English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2018, 15:10   #161
Jay22
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bolton
Posts: 3
V1.22 tested @ 85 mhz 1260 blizzard with particles set to 2000 full screen Ntsc,closewb.
15.7 fps
V1.9 craps out on timedemo @85mhz
Jay22 is offline  
Old 15 December 2018, 16:07   #162
Zoltar3.1
Registered User

Zoltar3.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Caladan
Posts: 20
Why Blue?
Looks like the Murfs village :-D a bit strange, walls use to have pale colours... ;-)
Zoltar3.1 is offline  
Old 16 December 2018, 01:35   #163
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay22 View Post
V1.22 tested @ 85 mhz 1260 blizzard with particles set to 2000 full screen Ntsc,closewb.
15.7 fps
V1.9 craps out on timedemo @85mhz
Cool, 15.7 sounds fast

How fast is v1.14 on the same machine?

Yes v1.9, v2.0 an v2.1 are all a bit buggy, best to go with v2.22 which is the one on AmiNet.

Oh wow, I didn't read your post properly the first time, you had particles set to 2000 and you still get 15.7 fps

That's crazy, it should be really slow with that many particles. The old version had particles set to 8 which is the default. Can you do a video of it running on your Amiga with 2000 particles, does it look good?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 December 2018, 12:04   #164
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 35
Posts: 158
The the best XMAS gift I could ever get!
arti040 is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 12:41   #165
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,407
i've finally had chance to try this out, the latest version on aminet.

timedemo demo1, blizzard 1260 80mhz, ntsc 320x200, full screen but with two levels of status bar, closewb, sound, particles at 250 = 16.2fps (59.7s). Using mmulibs 060 library, muredox, hsmathslibs, blazewcp, copymem060

Great work NovaCoder! M_filter is a great addition, it really improves the feel of the game.

Any chance of some AmiQuake2 optimisations? being able to reduce the screen render size would be very useful to try and get timedemo over 10fps


as a bit of fun, AtariQuake 1.3 on a 95mhz 060 Falcon, 320x200, with much faster ram than an amiga gets 16.4fps. Sound slows the atari down quite a bit and it has more particles (looks like twice 250). With sound off the speed is 17.7fps

Last edited by trixster; 30 January 2019 at 12:56.
trixster is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 12:14   #166
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,700
Wow 16.2, that's a great result

Any chance of seeing an updated video of it running at that speed?

What's the speed if you drop the particles right down to 8/16?

Not sure I ever want to touch the Amiquake 2 code, that stuff scares me these days LoL

I am going to look at updating my old AmiWolf ports next, have some ideas about making them more interesting
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 13:37   #167
str0m
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 22
Does Quake support the same commands from the software Quakeworld release. Going back a long time here from when I used to play it big time online (on PC...), we would turn all the detail off to get the FPS as high as possible. Looks a big ugly but might be of interest. A couple which used to help a lot,

d_mipcap

Type: Variable

Syntax: d_mipcap (0|1|2|3)

Default: 0

Description: Detail level.

Values:
0 - High detail level.
1 - Medium detail level.
2 - Low detail level.
3 - Minimum detail level.
d_mipscale

Type: Variable

Default: 1

Description: How much detail objects have.

Values:
0 - Full detail to objects.
1 - Some detail to objects.
2 - Medium detail to bjects.
3 - Low detail to objects.


Can't remember the rest and don't have my old config to hand. Was so serious back then, 4v4 games wouldn't happen if one team had an average ping 10ms less than another, pretty much every key on the keyboard was assigned to a message command to your team mates (linked to a proxy sw which added in your location and stats etc), the old pre voice days with low bandwidth...
str0m is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 07:00   #168
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by str0m View Post
Does Quake support the same commands from the software Quakeworld release. Going back a long time here from when I used to play it big time online (on PC...), we would turn all the detail off to get the FPS as high as possible. Looks a big ugly but might be of interest. A couple which used to help a lot,

d_mipcap

Type: Variable

Syntax: d_mipcap (0|1|2|3)

Default: 0

Description: Detail level.

Values:
0 - High detail level.
1 - Medium detail level.
2 - Low detail level.
3 - Minimum detail level.
d_mipscale

Type: Variable

Default: 1

Description: How much detail objects have.

Values:
0 - Full detail to objects.
1 - Some detail to objects.
2 - Medium detail to bjects.
3 - Low detail to objects.
This 68k port of WinQuake is hacked silly, I think all of these optimizations have already been done at a software level

The first port of AmiQuake before I started optimizing it only managed about 11 FPS on my overclocked 1260, much faster now
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 21:33   #169
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 399
Looking for the RTG Version.
We should give you a Vampire.
apex is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 21:43   #170
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,407
BlitzQuake is rtg

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=72310
trixster is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 21:54   #171
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 399
I have Blitzquake and running fine on Vampire, but I love Novacoder stuff.
apex is offline  
Old 08 September 2019, 22:04   #172
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 226
Hi Novacoder,, hi all i cannot made working you brillant conversion of quake, i have error message when launching "program failed error 8000000B"
on my CD32 TF330 and on winuae with 680060 no rtg, no jit, fpu on. all other fps working (doom, rise of the triad, heretic) i cannot tried older versions, may be he could help ? and for quake 2, i have a black screen, and white screen and it freeze……..
sorry for disturb, i really want to make it work and i have putted all files in right place.
EDIT : ok, it's working, some settings with cpu were not good

Last edited by thairacerjp; 08 September 2019 at 23:54.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 09 September 2019, 14:34   #173
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,407
Quake requires an fpu which is likely why it doesn’t work on your tf330
trixster is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 01:06   #174
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Quake requires an fpu which is likely why it doesn’t work on your tf330
Yep and it's also compiled and optimised specifically for an 060.
NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 20 07 June 2018 02:17
quake 2 68k turrican3 support.Games 93 22 May 2014 02:12
68k + Picasso (RTG) Demos ?? Amiten Amiga scene 14 27 August 2013 17:39
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 12:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07880 seconds with 14 queries