English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2018, 13:12   #21
Martijn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Utrecht, NL
Posts: 15
Well, I tried yesterday, but no luck. With the switch in normal internal=DF0: position, everything seemed fine, but in swapped state, things went weird:
- Amiga tried to boot from external DF0:
- During disk access to external drive, the internal drive made the same rhythmic sound as well (motor on or head movement, don't know)
- After a few seconds, everything went quiet and the insert disk screen reappeared.

So somehow in swapped mode, the amiga addressed the internal drive. I got a little scared and unsoldered the thing again. Looks like nothing broke and it works as before. I will probably have another look and check my circuit again tomorrow.

Btw: I did verify that my boot selector does actually switch sel 1 and sel 0, instead of only crossing the line for the external drive leaving the signal for the internal drive unconnected.
Martijn is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 January 2018, 02:01   #22
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
What you have is correct according to the diagram. Did you test the switch is doing what you think it's doing? (and not shorting pins you don't intend?)
r.cade is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 11:04   #23
Martijn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Utrecht, NL
Posts: 15
I haven't been able to fix it. I checked my creation again (I made a little four legged spider with the diodes and resistor coming together so as to not have to connect 3 leads to 1 pin on the board directly). For ground I just took a connection somewhere in the neighbourhood that seemed big and had no resistance measured between it and the shield, that should be correct, right?

Anyway, I took your advice of booting with the switch disabled and then flipping the switch, and that works perfectly. So I guess the drive identification is done only during booting?
Martijn is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Boot Selector gibs Amiga scene 60 26 October 2017 22:00
An External Gotek with a Boot Selector RetroManCave Amiga scene 0 19 October 2017 14:00
Gotek - boot to adf selector Sanxion support.Hardware 5 16 October 2017 14:46
Boot selector (DF0/DF1) {For A500} TroelsDK MarketPlace 9 28 October 2013 08:08
Alfa data boot selector installation Hoopz support.Hardware 5 08 April 2013 09:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05691 seconds with 13 queries