English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2013, 15:36   #81
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
Today I went into transfering my A600 clone WinUAE system from the PC to the Amiga and for first time (using the latest b7) the USB Card Reader didn't boot the CF I was using.
I made quite few tries but I get blank reboots and a Guru after some time.
I reverted to the official 2.5.1 and CF booted just fine.

I did the ordinary Add Harddrive select the RDB enabled CF, mark Read/Write and proceed.
With UAE controller as always, system showed the blank screen and reboots.
With IDE0 and SCSI0 I got the Kickstart logo.
Same settings with 2.5.1 work just fine and system boots without a single issue.

Is there anything I can check or log for you to check it out Toni?
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 15:58   #82
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Today I went into transfering my A600 clone WinUAE system from the PC to the Amiga and for first time (using the latest b7) the USB Card Reader didn't boot the CF I was using.
I made quite few tries but I get blank reboots and a Guru after some time.
I reverted to the official 2.5.1 and CF booted just fine.

I did the ordinary Add Harddrive select the RDB enabled CF, mark Read/Write and proceed.
With UAE controller as always, system showed the blank screen and reboots.
With IDE0 and SCSI0 I got the Kickstart logo.
Same settings with 2.5.1 work just fine and system boots without a single issue.

Is there anything I can check or log for you to check it out Toni?
Include winuelog.txt using 2.5.1 and latest beta. (use exact same config in both). winuaebootlog.txt is not needed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:46   #83
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Include winuelog.txt using 2.5.1 and latest beta. (use exact same config in both). winuaebootlog.txt is not needed.
There you go Toni mate.
I've attached both the logs from version 2.5.1 and 2.6.0b7
The beta was left for 2x Gurus upon booting just to be sure you gathered enough info
Attached Files
File Type: zip mfilos_WinUAE_log.zip (9.2 KB, 99 views)
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:54   #84
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
There you go Toni mate.
I've attached both the logs from version 2.5.1 and 2.6.0b7
The beta was left for 2x Gurus upon booting just to be sure you gathered enough info
Attach your config, thanks. It seems there is something unexpected in HD config that disables RDB mode.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:04   #85
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Attach your config, thanks. It seems there is something unexpected in HD config that disables RDB mode.
I'm attaching the 2 configs from both versions.
I also attach a screenshot of both Hard Drive declarations!
It seems that 2.6.1b7 doesn't recognize my CF's size.
Click image for larger version

Name:	CF.png
Views:	368
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	34313

Just for more info... my CF is a Transcend 16GB 133x with 2x partitions (1x 1024MB, 2x The rest)
Attached Files
File Type: zip mfilos_WinUAE_configs.zip (6.8 KB, 96 views)
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:14   #86
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
I'm attaching the 2 configs from both versions.
I also attach a screenshot of both Hard Drive declarations!
It seems that 2.6.1b7 doesn't recognize my CF's size.
Attachment 34313

Just for more info... my CF is a Transcend 16GB 133x with 2x partitions (1x 1024MB, 2x The rest)
Your 2.6 config is broken (missing data at the end of hardfile line), how did you create it?

2.5 config looks ok, does it work if you load it to 2.6?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:22   #87
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
What on earth?
Yeah config made on 2.5.1 works just fine on 2.6.0b7!!!

The way I made the configuration in b7 was to open my clone config, remove the hard disks as always, and ADD the real CF Hard disk.
Then I used "Save As" to save the configuration as a new one (which I send to you).
Same procedure was used in 2.5.1 as well.

Something's wrong either with how b7 is handling my CF, or how it saves the configuration.
I guess it's the 1st one though, as when I add my CF, it recognizes it as I showed in the previous screenshot with no size etc.
Loading the 2.5.1 config, uses the actual size that works and CF boots!!!
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:42   #88
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Confirmed. Add Harddrive -option set some incorrect hidden hardfile parameters, broke some betas go I think. http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should work again.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:47   #89
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
It sure does!
Thanks for the quick recovery mate
mfilos is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 17:12   #90
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2600b8.zip

Beta 8:

- CD SCSI emulation: implemented mode sense CD/DVD page code 0x2A. Used to detect drive capabilities, for example if it can read or write CD-R, DVD-ROM or DVD-R and so on.
- SCSI emulation MODE SENSE didn't limit returned amount of bytes to allocation length field.
- BPLCON0 SuperHires bit disables normal DDFSTRT/DDFSTOP limits. (Why?)
- Resolve shortcut path if mounting shortcut (.lnk) as a harddrive.
- If inserting RDB hardfile using GUI: get device's blocksize from RDB block size field.
- Attempted write to SCSI or IDE CD (using normal SCSI Write command) crashed.
- Return WP bit set in SCSI Mode Sense result if SCSI HD is write protected.
- Add harddrive option set wrong parameters, drive was added as non-RDB partition hardfile (some earlier beta).
- Hardfiles and harddrives: attempt to mount as read-only before failing if read-write access is not allowed.
- Hide bootpri/bootable/donotmount boxes in GUI when selected RDB mode/controller combination does not support them.
- Added support for write protected disk images even if physical file is write-enabled. Config file only, floppyXwp=true
- 68020/030 no-FPU F-line exceptions didn't work correctly, broke in previous 68040+ FPU disabled exception updates.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 February 2013, 17:59   #91
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2600b9.zip

Beta 9:

