English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2018, 22:33   #1
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
Can't partition CFs anymore

Maybe this is something simple as with the PPC support, but since WinUAE v 3.5.0 WinUAE keeps crashing on me when I try to partition CFs.

Independent which IDE A600/1200/4000 setting I use (CF, HD, ATA 1, 2, 2 strict)

Although maybe I found out what it is, if I mount the CF reader and 1 other folder as HDD on the PC it seems fine, as soon as I mount an additional PC folder (so 2 PC folders each as separate Amiga HDD) this behaviour seems to occur.

Maybe the logs can tell you something.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlogCFcrash.txt (40.1 KB, 8 views)
File Type: txt winuaelogCFcrash.txt (72.1 KB, 10 views)
spudje is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2018, 22:47   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
First step is to always try without JIT. Does it create dump file?
Does 32-bit version work? (64-bit may cause random crashes in some situations and it is only fixed in later 3.6 betas)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 January 2018, 21:58   #3
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
Same behaviour without JIT. No crash dump generated. I can now also recreate the behaviour by:
- mounting 1 CF and 1 windows folder (with plain AOS3.9)
- Going to HD tools
- Opening partition of the CF (which is already partitioned)
- Go to change for details
- Resizing that windows again generates the crash/reboot

Not yet tried 32bit version, not happy having multiple WinUAEs on my machine.
spudje is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 22:01   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
Non-JIT 32-bit crash dump would be helpful from 3.5.0. Decrease memory size to as small as possible to hopefully reduce size of crash dump file.

EDIT: you can also try latest 3.6 beta (http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=341) to confirm if isn't already fixed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 January 2018, 22:44   #5
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
Same behaviour with 3.6.0 beta17 64 bit. Just a very quick test. Will see if there is a crash dump some other time. Should I still also try 32bit?
spudje is offline  
Old 11 January 2018, 22:46   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Same behaviour with 3.6.0 beta17 64 bit. Just a very quick test. Will see if there is a crash dump some other time. Should I still also try 32bit?
Yeah, try both. But don't delay dump file too much because 3.6 release date is in next 1-2 weeks..
EDIT: Remember to switch off JIT. Dump file is useless if JIT was enabled.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 January 2018, 22:52   #7
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
OK, and the dump file ends up in the exe folder? And is it there always or do I need to turn something for it to be generated. (I understood this was automatically generated only with some crashes). I'll try later today, otherwise tomorrow then.
spudje is offline  
Old 11 January 2018, 22:59   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
OK, and the dump file ends up in the exe folder? And is it there always or do I need to turn something for it to be generated. (I understood this was automatically generated only with some crashes). I'll try later today, otherwise tomorrow then.
It is automatically generated. Unless it is really bad crash but they are very rare or if Windows Error Reporting is completely disabled.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 January 2018, 23:17   #9
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
Tried now with 32bit 3.6.0 b17 no JIT. Same behaviour. No dmp created (or somewhere I don't know, not in exe folder, not in folder where the log files are).
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (89.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: uae HDtoolboxcrash.uae (12.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: zip winuaelog.zip (21.2 KB, 6 views)
spudje is offline  
Old 11 January 2018, 23:29   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
What exactly happens? Do you get usual Windows crash dialog or does it just disappear? Last lines of log shows GUI being open which does not make sense in crash situations.. Did you really mean winuae crashing or emulated Amiga crashing? (which are totally different things)

If you run winuae with -log -logflush parameter ("winuae.exe -log -logflush"), does any extra lines appear in the log window when it crashes? (Those lines usually get truncated from log file without -logflush)

Does it only happen if CF is mounted as A4000 IDE but works if mounted as UAE?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 January 2018, 23:35   #11
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
I mean emulated Amiga crashes. Very quick check, with UAEHF no crashes.

Rest I will report tomorrow, gonna watch Dakar report now
spudje is offline  
Old 12 January 2018, 18:06   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
Then it is nearly guaranteed to be Amiga side issue (memory size, stack, some bad patch and so on, lots of possibilities).

EDIT: Enable at least illegal memory logging (misc panel) to see if Amiga side does something obviously wrong. But otherwise, it is normal Amiga debugging, WinUAE won't help much and don't know what is going on.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 12 January 2018 at 19:17.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 January 2018, 22:16   #13
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
OK, so basically I'll never really find out without going step by step with a new install or something

