English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2008, 13:06   #1
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Workshop Pron

I've just taken delivery of my new SMD tweezers (my journey to the dark side is now complete).

Although my camera is crappy, I'll post up some pics of my full workshop setup for those drooling pron lovers, and (hopefully) some WIP (that's work in progress, not bondage gear) over the coming weeks.

Workshop now consists of:

Heat-adjustable soldering Iron (pointy tip)
Hot air rework station (adjustable heat and airflow)
SMD tweezers (currently only 2mm tips, but available up to 30mm)
Multimeter
Dremmel multitool
Hot glue gun
"Helping hands" work holder

And associated extras (flux, solder, braid, tweezers, pointy tools, anti-static band, etc).

First thing, finish diagnostic & (hopefully) repairs on my Scandy.

Just need some time now...
Boot_WB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2008, 23:26   #2
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Here's some pics of the kit, although my spare romm is in major need of a sort out before I do any work with it:

Soldering iron, hot air rework station, and (new toy) SMD tweezers:


Dremel and multimeter:



Some extra useful tools:

(The syringes are flux and solder paste before you get worried)

And my two new puppies (this one's just a teaser):


Boot_WB is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 02:29   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Boot WB

Loving the T's baby!!!!

nice setup!

lets see i think i have a shot somewhere here....



Firstly i have been collecting this for a while so, lets begin
  • KADA850D with temp controlled Iron and Hot Ai
  • Scroll Saw
  • Drill Press
  • UV Box EEPROM eraser
  • Craft Knifes / Scaples
  • 1.5KG Vice
  • Helping Hands
  • 3x Diopter Halo Lamp on swing Arm
  • 2x 32 component draws
  • 2x multimeters
  • Wiliem 4.5 Programmer + 27c interface
  • Xecutor Lite Programmer
  • Modified Sx260 to 270 P4 2.8 (thanks Keropi) SFF programmer (linux / Windows duel boot)
  • Black and Decker RT650 (Dremel Rotary Tool)
  • Flux's Paste's / Liquids
  • 4x Metal Epoxy Putty
  • ..... shit loads.... LOADS

I must tidy it more and tale more pics

the above picture I did for Sarek, while chipping his XBOX,

you can read some more on my XBox Hackery on old skool
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 02:38   #4
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Holy crap!

That's better equipped than the first year Mech Eng lab I used at Uni!

I see I have some way to go...
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 02:43   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
LOL,

I have been building the workshop area now for a couple of years. just added the three larger bits of equipment, (scroll saw, Drill Press and Hot Air rework station)


I will try and get some more pics of the table behind it... LOL and the other desk ... hmmm i might have too much stuff.....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 05:47   #6
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
wow, some great stuff here ... puts my simple soldering iron to shame

btw, zetro you actually have a window and some green stuff in front of your workshop ? wow, now I'm really jealous !
coze is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 14:30   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Coze

LOL, that green stuff is apparently my back garden.... hmmmm.... strange... i dont remember it being that long.... maybe i should cut it.... or buy a goat! LOL

@Boot WB

I have been tempting to get a set of them hot iron twezzers for some Through Hole rework i have, how good are they?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 20:46   #8
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Just tried them out today for the first time.

Up to useable heat within a minute or two. They're comfortable, easy to use, make smd component soldering simple, but they run way too hot for my liking - I bought the cheap ones which just run directly from the mains, so it's my own fault really. I'm going to have to install some sort of control (eg a variable resistor) in there to be able to adjust the temperature eventually.

Any extra tweezer tips (available between 1mm and 30mm) cost £7.50 per pair, although with the right equipment it would be easy to fashion your own - they're just plate stainless steel bent into shape, and attached to the unit with a grub screw.

All in all I'm happy with them for the price (£45), but if you're considering buying some it may be worth looking at the ones which incorporate some temperature control.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 21:54   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Boot_WB

interesting, very much so, thanks for the heads up.

I have a spare Mains Variable Switch, (came from a light switch ) is quite variable and it has mountings and knurl
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 April 2008, 02:29   #10
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Sounds interesting!
Would you be willing to part with said knurl-knobbed item?

Regards



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 20 April 2008, 02:32   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
sure thing m8y.. i got a batch of 8 of them as a job lot on Fleabay a few years ago

they should do the job perfectly

infact i may just post a shot of hardware Pr0nary right here in the morning

and for the amazing sum of the cost of postage and obviously the Hardware Pron of its installation
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 April 2008, 02:36   #12
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
Most civilized, thankyou. I'll send you my address by pm.

Regards



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 30 April 2008, 00:51   #13
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,631
thread moved from project.eab
BippyM is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 13:42   #14
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 39
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rave Send a message via MSN to rave Send a message via Yahoo to rave
@ Zetr0:

LOL Xecuter 2.6!!!

I'm a die hard X3 fan/installer, you must have done a few 1.6 boxes by now mate! what PITA they are!!!
rave is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 14:27   #15
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Rave

indeed, and they are... although i LOVE soldering 30AWG, they can be a chore!

strangest one thought... my m8 Yorkies XBox 1.6, rebuild the LDV... powered it up with te executer... installed XBMC... 45 mins later it turns itself off!

every time!!!! checked everything....i think its a bad cap to be honest... but weird... itsthe only like it...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:38   #16
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 39
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rave Send a message via MSN to rave Send a message via Yahoo to rave
@ zeets,

Yup, imho its a bad cap, had it a few times, took days to figure out what it was, tried loads of different dashes, drives etc etc, and even pulled the X2.6 and replaced it with an alladin!
Turned out as said, to be a cap.
M$ used cheap electrolyte caps! no surprise!!!!
Although, I had one once where i flashed a non-eject fix BIOS to the X3 and it cured it!! weird huh!!!
Also I have had one where the caps were so far gone, it looked like the innards of an A2000 after some serious battery leakage!!!!

Oh yeah, I just remembered, we had a similar prob once and its was a burnt out transistor, cant remember which one, but ill ask me mate if he can remember.....
rave is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 15:53   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Rave

appreciate that, but worse case scenario i shall just use it as a spares board and rob the memory chips so i can make a 128MB XBox )

I found a really cheap source of Allading 512KB bios chip mods, at £10 each AND i managed to score 3 XBoxes from fleabay, all working (one needed a replacement psu) all for under £30 and thats include postage..... now i have too many xboxes at my house... LOL
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 17:08   #18
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 39
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rave Send a message via MSN to rave Send a message via Yahoo to rave
@ zeets,

lol!

If you do the 128mb mod, let me know how XBMC and uaex run.
Apparently they can take advantage of the extrat RAM!!!
rave is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 17:34   #19
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Indeed i shall do a how to, if not here, on oldskool
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 June 2008, 20:02   #20
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 33
Posts: 80
This thread excites me!

Oh how I dream of a scroll saw and bench drill
chaoticjelly is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anim Workshop Manual _amigan request.Other 0 03 December 2012 15:30
Anim Workshop Registration Disk Leandro Jardim support.Apps 0 16 April 2012 00:34
Anyone used Hanna Barbera Animation Workshop? RMK support.Apps 0 15 September 2011 21:53
Looking for Anim Workshop 2.0 amigagenie request.Apps 12 10 July 2011 17:07
Amiga 4000 hw resurrection workshop Reynolds Hardware mods 3 19 November 2008 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08738 seconds with 13 queries