English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2016, 02:24   #1
Counia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bx / France
Posts: 26
Optical mouse compatible AMIGA

I wanted to use an optical mouse (but no have programmer for logic Pic ).
I looked how an optical mouse function, and surprise it is 100% Amiga compatible.
Just need DB9-connector and 9 wires cable for guide signals in the Joy-port.

Now, i have optical-mouse with 3 bouttons on my A2000.

Illustration here:
Souris-Optique_Amiga'.JPG

REM1: signal logique for boutton can be inverted on any mouse.
REM2: no all mouse can be used with Amiga, with on chip and serial transmit, recently chip no have all signal for output.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Souris-Optique_Amiga'.JPG
Views:	455
Size:	361.9 KB
ID:	48409  

Last edited by Counia; 10 May 2016 at 02:32.
Counia is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 May 2016, 03:18   #2
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
fantastic ,but post the schematics + cable connections
I have idem mouse I will make this hack now
Sandro is offline  
Old 10 May 2016, 23:49   #3
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
I was looking at the pics posted and I understand now how I can do this

but the cable you purchased is grotesque ,so fat for a mouse, you should be used a serial mouse cable which are thin ideal for mouse

thanks I will try this later
Sandro is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 08:56   #4
glenn
Repulsive

glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: stockholm Sweden
Posts: 89
If I understand it right, this mouse have "raw" busmouse signals available on the chip in the mouse ?

I have loads of old optical mouses, guess I have to open a few of them
glenn is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 10:58   #5
Counia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bx / France
Posts: 26
For cable, more litle supple multi-wire is better ; but cost for cable + DB9, alredy find it...
Not the best choise but this is quick and cheap solution ~2€ (DB9 already weld, it is supple too and no very big of original tank-mouse 4,76mm vs 5mm).

Yes all signals present: (for equivalent mouses or chips).

X (br3;br2) <--> DB9 (2;4)
Y (br4;br5) <--> DB9 (3;1)
Of course, buttons DB9(6;9;5)
Counia is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 11:05   #6
Counia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bx / France
Posts: 26
Verify haw many wires in the old serial mouse ; need 9 (3 x boutton + 4 x movment + 2 x supply)
Counia is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 15:06   #7
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 406
How does one find out if the mouse is of the right type or not? By the thickness of the mouse cable or number of wires in it?

Looking at the signals and wires you specify I assume the scroll wheel only works as a third button? I have an old PS/2 three-button mouse somewhere which I used for unix before scroll wheels became popular, I might try that...
grond is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 16:01   #8
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
How does one find out if the mouse is of the right type or not? By the thickness of the mouse cable or number of wires in it?

Looking at the signals and wires you specify I assume the scroll wheel only works as a third button? I have an old PS/2 three-button mouse somewhere which I used for unix before scroll wheels became popular, I might try that...
I think Counia is referring to the mouse cable rather that the mouse!

PS/2 protocol is not compatible with the Amiga protocol so I guess the H/V pulses are tapped inside the mouse? i.e. the chip inside the mouse generates H/V movement?

Looks interesting!
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 16:07   #9
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
I think Counia is referring to the mouse cable rather that the mouse!
???


Quote:
PS/2 protocol is not compatible with the Amiga protocol so I guess the H/V pulses are tapped inside the mouse? i.e. the chip inside the mouse generates H/V movement?
Yes, that's what I also understand. The PS/2 connector has too few wires but apparently some mice have the same signals internally as the amiga mouse and then encode them to use less wires. Now you can just get rid of the PS/2 cable and connect a new cable with D9 and 9 wires in it. Of course, you need to find the right points in the mouse to connect the wires to...
grond is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 16:26   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,841
Interesting... I modded several PS/2 ball mice back in the day by connecting the photodiode outputs directly to the 9-core cable, bypassing the chip inside (which converted the quadrature signals to serial). I didn't know some optical mice did the same sort of tracking but I guess it makes sense as a drop-in replacement for the ball mechanism. I'll have to investigate some spare mice to see what signals are available!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 17:41   #11
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
???
When Counia wrote this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Counia View Post
Verify haw many wires in the old serial mouse ; need 9 (3 x boutton + 4 x movment + 2 x supply)
I think they was referring to this comment:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
but the cable you purchased is grotesque ,so fat for a mouse, you should be used a serial mouse cable which are thin ideal for mouse
The cable won't help identify if the mouse works. All PS/2 cables should be the same. It's a serial protocol (and useless for us).
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 19:00   #12
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
The cable won't help identify if the mouse works. All PS/2 cables should be the same. It's a serial protocol (and useless for us).
Yes, true. So it seems to be a matter of luck to find a mouse that has this internal signal layout suitable for amiga. I'm willing to sacrifice my three-button mouse just to find out. If I find it...
grond is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 19:53   #13
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
With the RapidRoad I am actually using a wireless optical mouse, with scroll.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 May 2016, 20:46   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,632
Some optical chips (A2051) indeed output the quadrature signals natively, so you can adapt those for Amiga use.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 May 2016, 11:26   #15
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 572
Just taken apart 2 mice (1 PS/2, 1 USB) but no luck. Both use a 8 pin sensor/chip which looking at datasheets use a single IO pin for communication.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 14 May 2016, 13:30   #16
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,632
Yep, the A2051 is most commonly found in early 00's optical mice.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typhoon wireless optical Amiga mouse price drop! Mounty MarketPlace 2 28 June 2013 13:14
Typhoon Stream WiFi Optical Rechargeable mouse: Amiga Edition Mounty MarketPlace 6 30 May 2013 16:32
Mouse mat to lower optical mouse sensitivity? Bamiga2002 support.Hardware 7 22 March 2013 07:35
Optical Amiga mouse demolition Hardware pics 5 14 March 2013 16:50
Use Optical mouse? BarrySWE support.Hardware 7 26 September 2005 23:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09189 seconds with 15 queries