English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 September 2019, 15:18   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 3,620
new amiga 500 doom like !

did you notice this ?? a new doomlike for the amiga 500 !!!
I hope that the 4 on the upper left is not the fps ??
My dream, the same at 10 fps.
but even 4-6 fps with this quality look impressive for the amiga 500.
https://twitter.com/i/status/1167780861288357889
turrican3 is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 15:33   #2
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 531
I can (very) hardly believe that this one is running on a stock A500 (+512). Running like this even on A1200 would be great achievement.
Is this like Doom engine, or Wolf3D? I can't see stairs, but it looks like there are diagonal walls.

Tried to google some more info on this, but couldn't find anything.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 16:35   #3
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,352
On a bare A500
I don't like Doom, but (if it's the game and not a video replay) : IMPRESSIVE
malko is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 16:42   #4
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,088
Apparently based on the engine of this demo:
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66639
which requires a simple A500 with 1MB of RAM.
vulture is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 16:48   #5
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 531
Developer Krzysztof Kluczek replying to John Carmack

https://twitter.com/KK_DMA/status/1083701392932552704
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 20:27   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,241
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
incredible !!!
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 22:20   #7
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
It would be incredible if it actually showed a 500 running it, but it’s clearly emulation running on a pc.

If it were an actual 500 it would be up there with DML’s quake engine on a 14mb but otherwise stock Atari Falcon

Last edited by trixster; 01 September 2019 at 22:33.
trixster is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 23:34   #8
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 531
Here we go...
Tricks used in a demo of a game

https://twitter.com/KK_DMA/status/1168259655358980096
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 23:52   #9
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,048
to save anyone else skipping slowly, go straight to 2:42:00 to see it in action.

fantastic job the guy has done, amazing amount of homework needed to get this running, what a week for Amiga surprises!

Last edited by lilalurl; 01 September 2019 at 23:59.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 23:57   #10
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 137
Wow !!!
esel is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 00:10   #11
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
to save anyone else skipping slowly, go straight to 2:42:00 to see it in action.
Thanks man,
that skipping was really tiresome.

I am vastly impressed, he not only did diagonal walls, but 2 levels of height of the wall,
and when he showed that roof open (and sky above), I was like , and on top of that, a light (2 colors) effects.

I still can't believe what I am seeing.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 00:17   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 2,012
Inspiring!
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 00:42   #13
TEG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: France
Posts: 36
If I understood well:
- C2P using the blitter
- Downscaling and upscaling of textures using the blitter to create walls perspective
- Pre-calcuted "what must be draw" depending of your position
- Clever organisation of data

and others tricks
TEG is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 04:23   #14
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,310
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Vertical pixel doubling can be done with the Copper and a modulo register. This is faster than doing it with the blitter or CPU.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 04:42   #15
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 3,620
just amazing season to be an amigan !!!
I hope to see this game soon !!
And it seems that he would like to improve it more !!!
An amiga 1200 version should be more impressive !!
But it's always more sexy on the 500 .
turrican3 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 08:18   #16
swinkamor12
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 78
Only 12 FPS at 160x100.
No textures on ceiling and floor, so it is still Wolf not real DOOM.
Waste of time, and yet another proof that for 3D Amiga need graphics with chunky pixels.
swinkamor12 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 08:33   #17
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
Only 12 FPS at 160x100.
No textures on ceiling and floor, so it is still Wolf not real DOOM.
Waste of time, and yet another proof that for 3D Amiga need graphics with chunky pixels.
It's impressive as fk.

Doom ran like shit on my 386DX with 4MB Ram. And not much better on my 486SX with 4MB.

Hell the first enjoyable Doom experience for me was on the.....Atari Jaguar. And then again on the original Play Station.

Sure it's "similar" to the Wolf 3D approach, but it looks HEAPS better than Wolf ever did.

I actually can't believe it's running on a stock 1MB A500. Blows my mind.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 08:49   #18
swinkamor12
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 78
If Doom ran bad on Your 386DX it means You have slow graphics card.
Yet another time, time and work where wasted on pathetic fight with dumb cost reduction at Commodore.
At 1992 Amiga should have chunky pixels in standard.
Time and work wasted on this crap may be better spend on making cheap graphics card for a500.
swinkamor12 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:22   #19
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 43
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
Only 12 FPS at 160x100.
No textures on ceiling and floor, so it is still Wolf not real DOOM.
Waste of time, and yet another proof that for 3D Amiga need graphics with chunky pixels.
Dude, I wouldn't call such an achievement a "waste of time"... And according to the dev replies on Twitter, floors and ceilings are coming anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
If Doom ran bad on Your 386DX it means You have slow graphics card.
No, it has nothing to do with the VGA card, just the CPU. And it was SLOW on a 386, period.
skan is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:27   #20
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Dude, I wouldn't call such an achievement a "waste of time"...
Let's be honest here, doing anything on the Amiga nowadays is a waste of time. But it's a _FUN_ waste of time
britelite is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga DRAM chip tester for HYB-514256B with Arduino UNO - Amiga 500/500+ andy2018 support.Hardware 0 31 October 2018 22:27
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 03:16
Final Fight on AMIGA 500+ (500 Plus), not 500! padremayi support.Games 55 09 March 2016 21:39
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 23:06
GL Doom for Amiga fitzsteve support.Games 1 09 November 2010 13:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10656 seconds with 14 queries