The crash actually results in a guru:
Error: 8100005
task: 07809182

This is what the log adds from the moment I perform the action that leads to

Quote:
2018-01-12 20:53:47
47-162 [4764 226-175]: CPU reset PC=f80dd0 (Kickstart ROM)..
47-164 [4764 226-175]: clipboard: reset (00000000)
47-165 [4764 000-175]: Adding IDE HD 'ide_mb' unit 0 (':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}')
47-165 [4764 000-175]: hfd attempting to open: ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'
47-165 [4764 000-175]: device id string: 'Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479'
47-168 [4764 000-175]: IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO returned size: 4034838528 (0xf07ec000)
47-220 [4764 000-175]: hd accepted, not empty and not mounted in Windows
47-220 [4764 000-175]: HDF ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479' 00000000075640F0 opened, size=3940272K mode=1 empty=0
47-223 [4764 000-175]: IDE0 HD ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}', LCHS=31272/4/63. PCHS=0/0/0 3847M. MM=128 LBA48=0
47-223 [4764 000-175]: memory init end
47-224 [4764 000-175]: Reset at 00F80DD0. Chipset mask = 00000007
47-224 [4764 000-175]: 00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C32 Chip memory
47-225 [4764 000-175]: 00200000 10176K/0 = 10176K -- F32 <none>
47-226 [4764 000-175]: 00BF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- CIA CIA
47-226 [4764 000-175]: 00C00000 1024K/0 = 1024K -- C32 Custom chipset
47-227 [4764 000-175]: 00D00000 768K/0 = 768K -- C16 <none>
47-228 [4764 000-175]: 00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (RF5C01A)
47-228 [4764 000-175]: 00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 A4000 IDE
47-231 [4764 000-175]: 00DE0000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 Motherboard Resources
47-232 [4764 000-175]: 00DE8000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 <none>
47-232 [4764 000-175]: 00DF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Custom chipset
47-236 [4764 000-175]: 00E00000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
47-237 [4764 000-175]: =KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
47-238 [4764 000-175]: 00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
47-242 [4764 000-175]: 00E90000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
47-243 [4764 000-175]: 00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
47-244 [4764 000-175]: 00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
47-250 [4764 000-175]: 00F80000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
47-250 [4764 000-175]: =KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
47-253 [4764 000-175]: 01000000 104M/0 = 104M -- F32 <none>
47-255 [4764 000-175]: 07800000 8M/1 = 8M ID F32 RAMSEY memory (low)
47-257 [4764 000-175]: 08000000 3968M/0 = 3968M -- F32 <none>
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: '<no name>' no autoconfig 00dd2020 - 00dd301f.
Card 02: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 03: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 04: 'UAE FS ROM'
d1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.20.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K ROM 0
END
Card 0: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
Card 1: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
PAL mode V=49.9204Hz H=15625.0881Hz (227x312+1) IDX=10 (PAL) D=0 RTG=0/0
RTGFREQ: 312*49.9204 = 15575.1680 / 49.9 = 312
CPU reset PC=f800d0 (Kickstart ROM)..
clipboard: reset (00000000)
Adding IDE HD 'ide_mb' unit 0 (':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}')
hfd attempting to open: ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'
device id string: 'Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479'
IOCTL_DISK_GET_LENGTH_INFO returned size: 4034838528 (0xf07ec000)
hd accepted, not empty and not mounted in Windows
HDF ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479' 00000000075640F0 opened, size=3940272K mode=1 empty=0
IDE0 HD ':Generic- Compact Flash 1.01 AU6479:\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.01#058f63776479&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}', LCHS=31272/4/63. PCHS=0/0/0 3847M. MM=128 LBA48=0
memory init end
Reset at 00F800D0. Chipset mask = 00000007
00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C32 Chip memory
00200000 10176K/0 = 10176K -- F32 <none>
00BF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- CIA CIA
00C00000 1024K/0 = 1024K -- C32 Custom chipset
00D00000 768K/0 = 768K -- C16 <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (RF5C01A)
00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 A4000 IDE
00DE0000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 Motherboard Resources
00DE8000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 <none>
00DF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Z2Fast
00E90000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F80000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
01000000 104M/0 = 104M -- F32 <none>
07800000 8M/1 = 8M ID F32 RAMSEY memory (low)
08000000 3968M/0 = 3968M -- F32 <none>
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: '<no name>' no autoconfig 00dd2020 - 00dd301f.
Card 02: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 03: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 04: 'UAE FS ROM'
d1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.20.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K ROM 0
END
Card 0: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
Card 1: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
PAL mode V=49.9204Hz H=15625.0881Hz (227x312+1) IDX=10 (PAL) D=0 RTG=0/0
RTGFREQ: 312*49.9204 = 15575.1680 / 49.9 = 312
47-410 [1 226-172]: Illegal lput at 00200000=00000000 PC=f80240
47-449 [3 226-144]: Card 3: Z2 0x00200000 8192K RAM Fast memory
47-450 [3 226-154]: mapped_free direct Filesystem autoconfig
47-450 [3 226-154]: shmget of size 65536 (64k) for * (Filesystem autoconfig)
47-451 [3 226-154]: 0000000080E90000: VA 00E90000 - 00EA0020 10020 (64k) ok (0000000080E90000)
47-451 [3 226-154]: Card 4: Z2 0x00e90000 64K ROM Filesystem autoconfig
47-452 [3 226-154]: Memory map after autoconfig:
47-452 [3 226-154]: 00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C32 Chip memory
47-453 [3 226-154]: 00200000 8192K/1 = 8192K ID F32 Fast memory
47-454 [3 226-154]: 00A00000 1984K/0 = 1984K -- F32 <none>
47-454 [3 226-154]: 00BF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- CIA CIA
47-455 [3 226-154]: 00C00000 1024K/0 = 1024K -- C32 Custom chipset
47-456 [3 226-154]: 00D00000 768K/0 = 768K -- C16 <none>
47-456 [3 226-154]: 00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (RF5C01A)
47-457 [3 226-154]: 00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 A4000 IDE
47-457 [3 226-154]: 00DE0000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 Motherboard Resources
47-460 [3 226-154]: 00DE8000 32K/0 = 32K -- C16 <none>
47-461 [3 226-154]: 00DF0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Custom chipset
47-464 [3 226-154]: 00E00000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
47-464 [3 226-154]: =KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
47-465 [3 226-154]: 00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
47-466 [3 226-154]: 00E90000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 Filesystem autoconfig
47-466 [3 226-154]: 00EA0000 384K/0 = 384K -- F32 <none>
47-467 [3 226-154]: 00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
47-467 [3 226-154]: 00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
47-471 [3 226-154]: 00F80000 512K/1 = 512K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (D6BAE334)
47-471 [3 226-154]: =KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k)
47-471 [3 226-154]: 01000000 104M/0 = 104M -- F32 <none>
47-472 [3 226-154]: 07800000 8M/1 = 8M ID F32 RAMSEY memory (low)
47-473 [3 226-154]: 08000000 3952M/0 = 3952M -- F32 <none>
47-473 [3 226-154]: FF000000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z3
47-473 [3 226-154]: FF010000 16320K/0 = 16320K -- F32 <none>
47-474 [3 226-164]: Illegal lget at 07700004 PC=fca0a0
47-474 [3 226-164]: Illegal lget at 07700000 PC=fca0a4
47-475 [3 226-164]: Illegal lget at 07700000 PC=fca0a6
47-476 [3 226-164]: Illegal lput at 07700000=ffffffff PC=fca0a6
47-476 [3 000-165]: Illegal lput at 07700004=00000000 PC=fca0b2
47-477 [3 010-165]: Illegal lget at 07700000 PC=fca0b6
47-501 [5 225-025]: filesystem: diagentry 07800098 configdev 00001848
47-504 [5 015-074]: waiting_blits detected PC=00faaca2
51-367 [200 157-051]: IDE0 identify drive
51-627 [213 096-024]: IDE0 identify drive
51-887 [226 014-023]: IDE0 drive multiple mode = 16
51-889 [226 027-076]: IDE0 identify drive
52-140 [239 226-007]: IDE0 identify drive
2018-01-12 20:54:39
39-526 [252 226-006]: IDE0 read off=0, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-529 [252 226-044]: IDE0 read off=1, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-529 [252 226-054]: IDE0 read off=2, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-530 [252 226-064]: IDE0 read off=3, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-530 [252 226-071]: IDE0 read off=4, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-530 [252 226-075]: IDE0 read off=5, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-530 [252 226-078]: IDE0 read off=6, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-530 [252 226-081]: IDE0 read off=7, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-084]: IDE0 read off=8, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-086]: IDE0 read off=9, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-089]: IDE0 read off=10, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-092]: IDE0 read off=11, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-094]: IDE0 read off=12, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-531 [252 226-097]: IDE0 read off=13, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-532 [252 226-099]: IDE0 read off=14, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-532 [252 226-102]: IDE0 read off=15, sec=1 (16) lba48=0
39-590 [255 226-072]: Mounting uaehf.device:0 0 (0):
39-590 [255 226-072]: FS: mounted virtual unit DH1 (D:\Amiga\AmigaForever\Shared\temp\BackupA4k39PlainNoCD)
50-555 [805 226-132]: FS: System (flags=00000002,E=0,ED=1,EF=0,native='D:\Amiga\AmigaForever\Shared\temp\BackupA4k39PlainNoCD') starting..
Could it be a dodgy cardreader? Or doesn't that makes sense when UAEHF works and IDE doesn't?

