English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2013, 00:54   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Companion Disks "Complete Amiga C" by Cliff Ramshaw

Hello to all of you!

I am really having a good time studying C language with the "Complete Amiga C" by Cliff Ramshaw .
The only thing I miss are their four companion disks of the book with DICE C compiler and all its libraries.

Can anyone of you put in the Zone these disks please???

Thanks a lot!

Daniele/ElCharro

Last edited by D4Ni3L3; 22 April 2013 at 01:05.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 01:19   #2
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 40
Posts: 619
I've got these disks, not sure if I already ADFed them. Unless someone else does it first, I'll upload as soon as I can find/make the images.

EDIT:Found them, in the zone. Funny thing, when I saw the file names I had a little flashback, I have a feeling one of the disks might have been a problem to image. If it turns out one of these is bad, I'll try to make new ones and maybe Prowler can work his magic.

Last edited by jimbob; 22 April 2013 at 01:25.
jimbob is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 01:25   #3
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Would be *GREAT* if you can ADF them!!! I would be waiting you do it! Thanks a LOT my friend!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 21:19   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Found them, in the zone. Funny thing, when I saw the file names I had a little flashback, I have a feeling one of the disks might have been a problem to image. If it turns out one of these is bad, I'll try to make new ones and maybe Prowler can work his magic.
Thanks for the upload, Jimbob. I'll check those images tomorrow for errors in case your hunch was right.
prowler is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 23:42   #5
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Hello!!!!!!!!!!

This morning I have tried the 4 images with adfcheck on Win32 and it didn't give me any error.

Now I am going to install the four DICE disks on the HD according to the manual and I would post the outcome right here!

ElCharro
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 23:57   #6
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
I am trying to install the 4 floppies but I am stuck because I don't understand what does it mean creating ARCH handler.

The Amiga Shopper Complete C manual regarding Dice the installation
says:

Hard disk installation
Complete Amiga C
Because you have a hard disk you have the space to store all of the DICE
files in their de-compressed form. This will mean that their execution is
quicker, because they do not have to be decompressed each time before
they are run.
To obtain the de-compressed version of DICE, you need to copy each of
the files individually via the ARCH: handler. This will automatically
decompress the files before putting them on your hard disk.
If
you've booted from your hard disk, rather than the DICE floppy, then
you'll first need to set the ARCH: handler running with the following

Shell command:

run <nil: >nil: xdccl:l/fsovl-handler

I get everything working so far. But cannot contnue with the following part because do not understand about ARCH: handler



You then need to create a directory on your hard disk in which to store
the DICE files. The directory name 'dice' seems appropriate, and for the
sake of argument I've created it on the partition called 'WORK':
makedir WORK:dice
All of what follows assumes you have made such a directory. If, for
example, you have instead created a directory called 'compiler' on
partition dhO:, then replace every occurrence of 'work:dice' in what
follows with 'dhO:compiler'
You then need to copy the contents of each individual disk into this
directory. Remember to use the ARCH: handler to de-compress
everything before it is written to hard disk. To do this, type the following
commands:
copy ARCH: XOCCl work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC2 work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC3 work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC4 work: dice ALL CLONE

Any hint?
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 00:09   #7
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
If you've booted from the first install disk, then the ARCH: handler will have been loaded into memory as part of the boot process.

Then all you gave to do is create a 'dice' folder on your hard drive and then copy all the files from the floppies using suitably modified versions of the four shell commands:
copy ARCH: XOCCl work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC2 work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC3 work: dice ALL CLONE
copy ARCH: XOCC4 work: dice ALL CLONE

Hint: you will need to change work: dice to something like DH0:dice.
prowler is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 20:19   #8
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Fantastic ! Everythings seems to work fery fine now!

Thanks to you all again!

@Jimbob the four disks seem to be perfect with no errors. I have installed them all!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 20:32   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Thanks for confirming that, Daniele.

(There's no need for me to check them now. )
prowler is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 00:16   #10
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Thanks for confirming that, Daniele.

(There's no need for me to check them now. )
I would be more specific.

Today I finally installed and got working the 4 disk version found in the zone some
days ago according the installation guide on the manual Complete Amiga C and of
course I used two HD partitions.

Some days ago I had installed the 3 disk version I found in the Tosec whose boot
screen talks just about Amiga Shopper Dice version and it really works fine too!
Actually all I wanted was to have was "the most complete release",
the one of 4 disks as the one bundled with the book and I finally got it
working 100%!

Thanks again!

Daniele/ElCharro

Last edited by D4Ni3L3; 24 April 2013 at 00:22.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 00:25   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
There was a four-disk version of the software uploaded to The Zone earlier in connection with this thread: Companion Disks "Complete Amiga C" from Cliff Ramshaw.

Those disks don't quite match Jimbob's set, but they are very similar. I can upload those for you as well if you would like to have a look at them.
prowler is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:19   #12
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
There was a four-disk version of the software uploaded to The Zone earlier in connection with this thread: Companion Disks "Complete Amiga C" from Cliff Ramshaw.

Those disks don't quite match Jimbob's set, but they are very similar. I can upload those for you as well if you would like to have a look at them.
oK Prowler! Upload them for me plz....
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:28   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Okay, they're back in The Zone for you now!
prowler is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:35   #14
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Thank you Prowler!

I dunno what do you mean telling that Jimbob's disk don't quite to much with these new ones...

I have just booted the disk 1 and they seem to be just the same.

Let me know what do you think...

Cheers

Last edited by D4Ni3L3; 24 April 2013 at 01:43.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:43   #15
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
I have only compared then with a binary file comparator, and there are a few minor filesystem differences like time and date stamps, checksums, hash-chains - the sort of changes which suggest that one or other set might be a slightly updated version of the software, but nothing that would strike you as imediately obvious if you were to install one version and then the other.

It's certainly nothing to worry about.
prowler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Companion Disks "Complete Amiga C" from Cliff Ramshaw Dwyloc request.Apps 9 11 May 2014 02:25
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
"dual format" ST AMIGA cover disks NfernalNfluence New to Emulation or Amiga scene 27 31 July 2010 04:41
Companion Disks "Complete Amiga C" from Cliff Ramshaw Herpes Coders. General 5 28 March 2010 14:03
"Mixed-Mode" Amiga disks andreas Retrogaming General Discussion 11 30 July 2001 04:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08280 seconds with 13 queries