English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2018, 20:01   #1
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Happy m68k-amigaos-gdb

Feel free to read more at https://franke.ms/amiga/gdb8.wiki

and give it a shot!

I updated my web page and added
  • a first bgdbserver executable for the Amiga
  • some info how to build m68k-amigaos-gdb
  • a very short description howto use it


bebbo is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 20:02   #2
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com
 
Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Age: 35
Posts: 625
Woohoo!
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 22:37   #3
ovale
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 174
Great!
ovale is offline  
Old 19 June 2018, 23:49   #4
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 214
been using it today with stepping. it seems to work well !

for those using WinUAE just remember to enable bsdsocket.library otherwise you will HALT (obvious i know but took me ages to figure out why my debug server wouldn't start
lantus360 is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 02:34   #5
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 30
Awesome!! Stefan I just sent you a (small, sorry) PayPal donation for your work on gdb. Hopefully you can buy yourself a nice beer or something.

Cheers!
Greg
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 13:13   #6
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregthecanuck View Post
Awesome!! Stefan I just sent you a (small, sorry) PayPal donation for your work on gdb. Hopefully you can buy yourself a nice beer or something.

Cheers!
Greg
Thank you Greg, I will toast to you!
bebbo is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 14:27   #7
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 1,054
bgdbinit seems to be working under aros 68k, perhaps it can be useful. im just not sure how to approach m68k-amigaos-gdb.
lets assume ill build it within my vm linux environment im building software with, i will not be able to access winuae with it. on the other hand to use it under windows one would have a windows or at least cygwin version. is there a solution for that?

perhaps i might try to access fs-uae, im running within linux vm while initially testing, not sure what port.
wawa is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 13:36   #8
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
Great!
kamelito is offline  
Old 01 July 2018, 14:25   #9
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
A small step for me, a giant leap for Amiga fellows:

Today it worked for the first time to remotely debug an Amiga application from Eclipse.

See attached screenshot.

Last edited by bebbo; 26 October 2023 at 13:18.
bebbo is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 17:41   #10
alkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 53
Posts: 719
Nice work. Works from terminal for me. I am trying to make Clion work with it. Stepping works (F8), it can't understand the variables though. (No variables in context)
alkis is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 18:25   #11
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis View Post
Nice work. Works from terminal for me. I am trying to make Clion work with it. Stepping works (F8), it can't understand the variables though. (No variables in context)
Code:
inf arg
inf loc
are both working. Are you using bgdbserver 0.2?
bebbo is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 23:49   #12
alkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 53
Posts: 719
Everything works from terminal. I can see variables and all.

It must be some idiosyncrasy of Clion.
(Btw, I was using bgdbserver 0.1, switched to 0.2 still the same issue on clion. )
alkis is offline  
Old 04 July 2018, 03:59   #13
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebbo View Post
A small step for me, a giant leap for Amiga fellows:

Today it worked for the first time to remotely debug an Amiga application from Eclipse.

See attached screenshot.


And the angels sang with joy...


Very exciting! How anybody can develop in C without a decent debugger is unbelievable.
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 04 July 2018, 05:19   #14
pants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: fastmem
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregthecanuck View Post
Very exciting! How anybody can develop in C without a decent debugger is unbelievable.

Me: "Boss, can we not just *buy* a debugger vs writing our own dev tools for each new platform?"
Boss: "Sure, if you buy it with your own money and use it in your own time. I don't pay you to write bugs."

back-on-topic: awesome work bebbo :)
pants is offline  
Old 11 August 2018, 16:58   #15
arti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 662
How about gprof?
Aprof is good but doesn't work with bigger applications.
arti is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 02:55   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebbo View Post
A small step for me, a giant leap for Amiga fellows:

Today it worked for the first time to remotely debug an Amiga application from Eclipse.

See attached screenshot.
Great work!

I always had to debug my code with print statements....it was so painful

A memory bug in ScummVM took me weeks to track down!

Last edited by NovaCoder; 15 August 2018 at 07:03.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 09:44   #17
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,160
more generally great work creating a cross compiler suite which doesn't require this crap cygwin.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 23:46   #18
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
Hello!!
Im using GCC from Bebbo and works really good but I have problems with GDB in windows 10.
Each time I try it I have the next error : ‘The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)'
Im using a compiled version from https://github.com/SteveMoody73/amiga-gcc/releases
Any idea?
Im really happy with Bebbo's work anyway!
tolkien is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 10:41   #19
bebbo
bye
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Some / Where
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
Hello!!
Im using GCC from Bebbo and works really good but I have problems with GDB in windows 10.
Each time I try it I have the next error : ‘The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)'
Im using a compiled version from https://github.com/SteveMoody73/amiga-gcc/releases
Any idea?
Im really happy with Bebbo's work anyway!
If you are desperate try this one https://franke.ms/download/setup-amiga-gcc.exe
bebbo is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 13:31   #20
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
will try this night. And thanks so much for this good work mate!!

Last edited by tolkien; 17 September 2018 at 19:17.
tolkien is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Csound 3.481 on m68k squidbass Amiga scene 5 21 July 2013 21:29
Rewriting m68k code RobSis Coders. Tutorials 1 26 January 2013 16:15
Remote GDB debugging copse support.WinUAE 6 31 August 2011 01:05
m68k-amigaos-ld.exe bug ? FrenchShark Coders. General 2 30 November 2009 09:54
Shorten ported to AmigaOS m68k and WarpOS Paul News 0 20 August 2006 12:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:39.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12074 seconds with 16 queries