English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.Amiga Lore

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2012, 09:25   #1
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,786
Amiga Lore Bug Reports

Please report Amiga Lore bugs here.
CodyJarrett is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2012, 01:43   #2
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 51
Posts: 3,992
Not exactly bugs but:-

Main Project's & Links Page
When you've added 'EAB Facebook Page' beneath 'English Amiga Board (EAB)', everything has been pushed down and the description text has been pushed below the frame.

The Titanic on the Amiga - 100 Years Later article the level map/gamemap for Titanic Blinky is broken.
DH is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 03:44   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
http://www.abime.net/stats/view/item/id/1
Seems like there's a problem with item #9 on that list.
TCD is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 13:28   #4
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 454
On the main page http://www.abime.net/ I get a horizontal scrollbar no matter how I resize (widen) the browser window, same problem in Firefox, Opera and Chrome. Also, all the vertical scrollbars for each column makes it tricky to scroll the whole page if you use mouse wheel.

I tested the main page (http://www.abime.net/) using NetSurf and AWeb in latest Amikit, both failed. The forums and HOL works fine though.

The page doesn't load at all when using a browser without Javascript, or where Javascript is disabled. I guess a message like "You have to enable Javascript" would be in order, if it is required.

Last edited by modrobert; 18 April 2012 at 13:48.
modrobert is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 14:07   #5
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 51
Posts: 3,992
I use chrome (ver 18.0.1025.162 m) but I don't get this horizontal scrollbar, I'm using XP SP3 @ 1440x900 and I have also tried on my other setup using Chrome (same version as before) XP SP3 @ 1680x1050 same result, works fine.


Last edited by DH; 18 April 2012 at 14:29.
DH is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 14:27   #6
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
On the main page http://www.abime.net/ I get a horizontal scrollbar no matter how I resize (widen) the browser window, same problem in Firefox, Opera and Chrome. Also, all the vertical scrollbars for each column makes it tricky to scroll the whole page if you use mouse wheel.
What screen resolution are you using?

The vertical scrollbars should work with the mouse wheel when the mouse is hoving over each area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
I tested the main page (http://www.abime.net/) using NetSurf and AWeb in latest Amikit, both failed. The forums and HOL works fine though.

The page doesn't load at all when using a browser without Javascript, or where Javascript is disabled. I guess a message like "You have to enable Javascript" would be in order, if it is required.
I'll add a message when Javascript is turned off and have a link to the old abime.net portal (which is here now - http://old.abime.net).

The site doesn't support Amiga browsers. It's heavily based on a Javascript library... (sorry!)
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 14:39   #7
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 51
Posts: 3,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodyJarrett View Post
What screen resolution are you using?
Exactly what I was wondering

Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
... Also, all the vertical scrollbars for each column makes it tricky to scroll the whole page if you use mouse wheel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodyJarrett View Post
The vertical scrollbars should work with the mouse wheel when the mouse is hoving over each area.
I think modrobert was referring to vertically scrolling the whole MAIN PAGE up and down (the screen res must be small), when he uses his mouse wheel, he needs to avoid the other columns that have any vertical scrollbars or the main page won't budge

EDIT: The horizontal scrollbar problem: Other people are having the same problem as modrobert and they are using resolutions of adequate size... I tried IE and that shows the horizontal scrollbars no matter how wide you make the browser and my res is 1680x1050 which eliminates the need for that scrollbar, still don't know why my Chrome works fine as it doesn't on others :s

Last edited by DH; 18 April 2012 at 15:01.
DH is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 15:32   #8
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 454
My current resolution is 1440x900. I use Linux (Gnome).

Here are screen shots from each browser at various width.

Chrome:
http://www.eurasia.nu/images/submitt...20Chromium.png

Opera:
http://www.eurasia.nu/images/submitt...0-%20Opera.png

Firefox:
http://www.eurasia.nu/images/submitt...%20Firefox.png

Quote:
I think modrobert was referring to vertically scrolling the whole MAIN PAGE up and down (the screen res must be small), when he uses his mouse wheel, he needs to avoid the other columns that have any vertical scrollbars or the main page won't budge
Yes exactly, not really a bug, more of a comment.
modrobert is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 16:18   #9
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 51
Posts: 3,992
Your height of browser means the vertical scroll bar is always present and that may be why there's a horizontal scrollbar being auto displayed. This maybe caused because the browser thinks something is always being cut off from the width or maybe it's down to the code in Amiga Lore.

Make your browser as high as possible to eliminate the vertical scrollbar and then the horizontal one will disappear too so long as it's wide enough

EDIT: Switch off the status bars in IE, FF and remove any download status bars that chrome adds too, to maximize the height

Last edited by DH; 18 April 2012 at 16:34.
DH is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 17:01   #10
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 454
I can confirm that full screen mode (F11) works, so your theory about the vertical scrollbar causing the horizontal seems correct, but I avoid browsing in full screen mode. Generally I use pretty slim browser windows, A4 paper format, and a bit of desktop visible over and under.
modrobert is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Stable Series - Questions, Feedback and Bug Reports FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 229 14 May 2018 18:22
AROS m68k Bug Reports Ezrec Amiga scene 1 03 October 2011 22:40
Improving at making bug reports NewDeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 03 October 2009 04:58
whdload bug reports pbareges support.Games 22 12 January 2007 20:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07229 seconds with 15 queries