English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2018, 00:00   #1
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
A1200 Replica PCB Progress



Just a little hint what I am doing as I am on a businesstrip and are kinda boored at the hotel
Chucky is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 June 2018, 00:17   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 413
As they say, not all heros wear capes. Unless you do wear a cape Chucky?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 03:17   #3
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,642
Now that is a great project!

I hope boredom keeps filling your schedule this way.

Will you consider reworking some connections?

I mean, for example, getting S-video from the sony encoder, an ATX PSU header instead of the weird PSU connector the Amiga has, a proper reset header, a floppy disable header, a 15khz vga sub d 15 pin output, etc.

Last edited by gulliver; 14 June 2018 at 03:23.
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 07:43   #4
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
As I am doing this in "Sprint layout" a software that is awesome for reverseing a PCB like this (just draw traces above a scanned picture) but editing is a pain. I will do very very little modifications. this is just to get a gerber. AND to verify the schematic is correct. (they sometimes differ against the reality.. like small parts of the 3640) so when this is done I might on next boored businesstrip do schematics in eagle or so. and from THERE do a completly new routing etc. but maingoal is simply to have replacementpcbs.

I have ideas of at RF area add a footprint for 15KHz VGA and also rework the CXA area to support a more modern version of it not needing those delaylines etc. we'll see there.

but.. replacement PCB and gerber that will be the maingoal (YES! I will release all files. even the sprint workfile)
Chucky is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 07:45   #5
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
AND this is the 1D.4 revision as it was that board I got a good 600DPI scan of a bare board. meaning we will have data to follow traces etc. mabe guys behind pcb explorer can use that sometime.
Chucky is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 08:36   #6
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 92
Loving this .
JLPedro is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 09:49   #7
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
As they say, not all heros wear capes.
I am quite sure this one does
kolla is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 09:51   #8
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 71
You definitely have to much spare time :-D

I realy love that stuff of yours!
elenachen is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 10:28   #9
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
You definitely have to much spare time :-D

I realy love that stuff of yours!

What else to do being alone on a hotel for a week while being in Gothenburg doing workstuff..
(like I am every 8th week)
Chucky is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 11:01   #10
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 104
This is awesome Chucky!
AJCopland is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 11:59   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,734
Ahh, more projects for me to get into and never finish. Thanks! :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 12:26   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
What else to do being alone on a hotel for a week while being in Gothenburg doing workstuff..
(like I am every 8th week)

Chucky where in GBG? Can I hand over some mobos for fixing :-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 12:29   #13
Djole501
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Prijedor
Posts: 50
This is very interesting, i would very much like at least one board. Good work!!!
Djole501 is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 13:03   #14
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Chucky where in GBG? Can I hand over some mobos for fixing :-)
Staying at Opalen.. Now in Askim and working
Chucky is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 15:00   #15
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Staying at Opalen.. Now in Askim and working

I sent you a PM ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 23:38   #16
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 435
¨



So far..
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 June 2018, 00:30   #17
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 240
Very nice!

There have been so many PCB's designed recently it's like a new golden age. I knew the A1200.net case would come in handy eventually.

A500 motherboard next please.
Mick is offline  
Old 15 June 2018, 01:39   #18
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 113
can i buy one first on list thanks.
jediknight is offline  
Old 15 June 2018, 06:00   #19
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 460
Thanks for doing this Chucky, impressive work. Is it a four layer board?

BTW: For those interested in populating an empty PCB, are the components still available? Assuming some are hard to find.
modrobert is offline  
Old 15 June 2018, 07:43   #20
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
A500 motherboard next please.

Already available.
http://imgbox.com/eK8J6jXz
Predseda is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Fund the Amiga 4000 Replica Project! Acill Amiga scene 75 15 August 2018 04:03
Amiga PCB Explorer (A4000 Desktop PCB Rev B) SuperPlay Amiga scene 6 04 January 2018 15:21
A1200 recap progress Acill Hardware pics 1 18 September 2016 02:21
A1200 power pinout on the pcb? spoUP Amiga scene 4 21 June 2013 02:00
My A1200 progress ck1200 Hardware mods 19 07 October 2010 18:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08477 seconds with 13 queries