- 68000 NBCD didn't emulate undocumented V-flag behavior. (Probably forgotten long time ago because SBCD had correct implementation)
- It was impossible to get out of halted CPU state in some situations.
- FDBcc and FScc 6888x FPU instructions without installed FPU returned wrong f-line exception PC field.
- Directory filesystem: emulate Windows shortcut (.lnk) files and symbolic links as Amiga side soft links. Implements ACTION_READ_LINK. Works also across drives if shortcut/link target exists in any mounted directory harddrive. Not guaranteed to be 100% correct implementation, Amiga softlinks are a bit strange.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 February 2013, 17:16   #92
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,288
Hi Toni,

I noticed that when I am downloading a big file with FileZilla (on Windows side) using A2065, in this case, the emulation session slow down considerably (on Amiga side). And when I activate the MiamiDX Control panel to see the internet traffic speed, the number shown there counts even the amount that Windows transferred, too.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 27 February 2013, 17:34   #93
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Hi Toni,

I noticed that when I am downloading a big file with FileZilla (on Windows side) using A2065, in this case, the emulation session slow down considerably (on Amiga side). And when I activate the MiamiDX Control panel to see the internet traffic speed, the number shown there counts even the amount that Windows transferred, too.
Guaranteed to be in wrong thread. Don't do it again, please.

winpcap feature or you have have command line a2065_promiscuous option active.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 March 2013, 05:20   #94
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 39
Posts: 2,610
Damn it Toni stop slacking, we need a new beta update

Ok well, I do so I can do another brilliant WinUAE article
Neil79 is offline  
Old 03 March 2013, 14:11   #95
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Status report: I am trying to add custom event support to GamePorts remap option (custom event = remove disk in drive, quit emulator etc..), it is quite common input mapping feature that should be available without use of annoying Input panel.

Unfortunately it won't really fit with current GamePorts remap design..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 March 2013, 23:58   #96
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,966
There's a small problem with NetBSD's default programmed display mode used on AGA machines for the X desktop. The area to the right of the desktop is white. And on NetBSD 5.2 only, a few pixels to the left of the desktop are also white.

See screenshots for NetBSD 3.1, NetBSD 4.0.1 and NetBSD 5.2. Boot the pre-installed HDF with an A4000 config, log in as root and type startx to see the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NetBSD_3.1_AGA_X.png
Views:	272
Size:	3.7 KB
ID:	34527   Click image for larger version

Name:	NetBSD_4.0.1_AGA_X.png
Views:	219
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	34528   Click image for larger version

Name:	NetBSD_5.2_AGA_X.png
Views:	224
Size:	3.5 KB
ID:	34529  
mark_k is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 00:38   #97
nnever2000
Registered User
nnever2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Status report: I am trying to add custom event support to GamePorts remap option (custom event = remove disk in drive, quit emulator etc..), it is quite common input mapping feature that should be available without use of annoying Input panel.
indeed very useful feature.....
nnever2000 is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 15:05   #98
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2600b10.zip

Beta 10:

- SCSI CD MODE SENSE emulation fixes.
- SCSI CD Write commands should return unknown command error, it is not a CD writer.
- SCSI CD and HD: return correct sense code if Read or Write command tries to access out of bounds LBAs.
- SCSI/ATAPI CD: return medium changed unit attention sense data after media change.
- OCS and ECS Denise/AGA have slightly different behavior when program writes to BPL1DAT to enable sprites before DDFSTRT (sort of AGA bordersprite option), OCS: only works if hpos is large enough (~40+), ECS: smaller limit (or no limit, didn't test).
- Soft link emulation improved.
- Directory filesystem ACTION_MAKE_LINK implemented, supports soft links only, creates shortcut (*.lnk) files.
- Entering GUI Harddrives panel removed image from internel CD image mounter if mounted as ATAPI or SCSI. (introduced few betas ago)
- Restructured blkdev.cpp unit handling.
- Sound autoswitching is disabled when AVI recording is active.
- Low latency vsync no buffer mode and doubled frames (100Hz+) was unstable.
- POTGO right button bit was temporarily and incorrectly active in some situations when loading state.
- D3D Low latency vsync in double and triple buffer double rate modes (100Hz+) now blank every other field to minimize "ghosting" effect. Will be optional later. (http://www.blurbusters.com/ for more information)
- Added hack that prevents incorrectly triggering CIA alarm interrupts in non-cycle exact modes due to not that good KS timer.device code. (It did not cause any problems, just wasted some emulated CPU time)
- Fixed memory corruption in exe to adf conversion code. (b1)

- GamePorts panel test/remap option rewritten.
* - Test and Remap buttons combined.
* - One or more events can be added.
* - Events can be removed one by one.
* - Non-key/joystick/mouse events (insert floppy, reset emulator etc..) can be added and removed. Not yet implemented.
* - Doubleclick on input list will record single input event.
* NOTE: Built-in (non-custom mode) events can not be edited, you need to start from scratch. (Click "Delete all")
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 22:18   #99
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
There's a small problem with NetBSD's default programmed display mode used on AGA machines for the X desktop. The area to the right of the desktop is white. And on NetBSD 5.2 only, a few pixels to the left of the desktop are also white.
Right side white area gets smaller if right border is blanked after programmed hsync starts but it does not go away completely. It may be normal.. (Also left side is blanked now before hsync start)

winuae.zip updated.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 22:25   #100
Kitty
Can’t rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,517
Thank you Toni for your continuous excellent work on WinUAE, I may have thanked you in the past before but I felt the need to do it again.
WinUAE is probably the most updated emulator on the net! Great stuff

Last edited by Kitty; 10 March 2013 at 12:51.
Kitty is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 11:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 16:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09867 seconds with 14 queries