OK, a basic AOS3.9 install (including CD drivers from the OS cD) and HD toolbox does not crash anymore. Guess I will have to trouble shoot step by step.

Last edited by spudje; 12 January 2018 at 22:46.
spudje is offline  
Old 12 January 2018, 23:52   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,163
81000005 = corrupted memory list.

Use of mungwall and enforcer (or similar tools, MMU emulation needed) may help. Use -log -serlog parameters to see mungwall/enforcer serial output in real time.

Does same happen if you create same size hdf and use it instead of card reader? (From Amiga point of view it is practically identical situation)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 00:16   #15
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 667
Thanks for all the help so far Toni!!! I'll first work with this basic WinUAE setup, I mostly just use it for partitioning and then work on a real Amiga.
spudje is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga does not work anymore :( guybrush support.Hardware 14 16 October 2017 01:29
Vsync does not work anymore with 2.4.0 Clark Kent support.WinUAE 36 24 May 2012 21:30
Two CFs on the A600/A1200 IDE 2.5 port Cosmos Hardware mods 8 03 June 2011 10:49
issues cf ide pcmcia cfs fat95 x4 ide jimmer78 support.Hardware 9 29 April 2010 01:15
New A1200 user can't boot from CF. (please post your experiences Kingston CFs) Cultgamer support.Hardware 42 12 January 2010 23:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22423 seconds with 14 queries