English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 October 2002, 10:26   #1
someamigauser
 
Posts: n/a
is converting an a1200HD to a desktop case possible?

just wondering because im thinking of putting a blizzard 603e+ PPC into my a1200HD's expansion... and i know that it does require allot of cooling... so im thinking that if i put the a1200 in a desktop case with a cooling fan then it should run fine... please dont hold back on telling me if this is a pathetic idea or not cheers

Last edited by someamigauser; 13 October 2002 at 07:59.
 
Old 12 October 2002, 19:53   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,696
Desktop ? Never heard of such before. You would need to change the case all on your own to fit the Amiga in.

But there are lots of prepared tower case solutions. You just need a screw driver for that.
thomas is online now  
Old 13 October 2002, 03:20   #3
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
I know what you mean by desktop case.

Certainly possible, as all parts will fit OK. I don't think it is a particularly good idea though. Those phase5 PPC cards run really hot, and it would be very tight and toasty in the case with a HD in there as well. The PPC card does have built-in cooling, but I would still worry about thermal shutdowns. Certainly leave the trapdoor cover off.

I guess you could always just try it. If the system crashes mid-session, put it down to heat and get that tower.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 14 October 2002, 04:23   #4
someamigauser
 
Posts: n/a
hmm.. would it be possible to install another fan in a console a1200hd where the ppc can go? im looking for any other cheap alternative before i rip the thing apart
 
Old 14 October 2002, 11:48   #5
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
I guess so, but it had better be a dinky little fan. The Blizzard PPC was designed, like all other Amiga accelerator cards, to fit into the trapdoor of a desktop machine. Cannot give a definitive answer as to workability, as I myself have never tried this. My A1200 has been in a tower case for 4 years now.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 11 November 2002, 10:08   #6
front243
 
Posts: n/a
Elbox is making a very popular and good A1200 tower case. If you still want a desktop case, you could try to send them an email and ask if it can be done, and if you can get e.g. the keyboard adapter to their tower case separately.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Globalwin 802 - desktop or server case Bloodwych MarketPlace 3 13 October 2010 16:20
A4000T mobo in an desktop AT case protek support.Hardware 4 03 October 2008 11:05
A1200 Desktop Case Screws needed Peter request.Other 4 12 September 2007 14:55
[FA] A4000/030 Desktop Case scan_x MarketPlace 0 13 March 2004 17:13
[FA] Amiga 4000 Desktop Case scan_x MarketPlace 0 29 December 2003 10:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06192 seconds with 13 queries