17:05   #44
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Bloodwych: do u use FBlit? It reduces CHIP-memory usage very much. Noticed your wb-pics with just 1,2 mb of chip left. It just hurts me to see precious chip-memory wasted like that :'( . Let me provide you with a link to FBlit should you need it or not: http://www.tpec.u-net.com/downloads.html
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 October 2003, 19:37   #45
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by bamiga2002
Bloodwych: do u use FBlit? It reduces CHIP-memory usage very much. Noticed your wb-pics with just 1,2 mb of chip left. It just hurts me to see precious chip-memory wasted like that :'( . Let me provide you with a link to FBlit should you need it or not: http://www.tpec.u-net.com/downloads.html
Which is why I never wanted to use newicons, those screens were just an experiment. The workbench setups I provide currently have loads of chipram as you can see from the other shots.

Fblit was mentioned by yardster at the beginning of this thread. Problem is it makes the CPU do some of the blitter tasks and not really good for 020's. I'm afraid it also won't work with Scalos plus I don't like hardware hacks as they often cause compatibility, performance and stability probs. It took some persuasion to add the copper backgrounds and even they don't come without some issues.

I'll finish the newicon version and put it up for anyone interested. It'll still run the vast majority of WHDload games, but AGA titles will require the use of methods described in the readmes provided.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 27 October 2003 at 17:56.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 October 2003, 05:04   #46
gaterooze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle/Australia
Posts: 25
THANKS, Bloodwych. I just downloaded & installed your Classic WB setup & it's fantastic.

I bought my first A1200 (030/10mb) a couple of months ago and the previous owner's setup was a weird, tacky hode-podge filled with junk. I really wanted to format the thing and start fresh, but I was scared I'd screw something up (drivers, etc).

Looking at your Classic WB all-in-one thang prompted me to finally muck around with the machine -- I pulled out an old 1/2 gig HD from a laptop which died years ago, and replaced the A1200's HD, keeping the old one aside as a backup. A bit of faffing about later and I got everything up & running sweetly with your setup -- so THANK YOU!

When I owned an A500 'back in the day' I never did much exploring of the OS, so it's been a really fun learning experience. With your setup, and my reg'd WHDLoad, it's time to start loading on all the good stuff...
gaterooze is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 17:39   #47
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the positive comments.

Akira just has to find some free time and do a ClassicWB 2.0 version. Paul, you should get yours up as well.

Ok peeps, the new ClassicWB is just about finished and originally named the ClassicWB ADV SP!!

The initial problem with performance and chipram has been dramatically reduced. In fact, even though it's in 64 colour screenmode and uses Newicons it doesn't use that much more than the 16 colour ClassicWB ADV! I've also realised that with a few simple clicks, you can reduce the colour depth to 8,4 hell even 2 colours for AGA games that require loads of chip and they run fine.

The vast majority of normal WHDload games have no problems at 64 colour depth as chipram is nearly always above 1.6MB, even with the newicons.

As well as the new version release, all the other versions have been brought up to speedl:

* VirusExecutor updated to 2.28
* Libs updated to recent versions
* WHDload updated to 16 (unregistered)
* Jst from 4.7 to 4.8 final
* Pic->Icon feature improved with optimum settings as default
* Updated help files
* Updated Copper addon packs, now even smaller (700K)
* Further optimisation of certain program settings
* A-assign system now works 100%. (see Tips & FAQ)
* SFS files updated to most recent version
* More redundant files removed
* Various other improvements and optimisations to icons and layout

Release date: TBA (Dialup user so when I get some free time)

Last edited by Bloodwych; 03 November 2003 at 23:30.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 17:43   #48
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
As well as the pic posted earlier, here is another little sneek peek:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	classicwb_adv_sp_copper_v1(2).jpg
Views:	455
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	6101  
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 18:05   #49
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
looks lovely
yadster is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 18:07   #50
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Im going to have to transfer a nice workbench over to my machine tonight and check it out. I have plain old OS 3.0 desktop on mine now.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 18:12   #51
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Im going to have to transfer a nice workbench over to my machine tonight and check it out. I have plain old OS 3.0 desktop on mine now.
Thanks Yadster.

Unknown, the versions currently up are the older ones (although they still work well)! I will try and get these new ones upped as soon as possible, but with 56K it takes time. Hopefully I can get around someones house who has broadband.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 18:31   #52
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Ok let me know when they are up, I have to transfer the files via amiga explorer and that takes forever on serial.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 27 October 2003, 18:37   #53
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Ok let me know when they are up, I have to transfer the files via amiga explorer and that takes forever on serial.
It's worth it though
yadster is offline  
Old 03 November 2003, 23:25   #54
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks again to Rck, the files are now available from the download page


Presentation on that page is A* as usual

Like to also thank Toni and crew as WinUAE, especially 822R7 (my current fav version), has performed flawlessly and been an invaluable tool in making these workbench setups.

Also, as I mentioned earlier in the thread, I'd like to thank the Amiga scene too for all the great apps, peeps. etc etc!!!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 16 December 2003 at 17:37.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 November 2003, 19:02   #55
msbranin
 
Posts: n/a
Awesome addition. I really Love your latest work. It went onto my Amiga 1200 last night flawlessly.
 
Old 05 November 2003, 02:09   #56
fisken uno
Commodore's biatch
fisken uno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 670
Just gotta say that I've joined your fanclub, Bloodwych!

Your ClassicWB is SO good. And way more compatible than AIAB or OS3.9 (some WHDload games that did not work with them worked with YOUR setup, I don't know why).
fisken uno is offline  
Old 07 November 2003, 12:03   #57
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the comments.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2003, 09:21   #58
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I finally got off my ass and loaded your classicwb and the associated copper addon. Looks nice after I changed the default interlaced pal mode to 640x480 productivity (multisync mode).

It did take over an hour to transfer the zips over via serial, now Im going to get my network card setup so I can move some hdf files to it quicker.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 19 November 2003, 18:42   #59
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Aye, I found my unfinished 2.0 setup the other day. I will might finish it up this summer (winter to you north hemisphere loonies )
Akira is offline  
Old 19 November 2003, 21:06   #60
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I've just this week started using your setup Bloodwych, I'm very impressed, so little to do and sooooo easy to setup!

I'm gonna port it to my old A1200 soon!

CHEERS!
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deluxe Galaga v2.6c AGA - different versions cfTrio support.Games 7 08 February 2013 17:48
Putty Squad - SNES vs AGA versions Mequa Retrogaming General Discussion 4 15 January 2013 21:37
ClassicWB for NON AGA marchines? retrogamer project.ClassicWB 9 25 November 2007 15:44
Strider II (AGA fixed versions) NfernalNfluence support.Games 5 06 April 2007 13:06
req: Ishar 1, 2 and 3 (AGA versions only) wlcina request.Old Rare Games 1 08 September 2004 21:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11589 seconds with 16 queries